We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY PLEASANT STAY IN A LOVELY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Arriving in the driveway, across a bridge, the main building was like entering a National Trust Stately Home. After parking the car, a walk to reception found a very friendly and helpful Anthony and checked in with a roaring fire and large Christmas tree giving it a homely atmosphere. A printed map guided us to our room which are all located in separate blocks, thankfully it wasn't raining! Rooms on 2 levels with stairs only to upper floor rooms.
Very large room with comfortable bed, settee and even a kitchen with fridge and sink, the bathroom was large, clean and with a power shower. Plenty of heating and easily controlled.
As we were on a 2-night Secret Escapes deal, a 3-course dinner was included on both nights. Arriving at the bar, we checked in for dinner and were invited to take a drink, but unfortunately no draught beer available so only bottles of lager. The staff were very polite and friendly, a menu offered to select our first 2 courses and then we were invited to the lovely dining room which became full to take our seats. Service was good with just enough time between courses. Food was very well presented and very good especially the Lamb Shank (they ran out!).
After a good nights sleep, with no noise from neighbours (if there were any?) and newspapers ordered hanging on our door, breakfast was served in the Steak Room in the Leisure Centre (the pool looked enticing). There was an excellent choice from a well stocked buffet, but cooked breakfasts, porridge, etc orders were taken and served by friendly waitresses - far better than the help-your-self buffets in most hotels of this type where the food is piled high, often cold and people take too much and waste it. Cooked breakfast was very good and plenty of tea or coffee and toast if required.
The grounds of Elmers Court are extensive and well worth a walk down to the river and this would be a great setting in the Summer with warmer weather for drinks on the terrace.
Checking out was easy and a friendly au revoir from Anthony.
We will definitely be back, probably in the Summer next time. The area with the New Forest, Lymington and Milford-On-Sea (great view of The Needles and Isle of Wight) is fantastic.
Have joined the Macdonalds rewards scheme.

Room Tip: Probably a first floor room if mobility and stairs not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great detailed review on Trip Advisor.
I have shared your positive feedback with the team which gave them such a positive boost to their morale as they work so hard to exceed our guests’ expectations.
Thank you for also mentioning our great location so close to the New Forest, Isle of Wight ferry terminal and other great attractions of the New Forest.
I was also please to learn that you really enjoyed our food choices and as a result joined our “Club” Scheme.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel is situated just past the IOW ferry, and across the water from the town. The main house and grounds are attractive - however all bedrooms are in detached blocks - ok if it is not cold or wet! The spa and pool are in a separate block too. Some of the apartments in the complex are privately owned. Rooms are spacious and well heated, with all usual facilities. Some have small kitchenettes or bunk beds for children. Our room was slightly careworn, but overall quite acceptable.

We were on an inclusive break with Secret Escapes which included an excellent dinner in the attractive Wedgwood Restaurant, and a full buffet breakfast in the informal restaurant, with all hot choices freshly cooked. Staff were at all times friendly and attentive, and we were made to feel most welcome.

Overall, most satisfied with the value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunman239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such great comments left on Trip Advisor.
I was pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Resort, especially the food and friendly service. Although you liked your room thank you for your objective feedback regarding some of the aspect, I am please to say that after our 10 rooms full refurbishment we are carrying the improvement with another 8 rooms having carpets replaced and balcony painted.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our second visit to the Elmers and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a beautiful location with views across the water to Lymington.
This was a birthday treat and I had a back massage and a facial - really relaxing!! We used the indoor pool and the steam room as well. The pool is fairly small but if you choose a quiet time it is fine and you can swim lengths.
The only disappointing part of the trip was the dinner package. We ate in the main part of the hotel as this was part of the package - we could have eaten in the Steak Room, but as I am a vegetarian we hoped the main restaurant would be better. The restaurant and the bar area is very pleasant and the entrance hall with the Christmas tree was lovely. However the only vegetarian main that was offered was pretty dire. It was the usual risotto that is offered to vegetarians and was bland, sloppy and had I not been hungry I would not have eaten it. Actually if I had been blind folded I might have mistaken it for porridge!! We did not complain at the time as there were not a lot of diners there and we did not want to make a scene. There were two non meat starters and I wish I had just had those instead of the main. However my partner had the steak and he was not too impressed with that either and he found the forest fruits eton mess a big disappointment as well. Next time it will be the bed and breakfast WITHOUT the dinner!!! However I would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel as a relaxing place to stay although avoid school holidays if you have not got children as I believe it gets very busy during the summer months. I would also like to mention ALL the staff who without exception were delightful, friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeenyBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your outstanding review on this website.
It is great to receive such great comments from return guests and to know that overall you had a splendid stay highlighted by the customer service provided by our team. I was mostly concerned to read your comments on the food you experienced, I have shared these with our Head Chef and asked him to ensure great care is taken to provide outstanding dishes for our vegetarian guests. He ensures me that he will be retraining his team to ensure of no further guest disappointment. Graham has suggested that next time you are at the Resort you ask to see him and he will design a vegetarian dish especially for you to restore your faith in our Waterford restaurant food.
Please do not hesitate to contact me before you make your booking to ensure your booking is processed swiftly.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we were bought afternoon tea at Elmer's Court - really looking forward to returning as we had our wedding reception there 8 years ago,

This experience was such a disappointed return, after our previous great experience

We arrived on time and were shown to the tea room, only guests there, after short while we were offered tea and the food was then brought through, we then saw one staff member five minutes later. After that we didn't see anyone else for the next 45mins - no offer of any more tea or food, in fact we finally got fed up and decided to leave.

At which point we then had the massive hassle of trying to explain that it was a prepaid experience and we didn't need to pay, this took a long time to sort out.

It's such a shame the hotel has fallen to this level as it has seriously tainted our memories of what was a great place very unfortunate .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessylotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor.
I was sorry to read your comments. I have thoroughly investigated your feedback and will reply as follow.
Our afternoon teas are increasingly popular and we do at week end up to 40 afternoon teas per day, the feedback is in the vast majority very pleasing.
During our quiet period, our afternoon tea team is also responsible to setting the Restaurant ready for the evening service which explains why the team member did not stay in the Glenville lounge for the duration of your afternoon tea as this could have been perceived as intrusive. However that person should have checked on satisfaction and ask if you needed additional items. Please accept my apologies if this was not the case.
Please also accept my apologies for the miscommunication regarding the payment, our procedure is to process the payment and attach the payment reference to the booking to ensure it is traceable, the person who took the payment did not follow this procedure, the leaflet you presented was not a voucher only an advertising leaflet and the Receptionist on duty was right not too accept it as a method of payment. Once the payment was promptly traced back she was able to settle the account.
I appreciate your disappointment and I agree that the standards experienced were not to the level expected by our guests however I can assure you that it was a totally isolated incident and I hope you will give us another chance at restoring your faith in our establishment.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay here and you can't help be impressed by the sight that greets you as you approach the hotel from the road. The period exterior is mirrored inside with panelled walls and open fires. There was some confusion over our booking but it was dealt with professionally. Our room was situated in the, frankly, ugly new addition where most of the rooms are. Very comfortable but quite a walk (outside) from the either restaurants...ok if it's not raining. We ate in the Waterford restaurant and although the food was good the service was not as you would expect. The breakfasts are fantastic and can't fault. Probably picked a bad time, but the spa was also disappointing. The pool was cold, the showers didn't work and the steam room was broken....needs improving!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bandyrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review posted on tripadvisor.. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and some aspect of the service while staying at the Resort. Regarding the evening Restaurant service we have had a new team and on a couple of occasion have experienced some inconsistency in quality of organisation. We have retrained the entire team and now our team is back to its original strength quality of service is well improved and we are receiving great feedback from guests.
The steam generator has been replaced with a bigger model, and guests have also positively commented on this.
We did have an issue with our Leisure boiler which was repaired in a timely manner.
I can assure you that these issues were isolated incident and I hope you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our establishment.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a spectacular break away for 4 days. We have never experienced such a warm, courteous and friendly staff and we have stayed in many hotels over the years. The food in the restaurant was well above average and beautifully presented. We did not stay in the main part of the hotel but were in the garden area in a large, comfortable room with king sized bed. Initially the room was a little cool until the heater warmed the room. Have suggested to the hotel that this be put on at least an hour before guest arrival. There is an indoor pool for use which is a bonus. Would definitely hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jembey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review left on the Trip Advisor website. I was really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Resort especially the friendliness of the team and the quality of the food. I have shared your feedback with our team as they work so hard to exceed our customer’s expectations and feedback such as yours is a real boost to the team morale.
I have asked for the heaters to be increased to ensure of all of our guests confort
On behalf of the entire team thank you again for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were after a short break somewhere not too far from London and came across this hotel, offering a two night stay, bed & breakfast and also a meal in the restaurant one evening AND two spa treatments each.
The rooms are more like small ski lodge apartments.. amazing privacy, no annoying corridor mazes, with a nice bottle of wine waiting for you. Direct access to your room from the grounds
Spa treatments were fantastic and the spa facilities were great.plenty of places to explore near by and the local village is gorgeous!
Overall an amazing few days and we left feeling spoilt and relaxed.
Will be going back for sure.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixipinxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review left on the Trip Advisor website. I was really pleased to read that you had such a great time at the Resort and truly enjoyed the facilities and the local New Forest area with so much to do!!
Thank you also for recommending our treatment as we have a new Spa Manager which has really driven the quality of treatments as well as little touches….
We look forward to welcome you back at the Resort, please call us directly and, on top of our best price promise, we will be able to offer you a £10 voucher to spend in our outlets!!

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
526 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £77 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing