We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked two weeks ago and it was our wedding anniversary . As soon as we arrived the reception said they had upgraded us it was superb walk in Wardrobe lovely walk in shower very clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. We also had a super king bed .
We had a meal in Waterside restaurant it was lovely could not fault anything. The breakfast was excellent lots of fruit and cooked breakfast very very good.
We played gold over the road. Had a wonderful time and would fully recommend and intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 002a
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a great review. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our refurbished bedrooms which standards are second to none.
Thank you on behalf of the team for the feedback on service and food too.
Thank you also for mentioning our proximity to the Wallhampton Golf club, which offers great quality greens with outstanding sceneries. Elmers Court is such a great location to visit the Isle of Wight as well as the New Forest and Solent coast.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    465
    257
    137
    64
See reviews for
418
707
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel itself is in a striking old manor house and certainly looks great from the promotional photos we saw before booking. However on arrival, we found the reception area to be untidy and unkempt, it appeared that no one had taken initiative to go round and clean up dirty glasses, make the sofas look presentable and generally make the place look in order!

Our room was in the promising chalet block, however when we entered we found it to be very tired looking; the wood panels on the door were chipped, the carpet was worn and the room was fusty and run down. The pool and the spa area also had its problems - the steam room wasn't working and we weren't able to adjust the temperature in the sauna etc as well as some general cleanliness issues....Blimey I am such a whinger... Anyway, well, it wasn't just me. Talking with other guests the feeling was that they too were slightly underwhelmed by it all and i quote one chappie - "nothing works around here...."

However on a positive note, we took some drinks in the bar and found the staff to be on the whole attentive and charming there. Though overall, to justify the prices they are charging they need to get on top of their refurbishment sharpish, as it has resembles Miss Havisham's house more than Downton Abbey at the moment.

Room Tip: "Can i have the one which doesn't look like its not seen a lick of paint since 78?"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeb1kinobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you thought your room was not too the standard you expected. At Macdonald Hotels & Resort we are dedicated to update our product to ensure our guest have a comfortable stay. Here at Elmers court, in the last year we have fully refurbished 10 of our bedrooms and we are rolling a bathroom and bedrooms enhancement including replacement of all toilet seats, retiling of some bathroom floors and regrouting of walls as well as carpet replacement and other.
Regarding the reception being untidy I can assure you that I have taken the necessary action to ensure of no further guest disappointment.
I appreciate yours and other guest frustration with the leisure facilities however I can assure this was an isolated incident and has been remedied in a timely manner.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wanted to stay at the Resort in the future as we maybe able to recommend one of our refurbished bedroom.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on15/11 having booked with Secret Escapes. The room itself was fine (23a), neat and clean with free wifi, flat screen tv and the usual tea making facilities. We ate in the steakhouse and the Waterford restaurant. The waterford was lovely with excellent food. The steakhouse was nice too but lacked atmosphere in the evening. We were the only ones in there, quite bright and with football on a large screen tv! Though the serving staff were very polite and helpful in the restaurants, the reception and room service let the hotel down.
On arrival (in the dark) you are given a map to find your room, after 2 laps of the rooms we finally found it was upstairs but it is so dark it is impossible to read the door numbers on the posts or the map. They really need to show you to your room. They also offer fresh milk from room service for your room( you have a fridge) but when I phoned up I got a short "it may be a while Madam." I'm still waiting! When we phoned to say we would have breakfast in bed (£3 surcharge) and to say we would leave the menu outside as it says to,I was told curtly told to bring it to reception instead. Think they forgot who the guest was. There was a wedding going on so perhaps they were busy but we were paying customers and shouldn't be doing their job for them.Very minor issues but politeness costs very little.
Overall, it's a nice place, with pretty grounds and good food but we wouldn't return as we have had better service for less money elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oxonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. Although I feel that we are excellent value for money and you would struggle to find inclusive dinner bed and breakfast in this quality location at a cheaper price I appreciate some of your comments regarding the quality of service.
Please accept my apologies for the downfall in service as you should not have had to bring your breakfast order to reception or the restaurant, these should be collected from your room if required, however because of the distance to the rooms I am sure you can appreciate that it can take our restaurant team sometime to deliver items to rooms, and I would prefer for guests to be informed rather than waiting and thinking they have been forgotten.


Yours sincerely,
Jean-marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights over this weekend and I suppose our mistake was in not asking for a room that had already been refurbished? But how were we to know (in advance), that certain rooms were far more impressive, having already been fully refurbished? We never thought of asking at the time of booking. It simply hadn't crossed our minds. However, we would now recommend to anyone reading this review and wanting to stay at Elmers Court, that you do carefully check at the time of your booking. Whilst the room allocated was spacious, it was tired. The main door lock was on its last legs and the bathroom loo didn't flush properly, and when it did, it then took ages to refill. Reported both of these to housekeeping immediately and was fobbed-off with the door fault and the maintenance chap that was promised to fix the loo, just didn't attend! We also had cob-webs on and around the ceilings and some old tired furniture, that needed replacing. If it had been our hotel and our paying guests told us that there was a problem or two with their rooms that needed sorting, we would have been on it like a shot. Sadly, their customer service is left to the those on reception, who are simple not trained properly on how to deal with any genuine queries. On leaving today, one of those on reception wasn't even prepared to listen to the wife, who by now, was beginning to get up a real head of steam and understandably was then getting quite cross. From the reception staff, we had no form of apology, no real understanding nor of wanting to understand and no offer of any price reduction or of any Macdonald vouchers that could be use in the future, for our inconvenience and disappointment! Not the way to deal with paying guests and the experience has since turned us completely off the Macdonald hotel chain. We have stayed in much better hotels than this in the UK, for a lot less money. Outside of this, we had no problems with any of the other staff around the restaurants and in the leisure complex. These girls' and guys' were excellent and they were all genuinely attentive. The food was superb though. High quality in both restaurants, although the main building's Waterford restaurant can work out costly? The grounds are lovely to walk around and the main building viewed from the outside is impressive. In conclusion; we feel that we were unlucky in being allocated a naff room and considering we had supposedly booked a special weekend offer, it did work out far more expensive than we anticipated. Cost breakdown was for; 2 nights bed and breakfast, one single spa treatment, one Waterford restaurant evening meal and one Scottish Steak Club evening meal (no excessive drinks bill), and this equated to a whooping £448. Not value for money and as I now type-up this review, my personal feeling is that, perhaps, we have been ripped-off by the uncaring face of corporate hotels? When all we wanted, was a nice quiet weekend away. How disappointing!

Room Tip: Ask first, for rooms that have already been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPnuts007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review left on trip advisor website. I was sorry to read that although you enjoyed the food and service in the Restaurant you did not enjoy your room at the Resort. Although some of the rooms have not been refurbished completely they all had new flat screen TVs, new headboards, new bed throws as well as a rolling maintenance plan improving bathrooms and repainting bedrooms. We have replaced the majority of all doors and windows with the remaining few, which are in a descent state of repair to be completed in the next 3 months.
I do not feel that a £448 2 night stay including breakfast, dinners and drinks on a week end in the New Forest area overlooking the isle of Wight with all the leisure facilities provided is at all excessive.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Jean marc Poumel
Resort general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I would just like to say iv not arrived at the hotel yet iv booked my stay for next tuesday and wednesday night. I made a few errors myself when booking this maybe something to do with being pregnant...but after a phone call to anthony on the reservations desk he has sorted everything out for me all i can say is thank you very much and am really looking forward to my stay. if this is the level of service iv received before my arrival then it looks set to be an excellent stay...cant wait and thanks again anthony
penny lawrence

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Ms Lawrence,

Thank you for your kind words, I hope you will enjoy your stay at the Resort. I have passed your thank you to Antony and he thank you in return.

Yours sincerely,

Jean marc Poumel
Resort general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Booked 3 nights in an Executive Double room which was on the upper floor of the two storey 'chalet' style rooms which are separate from the main building. Our room was large with a kitchenette, settee, dressing table, lots of both wardrobe and draws for clothes and a small bathroom. It was adequate without being particularly impressive and in need of being refurbished and especially the exterior with it's slippery stairs and deck after rain.

As described in other reviews, the grounds are lovely with views down to the River Lymington though this isn't visible from most of the hotel rooms (if any) - just from rooms that are for time-share residents. The manor house from the grounds looks inviting and inside The Waterford Restaurant and adjoining Tudor Bar are nicely furnished and are an ideal environment for either eating or drinking.

We were surprised and generally impressed with the quality of the ingredients and cooking in The Waterford Restaurant with the lamb on one evening and the venison on another being excellent. Also, starters and desert were freshly prepared and enjoyable. Our one disappointment about the food was that the menu didn't change much. There's enough choice if you are staying just 2 nights but if you are staying any longer then you run out of starters, mains and deserts that you haven't already had.

Breakfast was served in the Scottish Steak Club which is in the same building as the spa. The buffet was extensive with a huge range of cold foods, excellent fresh breads, fresh orange juice etc - it was an impressive spread. Hot breakfast was cooked to order as was toast.

Staff throughout were friendly and generally attentive though, on occasions, there were some long wait times for service in The Waterford Restaurant - both when it was quiet and busy !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your constructive comments. I was pleased to read your feedback regarding the quality of the food and service.
I appreciate your feedback regarding the menu not changing enough fro a long term stay, I have shared it with Chef and although he will try to ensure of a greater variety he feels that in order to deliver a great consistency he has to try to keep dishes on it for a considerable amount of time. However on future long visit do not hesitate to ask him to create additional dishes for you and he will be delighted to oblige. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently visited the New Forest and stayed in Elmers Court for a two night break. The Hotel was very good offering an ideal location to tour the area, and was only half a mile from the Ferry terminal to the Isle of Wight. The Food was excellent both at Breakfast and Evening Meals and the Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The Hotel had excellent Leisure facilities on site and the Grounds made for a pleasant evening walk. I would highly recommend this Hotel for a visit to the New Forest and surrounding coastal areas.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony offering better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and how much you enjoyed our facilities, the food and service at the Resort. You are so right to point out that Elmers is in such an ideal location to visit the Isle of Wight and the new Forest.
We, hopefully will be welcoming you back very shortly.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
681 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,648 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,219 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing