We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for more-Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more-Perfect!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were after a short break somewhere not too far from London and came across this hotel, offering a two night stay, bed & breakfast and also a meal in the restaurant one evening AND two spa treatments each.
The rooms are more like small ski lodge apartments.. amazing privacy, no annoying corridor mazes, with a nice bottle of wine waiting for you. Direct access to your room from the grounds
Spa treatments were fantastic and the spa facilities were great.plenty of places to explore near by and the local village is gorgeous!
Overall an amazing few days and we left feeling spoilt and relaxed.
Will be going back for sure.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixipinxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review left on the Trip Advisor website. I was really pleased to read that you had such a great time at the Resort and truly enjoyed the facilities and the local New Forest area with so much to do!!
Thank you also for recommending our treatment as we have a new Spa Manager which has really driven the quality of treatments as well as little touches….
We look forward to welcome you back at the Resort, please call us directly and, on top of our best price promise, we will be able to offer you a £10 voucher to spend in our outlets!!

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    471
    261
    138
    68
See reviews for
421
717
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A bit disappointed thought this was a country house hotel but the accomodation is chalet style and built around a court yard. We were informed that there were no guest rooms in the main building. The rooms we were allocated were on the ground floor and had been refurbished and were excellent, although we had booked a double and a twin and had two twin rooms. There wasn't much privacy, the curtains had to be closed because you could see into the rooms when walking past. We were on a bed and breakfast break and the breakfast quality and service was excellent. The dining area for breakfast is in the Scottish Steak Bar attached to the spa reception and spa facilities. We only visited the main building upon arrival and then on departure. We didn't feel part of the main "hotel".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belle1979Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your objective review. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed the quality of the breakfast and service. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the type of accommodation provided however description on website and all literature as well as part of our Reservation script is “accommodation is in his own courtyard, a minute walk away from the Manor House”. Pictures of the accommodation are also available on the website as well as other websites we work closely with such as Tripadvisor. We only have apartments in the Manor House which are also available for renting for longer breaks please do not hesitate to contact us to enquire on these. In the Manor House you also have all of our Wedding facilities and our fine dinning restaurant the Waterford.
Thank you again for your feedback and maybe we will welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed at MacDonald Elmer's Court before, over a year ago. It is clear that there have been improvements since our last stay, both in terms of service and staff training. Staff throughout all departments are friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff extremely attentive and personable. Food is tasty, hot and well presented. Yes the costs can add up, however no more than anywhere else, and if you are getting good food and service and you are away for a treat then you don't mind paying. We have stayed at many hotels in the New Forest, Bartley Lodge many times, however we will never stay at Bartley or any of the other group hotels again. Last time we stayed with them, a wedding booking meant that normal regular returning clients were poorly treated. I am pleased to say that despite a wedding taking place at Elmer's Court, we enjoyed as good service as all the other guests. Well done, we will come again and certainly recommend you to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 26. A good sized family room, with Superking size Bed, Crisp clean sheets and a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezpot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website. I was really please to read that you had a great stay at the Resort and I would like to thank you for choosing Elmers Court for your break.
Thank you for your comments regarding Wedding and leisure guests getting very good service at the same time, the team is working hard to ensure all of our guests expectations are exceeded helped by the fact that the 2 areas are quite separate.
We all look forward to your return, hopefully very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked two weeks ago and it was our wedding anniversary . As soon as we arrived the reception said they had upgraded us it was superb walk in Wardrobe lovely walk in shower very clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. We also had a super king bed .
We had a meal in Waterside restaurant it was lovely could not fault anything. The breakfast was excellent lots of fruit and cooked breakfast very very good.
We played gold over the road. Had a wonderful time and would fully recommend and intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 002a
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a great review. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our refurbished bedrooms which standards are second to none.
Thank you on behalf of the team for the feedback on service and food too.
Thank you also for mentioning our proximity to the Wallhampton Golf club, which offers great quality greens with outstanding sceneries. Elmers Court is such a great location to visit the Isle of Wight as well as the New Forest and Solent coast.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel itself is in a striking old manor house and certainly looks great from the promotional photos we saw before booking. However on arrival, we found the reception area to be untidy and unkempt, it appeared that no one had taken initiative to go round and clean up dirty glasses, make the sofas look presentable and generally make the place look in order!

Our room was in the promising chalet block, however when we entered we found it to be very tired looking; the wood panels on the door were chipped, the carpet was worn and the room was fusty and run down. The pool and the spa area also had its problems - the steam room wasn't working and we weren't able to adjust the temperature in the sauna etc as well as some general cleanliness issues....Blimey I am such a whinger... Anyway, well, it wasn't just me. Talking with other guests the feeling was that they too were slightly underwhelmed by it all and i quote one chappie - "nothing works around here...."

However on a positive note, we took some drinks in the bar and found the staff to be on the whole attentive and charming there. Though overall, to justify the prices they are charging they need to get on top of their refurbishment sharpish, as it has resembles Miss Havisham's house more than Downton Abbey at the moment.

Room Tip: "Can i have the one which doesn't look like its not seen a lick of paint since 78?"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeb1kinobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you thought your room was not too the standard you expected. At Macdonald Hotels & Resort we are dedicated to update our product to ensure our guest have a comfortable stay. Here at Elmers court, in the last year we have fully refurbished 10 of our bedrooms and we are rolling a bathroom and bedrooms enhancement including replacement of all toilet seats, retiling of some bathroom floors and regrouting of walls as well as carpet replacement and other.
Regarding the reception being untidy I can assure you that I have taken the necessary action to ensure of no further guest disappointment.
I appreciate yours and other guest frustration with the leisure facilities however I can assure this was an isolated incident and has been remedied in a timely manner.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wanted to stay at the Resort in the future as we maybe able to recommend one of our refurbished bedroom.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on15/11 having booked with Secret Escapes. The room itself was fine (23a), neat and clean with free wifi, flat screen tv and the usual tea making facilities. We ate in the steakhouse and the Waterford restaurant. The waterford was lovely with excellent food. The steakhouse was nice too but lacked atmosphere in the evening. We were the only ones in there, quite bright and with football on a large screen tv! Though the serving staff were very polite and helpful in the restaurants, the reception and room service let the hotel down.
On arrival (in the dark) you are given a map to find your room, after 2 laps of the rooms we finally found it was upstairs but it is so dark it is impossible to read the door numbers on the posts or the map. They really need to show you to your room. They also offer fresh milk from room service for your room( you have a fridge) but when I phoned up I got a short "it may be a while Madam." I'm still waiting! When we phoned to say we would have breakfast in bed (£3 surcharge) and to say we would leave the menu outside as it says to,I was told curtly told to bring it to reception instead. Think they forgot who the guest was. There was a wedding going on so perhaps they were busy but we were paying customers and shouldn't be doing their job for them.Very minor issues but politeness costs very little.
Overall, it's a nice place, with pretty grounds and good food but we wouldn't return as we have had better service for less money elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oxonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. Although I feel that we are excellent value for money and you would struggle to find inclusive dinner bed and breakfast in this quality location at a cheaper price I appreciate some of your comments regarding the quality of service.
Please accept my apologies for the downfall in service as you should not have had to bring your breakfast order to reception or the restaurant, these should be collected from your room if required, however because of the distance to the rooms I am sure you can appreciate that it can take our restaurant team sometime to deliver items to rooms, and I would prefer for guests to be informed rather than waiting and thinking they have been forgotten.


Yours sincerely,
Jean-marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights over this weekend and I suppose our mistake was in not asking for a room that had already been refurbished? But how were we to know (in advance), that certain rooms were far more impressive, having already been fully refurbished? We never thought of asking at the time of booking. It simply hadn't crossed our minds. However, we would now recommend to anyone reading this review and wanting to stay at Elmers Court, that you do carefully check at the time of your booking. Whilst the room allocated was spacious, it was tired. The main door lock was on its last legs and the bathroom loo didn't flush properly, and when it did, it then took ages to refill. Reported both of these to housekeeping immediately and was fobbed-off with the door fault and the maintenance chap that was promised to fix the loo, just didn't attend! We also had cob-webs on and around the ceilings and some old tired furniture, that needed replacing. If it had been our hotel and our paying guests told us that there was a problem or two with their rooms that needed sorting, we would have been on it like a shot. Sadly, their customer service is left to the those on reception, who are simple not trained properly on how to deal with any genuine queries. On leaving today, one of those on reception wasn't even prepared to listen to the wife, who by now, was beginning to get up a real head of steam and understandably was then getting quite cross. From the reception staff, we had no form of apology, no real understanding nor of wanting to understand and no offer of any price reduction or of any Macdonald vouchers that could be use in the future, for our inconvenience and disappointment! Not the way to deal with paying guests and the experience has since turned us completely off the Macdonald hotel chain. We have stayed in much better hotels than this in the UK, for a lot less money. Outside of this, we had no problems with any of the other staff around the restaurants and in the leisure complex. These girls' and guys' were excellent and they were all genuinely attentive. The food was superb though. High quality in both restaurants, although the main building's Waterford restaurant can work out costly? The grounds are lovely to walk around and the main building viewed from the outside is impressive. In conclusion; we feel that we were unlucky in being allocated a naff room and considering we had supposedly booked a special weekend offer, it did work out far more expensive than we anticipated. Cost breakdown was for; 2 nights bed and breakfast, one single spa treatment, one Waterford restaurant evening meal and one Scottish Steak Club evening meal (no excessive drinks bill), and this equated to a whooping £448. Not value for money and as I now type-up this review, my personal feeling is that, perhaps, we have been ripped-off by the uncaring face of corporate hotels? When all we wanted, was a nice quiet weekend away. How disappointing!

Room Tip: Ask first, for rooms that have already been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPnuts007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review left on trip advisor website. I was sorry to read that although you enjoyed the food and service in the Restaurant you did not enjoy your room at the Resort. Although some of the rooms have not been refurbished completely they all had new flat screen TVs, new headboards, new bed throws as well as a rolling maintenance plan improving bathrooms and repainting bedrooms. We have replaced the majority of all doors and windows with the remaining few, which are in a descent state of repair to be completed in the next 3 months.
I do not feel that a £448 2 night stay including breakfast, dinners and drinks on a week end in the New Forest area overlooking the isle of Wight with all the leisure facilities provided is at all excessive.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Jean marc Poumel
Resort general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing