We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Passford House(Lymington)
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mayflower(Lymington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,669)
Filter reviews
1,669 results
Traveller rating
580
518
302
165
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
518
302
165
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterford restaurantspa breaksteak clubspa facilitiesleisure centrethe scottish steak houseexecutive roomnew forestoutdoor poollymington piersauna and steam roombreakfast barmain restauranttennis courtsthe main housegrounds are lovelywedding venue
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 1,669 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked last minute through Superbreak, the greeting on arrival cannot be faulted the staff are superb, friendly, polite and nothing too much for them. The house itself is outstanding. The rooms are in the gardens not attached to the main house which is different to say the least. Can't say much about the rooms. When we were there the weather was brilliant not so sure what it would be like if it were raining or very cold doubt if I would return in the winter. They have time share apartments in the gardens which is different!!!
We were in room 15 which was quite small realised we were in a Classic when we booked an Executive however this was not the hotels fault will take this up with Superbreak. The gardens are wonderful can sit and watch the boats sail by a perfect location.
We dined at the hotel and cannot fault the food nor the service. The staff are a credit to the hotel. Would I return, not sure will need to think about that one.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Leithy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for another great constructive review on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the all the facilities, especially the Waterford Restaurant to make your break so relaxing and special. Please accept my apologies for the quality of your cocktail we have since retrained our team on the cocktail on our list to ensure of no further disappointment.
We really look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife booked this through Lastminute.com and were a bit apprehensive because we got a great price for two days with dinner and spa treatments. We have taken these types of breaks before and have paid a lot more. We wanted some extra packages and called the hotel direct who were happy to upgrade the room for £25 and we paid an extra £10 per head for a special Valentines Day champagne dinner.

The hotel and room was great. the spa facilities were perhaps lacking that luxurious touch but the pool, steamroom and sauna were all excellent. Don't expect a hot tub!

The hotel is located close to Lymington with lots of restaurants/pubs and shops. probably a short car journey.

The restaurant dinner was really good and the inclusive full English breakfast on our package excellent.

We can recomend.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room if you can and ensure breakfast is included. Book treatments ahead as there is not a big staff here.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martynMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review placed on Trip advisor. It was great to read that on we were able to exceed your expectations especially for dinner and breakfast. Thank you for mentioning our leisure facilities too, which are of excellent standards.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were fortunate to have an apartment one floor up overlooking the fine gardens with the central fountain.
We could find no fault with the apartment, everything was immaculate.
The only problem we had was that we didn't discover the switch for the fridge was behind the bread bin which probably accounted for the strange taste of the yogurt, and the semi-solid milk!
The swimming pool was clean and warm, and the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were all up to standard.
The staff were without exception pleasant and helpful.
Our one visit to the restaurant revealed quality food, although the portions were possibly a tad small.
Overall a very well run establishment.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review placed on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay in one of our apartments. Elmers Court Hotel & Resort has 54 self catering apartments as well as 42 bedrooms offering an array of accommodation to suit most guests’ preference.
Thank you for recommending our pool facilities too as we have, lately, invested a considerable amount of money including full pool filtration and pool side refurbishment, brand new steam room generator, new sauna benches, new digital locker locks and other minor improvements to the pleasure of our guests.
Please accept my apologies for your fridge not been switched on on arrival, I will ask our House Keeper to retrain her team in insuring this.
I was also sorry to read your remarks regarding the portions as you are right no guests should feel that way. I will personally take this up with our head chef and ensure of no further guests disappointments.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, maybe next time you could book directly on our website or by calling our Reservation team as we guaranty the best available rate as well as getting a £10 voucher as a returning guest.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Elmers Court for 3 nights from 10th-13th March with our 19 month old son and highly recommend it - we booked last minute via the British Airways website had an excellent time. It far exceeded our expectations.

Staff throughout are excellent. Everyone we spoke to left us with a positive impression, they would smile and ask how we were enjoying our stay, or drop what they were doing to help if we had a query. For example, walking us to the other side of the hotel grounds to show us where the children's play park was (it is behind the fir hedges by the tennis courts).

We stayed in a family room in the courtyard (apartment 4). It had a separate room with bunk beds that we could just get our son's cot in, which meant we wouldn't disturb him in the night if we stayed up. The main room was massive - a super sized bed, business desk and chair, and two arm chairs opposite the television. There was loads of space for our bags and pram without feeling cluttered. All modernly decorated. Bathroom had a bath on one side and a separate large walk in shower on the other, again very modern and in excellent order.

There was a large outdoor pool with a bar kiosk, which you can imagine being excellent in the summer. For us, it was the indoor pool and that was perfect for our needs. There must be private membership because before 9am and after 7pm it is adult only and it got quiet busy with business folk doing their lengths. The pool is really well maintained and the changing rooms very clean. In the women's there is a play pen to put your child whilst you get changed. All very helpful.

We didn't use the fine dining restaurant or the main hotel bar, but ate each day at the Steakhouse adjoining the fitness centre. Breakfast very good - they cook to order or there is cereal, yogurts etc. - then all day before 6pm they had a special deal where 6 items from the main menu were priced at £6. We tried the burger, homemade pie, and gammon - all good.

One evening, it was a nice evening so we took a small picnic down to the end of the gardens and watched the boats come and go whilst the sun set over Lymington. Beautiful!

Overall, highly recommended. We would visit again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review placed on Trip Advisor. It was great to read what fantastic time you had with your family and how family friendly our Resort is. I have forwarded your feedback to the entire team and they thank you in return.
Our leisure team works so hard at ensuring our facilities are in the best conditions possible and thank you again for your comments.
Thank you also for mentioning the great value for money offers we have in our Scottish Steak Club.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days in January with my husband, prior to doing a cruise from Southampton. What a great experience.

The location of the hotel is stunning and the views from the lawn out to sea are just amazing. If the weather is good you can just sit on one of the benches on the lawn and watch the ferries come and go all day on their way over to the Isle of Wight.

I booked a couple of spa treatments whilst we were there which were superb. Price wise, they were on par with what I would expect to pay in a Hotel Spa (and much cheaper than having them on the cruise).

The facial was wonderfully relaxing and the lovely girl who did my treatments was very welcoming and made the experience thoroughly enjoyable. I had a wonderful glow and my skin felt so much better for it.

Following my facial I then had a Jessica gel polish manicure and pedicure. Again, the girl proved very experienced and having had gel polish applied for years now, I have to say this is one of the best i have ever had.

My nail polish on my fingers was still perfectly chip free 4 weeks later and the polish on my toes is still totally chip free two months later! Ithe only reason i had to remove my polish was down to my nails having grown so much. The most i normally get out of a gel polish is two weeks.

I particularly like the fact that although the staff went through all the lovely products that they used, there was no hard sell that you get in many Spa's which was a welcome surprise. I did note that they had some great offers on in their products in gift boxes which i went back for before we left for our cruise.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, and we had a great sleep in the bed as we have in the past at other Macdonald Hotels. the facilities in the room all to a very high standard,

We ate in the Waterford restaurant on both nights and again, i couldn't fault the food or service.
It was lovely to have a pre-dinner drink in the lounge before dinner whilst we looked over the menu and put our order in, and then be seated at our table afterwards when the food was about to be served. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and they even offered us some umbrellas to run over to the other building after our dinner as it was raining.

Breakfast was as we would have expected from a Macdonald Hotel. The signature cooked breakfast and buffet style really are to a very hugh standard, with something for everyone.


All in all, a great experience. I highly recommend a stay here and the use of the Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review on the trip advisor website. I hope that you enjoyed your cruise as much as your stay and I am grateful that you recommended our New Forest venue as ideal for a post or pre cruise break considering that we are only 30 minutes from the Southampton cruise terminal.
I was pleased to read that you really appreciated our Spa facilities and services during your stay, especially the quality of treatment and product offered. It was also great for the team to read how much you experienced our Waterford Restaurant as well as the industry benchmarking “Macdonald Breakfast” for which we get so many positive reviews.
We really look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews