We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bognor Regis
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb short break”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staff couldn't have been more helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay fabulous. Breakfast was brilliant . Evening dinner in the main hotel both nights was excellent. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfy. I enjoyed some of the best spa treatments. Unsure of the setting for the breakfast room wasn't sure whether it was a restaurant or leisure centre cafe/ bar. Pool uninspiring with heavy usage by local families. Overall fabulous relaxing short break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholamullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very constructive review placed on Trip advisor. It was great to read that we were able to exceed your expectations especially for treatments, dinner and breakfast. I appreciate your feedback on our facilities used by members however I can assure you we have also a number of families staying at the Resort.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    476
    267
    142
    75
See reviews for
432
730
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This huge Hotel & Resort is grand in the truest sense of the word. The main building is superb, its gardens extremely well tended and manicured, the views of Lymington River almost unrivalled, as the main 'lawns' look straight to the Isle of Wight, the Lymington/Yarmouth ferry sails right by every 3/4 hr.
Invited by a dear friend, for lunch and afternoon tea her family had … very generously … paid for a one weeks' stay here, for her and her mum, we eventually located her suite … Number 20, after a short search.
Excellent furnishings and comfortable fittings - all one would expect from a Macdonald Hotel - including a balcony complete with table/chairs/ sunshade. The balcony allowed awesome views of the grounds, the Solent, IOW, and the river.
We strolled the grounds and noticed a sumptuous pool, with good seating,Tennis and Croquet courts, plus a children's' play area and pond, home to Ducks and wild fowl. Also a copse walk with excellent vistas.

Our only experience of 'dining' was afternoon tea. served well but taking quite some time to arrive, however the sandwiches were extremely fresh and varied, the cakes delicious and tasty, and scones, cream and jam excellent.

No doubt our dear friend will post her own review, but she did comment that because of a wedding celebration & a 'prom' night party, noise levels were not low. Also that some , though not all, staff were laboured in response to requests for service.

And so, beautiful exterior and interiors, excellent views, great grounds and gardens, but would need to experience a couple of days stay, rather than an afternoon visit and tea, to give a more detailed review.

Room Tip: facing, or overlooking the pool or with a patio with views down the main lawn to the river, which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivestayedhereagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive review on Trip advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the quality of our afternoon tea and I hope you will come and stay with us for perhaps a longer stay next time.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Could have saved £100’s book and paid months ago now they are offering up to 50% discount contacted them and there only recommendation was to cancel and rebook – no guarantee of a room though – customer friendly not ! – they also appear to change their terms and conditions at will be warned

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. Firstly I do not understand what a review on booking procedure is allowed by Trip Advisor, despite me highlighting it, to be posted on a website designed for stay reviews.
Secondly, if you bought a bottle of wine 2 weeks ago in a supermarket and that same wine is now on promotion at ½ the price do you think they will refund you the difference.
Thank you again for your comments. As a business we have to have procedure in place in order to achiever consistency through guidance for our team if an offer is applicable to certain criteria then they need to follow these. i hope you appreciate our point of view.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Excellent location with pleasant grounds that lead down to the Estuary where you can watch the yachts and the Isle of Wight Ferry go by. The Resort has an superbly equipped gym and well maintained and good sized indoor and outdoor pools. Rooms are clean, well equipped and comfortable. If you are self catering then nearest supermarkets require a short trip in the car; if reliant on meals in house extend your credit limit as you can easily run up a large bill. Quibbles are the charges for electricity and not being able to access Wi-Fi throughout the complex. Overall a very pleasant stay which we would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review placed on the trip advisor website. I have shared your feedback with our entire team. Thank you for mentioning our location which is ideal to visit the New Forest and Isle of Wight.
The electricity charge only applies as most time share operators to self catering apartments and not the Hotel bedrooms which are separated.
We have fantastic food offers in our outlets like the 6@6 in our Scottish steak Club. Apologies if you were not made aware of these.
We really look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked it here for a two night tesco break. First impression on arrival were good the gentleman on reception was courteous and help full our room was nice .We went to have dinner in the Grill bar service was not very quick but eventually we ordered and drinks took a long time to arrive. Other people that had arrived after us were getting food we heard the chef say to one of the waitresses that the sole would take another20 mins as they had run out but no apology to ourselves. 45 mins later we received our meal I asked as to why it had taken 45 mins but was offered a complimentary drink to apologise.We ate there for breakfast but nothing else after that. The food in the Waterford Restaurant is far better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review left on the trip advisor website.
Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received in our Scottish Steak Club. As previously explained we have now recruited the team to deliver the standards we are renowned for. It would have been nice for other readers to share your experience of our Waterford fine dinning restaurant too, which, you are right, quality of food and service is outstanding.
We hope to welcome you at the resort in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast 2 night package at Elmers court as it advertised an indoor and outdoor pool, jaquizzi, steam room and sauna, plus spa treatments which we intended to use.

First impressions are important, upon arrival there was no parking spaces as there was a wedding on, however we stopped outside reception to ask where we could park. The receptionist was excellent, advising where to park ,booking us in and taking care of booking the restaurants for 2 nights. Good start to what was hoping to be a wonderful relaxing weekend.

We found the additional parking at the rear of hotel. Still very busy but found one space. They do need more parking to accommodate weekend visitors and hotel guests.

The room was supposed to be an executive room, but really just your average hotel room. Double bed, reasonably comfortable. Bathroom, nothing special and a little tight for space. You get a breakfast bar and sink next to the tea & coffee and kettle, but no plates, cutlery or dish cloth Inside the bottom of the kettle was dirty and needed cleaning.

The indoor pool area has a jaquizzi, steam room and sauna. The pool is 'L' shaped. The jaquizzi was located in the corner of the pool, so the water temperature was the same as the pool. A jaquizzi should be hot to allow you to soak and relax. The steam room was good, could do with some menthol in the steam. The sauna was also good. There were only a couple of chairs around the pool, so we did find it very inviting and somewhere you relax, between swims and using the other facilities.

We ate at The Waterford restaurant in the main building on Saturday evening and the restaurant was nice and had character, the food excellent and the service superb. However the atmosphere was lacking. It was less than half full and no background music at least that could be heard.

Sunday morning breakfast was served in the Scottish steak house and consisted of a buffet and a choice of cooked breakfasts. This was satisfactory.

We booked a full body massage, the only time available was Sunday morning; so off we went. We both asked for the massage to be firm. Mine was reasonable with some of the massage being firm, but it was not consistently firm throughout. My wife was very disappointed as her massage as it was not firm at all. The masseuse asked if it was firm enough and my wife said no. The masseuse said she would try to be firmer, but it was not firm enough. The girls were very polite, but the massages were not really satisfactory.

The outside pool was cool, but refreshing. The pool area looked like it required some maintenance. The sunbeds were dirty with muck. These should be cleaned on a more regular basis. Note, there was no life guard was present.

Sunday evening we were booked into the Scottish steak house. When we arrived there were only 2 tables taken, and only a few more people arrived after us. Again the restaurant lacked any sort of atmosphere. The service was mediocre, as we ordered a selection of bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar to eat whilst we waited for the starters. As we were served our starters the waitress said I will bring the bread. We cancelled the bread as we wanted it before the starters. The shallot and goats cheese tart was good. They had run out of prawn cocktail, so I had to change my order and decided on fish cakes which were good.

For the main course, we ordered lamb cutlets (again they had run out). The alternative offered was a lamb chop. This had to be sent back and cooked some more as it was too rare. We were not asked how it should be cooked, but felt there was not that much meat on the chop. The other main was a fillet steak. This was excellent. During the meal we noticed some heated exchange of words between the chef and the waitress. Not the sort of experience you really want during your meal.

The grounds and original manor house are lovely. Might be useful if they provided more information on the advertised 23 acres, so guests have some idea of what to explore.

Overall, would we not come back to Elmer's court a 3 star, as we found it to be nothing special, quite expensive for what was offered and definitely there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the trip advisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory service you experienced. As a team we have really taken all your comments onboard and taken the necessary action to ensure of no further guests disappointment.
We have recently recruited the team which we feel will exceed our guests expectations in term of service and product.
Based on this I hope that you will give us an opportunity to restore your faith in our establishment.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed over the May Spring Bank Holiday Weekend in one of the chalet rooms. Everything was just OK, nothing special I'm afraid which would be fine except for the fact that we paid £200 per night which is an awful lot of money for what we got. An lot of things incurred an extra charge; exercise classes, an extra £5, a game of croquet an extra £1 per person, etc etc. Many parts of the hotel and grounds looked a little tired and could do with an upgrade, although our room was recently refurbished and quite nice. The staff were very friendly on the whole, but the service in the Scottish Steak House was poor on most of the occasions we visited. We ordered tea for two on one visit and were given a pot of tea, plus extra water (well done!) but with only one tea bag! There were no staff available to complain to at the time as they were all very busy serving other customers. However, when we complained about this on checking out, the cost of one of the teas was deducted from our final bill without quibble. Not a major issue I know, but just an example of where standards were not really fitting of a £200 a night room bill. I think if our room rate had included breakfast, then this stay would have been much better value for money and this review would have been much better. However, as it was, it's a lot of money for a 3* hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on this website. As explained on the previous review, I would like to sincerely offer my apologies for the service issue you encountered. We have taken the necessary action to ensure of no further guests disappointment.
I appreciate your comments regarding the price however for a May bank holiday week end in the New Forest with included in the price use of all the leisure facilities I feel that our price is excellent value for money. I am sorry if you do not feel that way, maybe it would be worth looking for our out of seasons offers, as they are extremely good value for money and would include Breakfast too.
We hopefully all look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,705 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,557 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing