We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected, should do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not what was expected, should do better”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Have just spent 3 nights at this Hotel and I have to concur with several other comments made.
PLUS POINTS. Nice rooms and clean and spacious. Staff friendly. Nice area.
MINUS POINTS. It is a time share resort and as such is a bit of a hotch potch. As has been mentioned you have no real contact with the old part of the building, except for the Restaurant. The TV's are very basic and only had 4 terrestrial channels and no radio. Most disappointing was that the Sails bar was shut on two of the days in the evening for food ( at 1700 and 1800), When queried with Reception was informed that the Restauarant was open or else Room Service. Now we ate in the Restaurant and it was good, but quite expensive and also the menu was the same for 3 days. The website states that all facilities are subject to time changes, but this is not really clear and I feel is a bit of a con by the hotel. Room service menu was limited and very expensive, plus with only 4 TV channels not a lot to watch!
All in all a bit of a disappointment and would expect a lot more for the price of the rooms, which were expensive for the facilites that were provided. Having used Macdonald hotels before this was even more of a disappointment as they have otherwise been excellent hotels.
Just one general point, if you need to get in to the town to eat ( which we had to do!) there is a 2 minute train ride every 30 mins from Lymington Pier Station ( about 10 mins walk from the Hotel) to the Town and this runs until about 10.00pm.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eck1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback, I am aware that closing any restaurant is always a difficult decision to be made, however, in order for us to keep our prices as low as they are, this is essential during the quieter periods. Dinner in our Waterford Restaurant, our Fine Dinning restaurant is currently only £24.95 per person for a three course dinner, giving you a choice of starters, main courses and desserts, which is fantastic value for money, as stated by other Trip Advisor members.

We are looking into upgrading the televisions in the rooms in line with the Digital Switch over, and when this happens the number of TV stations will increase. The Sails bar does have Setanta and Sky and most of the sporting fixtures are shown in this lovely air-conditioned Bar and Brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    471
    265
    140
    68
See reviews for
424
721
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
TRING
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at Elmer Court and what you have to realise is that what you actually get is a far cry from what you THINK you will get.
If like us you were attracted by the prospect of a stately manor-style hotel with exclusive facilities,log fires,etc etc , then prepare to be disappointed. Yes there is an old manor house but the only time you go there is for the reception or the restaurant[which was closed when we were there due to lack of interest] The hotel rooms are gathered in a Butlinesque block some distance from the main hotel and adjacent to a modern-looking leisure centre which serves the hotel BUT also serves a large number of local people . So the overall picture is a bit of a hotch-potch. The hotel grounds and view of the estuary are actually very nice but the whole thing is spoilt by the rooms and the leisure centre and the fact that the old manor house does not feature in any way shape or form when it comes to the integrity of your stay.
Added to this was the fact that the place was swarming with kids so if you are looking for a quiet time then think again. We fancied a relaxing swim but this was a total non-starter as the pool had been commandeered by a large group of very noisy children.
The rooms are basic and in no way worth £140 per night. In fact they are not much different from Travelinn or Travelodge quality and ours had a locked interconnecting door through which noises from next door were only too evident.
If you fancy room service then 2 ham sandwiches will set you back a mere £26.50 and 2 small glasses of wine a mere £20.50!!
The breakfasts were excellent, the staff efficient and the views and gardens lovely but I would not go back !!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tringpyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you didn’t find the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort exactly what you were looking for. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with Half Term and so the number of children on site was greater than it would normally be. The Leisure Club pool doesn’t allow Children in the pool before 9am and after 8pm in the evening, so these times can be kept a little quieter for our guests who may not appreciate children.

The Waterford Restaurant was actually being refurbished during that period and not closed due to ‘lack of interest’. It now looks delightful and really complements the fine food that our Chefs produce.

We have tried to make it as clear as we can on the website that the rooms are in the courtyard area, a minutes walk from the Manor House, and I feel that we have succeeded in doing this, where in the past it has not been made clear.

I hope that perhaps you will come and try the Resort again, on a week during school term time, when I am sure you will find it a lot quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed just one night at the Elmers Court Hotel - a last minute getaway via laterooms. If you decide to stay here it's unlikely you will be in the main house, they have a number of lodge style rooms - I haven't been to Centre Parks but they look similar. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and tidy, they have large patio doors onto balconies or paths which doesn't allow for any privacy at all. The pool/sauna etc was ok, a bit dated but great for an hour's chill out.
We ate in the restaurant in the main house, which is about to be refurbished. The food was fabulous and the service excellent. £25 for 3 courses + coffee, which we felt was a good price for the standard.
A great last minute getaway at £45 for the room.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzibink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and felt that the Waterford Menu was good value at £24.95 per person, for three courses. We do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Wife and self have stayed at this resort four times as timeshare exchangees. The last occasion some 3 years ago we needed to have the cleaners called to clean the unit, after they had already done so, to spray the rooms to be rid of cigar stink, clean windows and provide chair-backs to cover hair grease on arm chairs. This time there was none of this for us.
We were lucky this time, over New Year, to have been put in the Hobien?? block in what was earlier described as a studio but turned out to be more like a one-b/room unit. Very good once one had made acceptable furniture rearrangements and placed the kitchen garbage container in the bathroom as there was no floor space in the kitchen.
Overall the unit was great and we were pleased throughout.
The Brasserie was disappointing. There was a meal available on Old Year's evening but it was set priced at $20 so clearly planned to fail saleswise.
The power charge is the highest we have experienced over many years in any UK timeshare - even of three over Christmas/New Year 2008.
They need to get the act more together and have cleaners finished before the new point of check-in at the leisure centre opens. We sat in the brasserie for 90 minutes before receiving the key and only then by me going to the unit and finding cleaners had finished and asking the checker-in what was happening. "Sorry", he said. "Overlooked it".
Then there's the excellent staffer who replies to these reports. Nice to have a reply but one has doubts whether any of the comments are likely to be actioned for the better.

  • Liked — Studio turned out to better than anticipated
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2009
Firstly, we would like to point out that all the comments made on Trip Advisor are read by senior departmental managers at the resort so that actions required can be taken accordingly. Feedback such as yours is vital to us, as this assists us in achieving our quality, standards and goals.

I am pleased that your experience this time was an improvement on your last stay some three years ago, it is true to say that over the last few years a lot of work has gone in to improving the service we offer. The New Year’s Eve evening in the Sails Brasserie was actually fully booked, was a great success, and we fully intend to run a similar event next year as we have already received enquires.

The Power charges are decided and controlled by the resort timeshare committee and are reviewed every quarter. As I am sure you are aware the cost of energy in the UK has risen sharply, and so as a result, we have had to pass this extra cost on to our guests.

The new ‘check in’ desk in the Leisure Centre is intended to streamline the ‘check in’ service that we offer to our timeshare guests. Whilst every effort is made to get the apartments back and ready for use as soon as possible, they are not actually guaranteed to be back until between 4pm – 5pm in the afternoon. The reason we open the desk earlier is to enable you to get the necessary paperwork done, and start to enjoy the facilities that we offer on site, such as the indoor swimming pool and spa.

Once again, we do thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased that on the whole you found your stay with us to be a positive one; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

My Mum was in town so my Fiance and I booked a long weekend in The New Forest. We stayed in Manor House 20, which was essentially a large 1 bedroom apartment - very good value for 135 a night (we booked a few days before on laterooms). There was a large bedroom with a king size bed, a large living area with a fold out sofa bed for mum (apparently very comfortable), flat screen tv, electric heater and a fully equipped kitchen. The apartment overlooked beautiful gardens and was very clean and comfortable. We used the leisure centre gym, which was equipped with all the necessary machines (although a little old). Would definitely stay there again (at that price).

  • Liked — Large room and beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — Girl on front reception was a bit "funny" and you had to check-in in a different building (leisure centre), which was annoying
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gleeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManagerElmers, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2008
Thank you, for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The lodge check in desk was moved to streamline the check in process, and helps our staff to give a more personal check in, especially when the Manor House is full of wedding guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Booked through Laterooms, this is both a leisure centre, a hotel and a timeshare resort, and if you want to attract people, it would seem sensible to organise a few extra tv channels (other than the basic four plus Sky News), a flat screen tv, and free wi-fi access to bedrooms.
Unfortunately, they don't do this, and the hotel brasserie is a pretty basic dining area reminiscent of a Little Chef.
It's handy for the Lymington ferry to the Isle of Wight, and if you like the New Forest, you get to see lots of ponies.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManagerElmers, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2008
Thank you, for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is only through reading these comments that we can continue to improve the facilities here at the Elmers Court.
Whilst we have only a few channels in our bedrooms we do have Sentanta & Sky Sports in our Sails brassiere and we normally show all the major sporting fixtures in there. Wifi is available in the Lobby of the Manor House and the Sails Brassiere and we also have two pay as you surf terminals in the leisure club.
The Sails Brassiere is aimed at being a relaxing venue which serves good quality food in a lovely nice clean environment. Some of our guests prefer the more traditional fine dinning experience that our fine dinning restaurant the Waterford provides.
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. Expectations weren't high after reading the reviews on tripadvisor, but I think if you find out what the hotel has to offer before you get there rather than having unrealistic expectations you are more likely to be happy.

The rooms are a good size, with a dbl bed + 2 smaller bunks. Yes, perhaps it's a little dated and obvoiusly not in the main building but the spa was great & the setting is beautiful.

This is not a cheap option, and the hotel should look to up its game when it charges high prices, but in the location of the New Forest most of the local prices are high.

Only slight criticism was how long we had to wait for the cooked breakfast in the morning, but it was tasty once it arrived.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrwgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManagerElmers, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2008
Thank you, for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Elmers Court is continually trying to improve the standards and facilities that we offer our guests, but we are aware that there is always room for improvements.
Breakfast in out Sails Brassiere is aimed at being a relaxing time, and breakfast is cooked fresh to order, this does of course mean that it takes a little longer, but as you say it is tasty once it arrives.
In terms of prices we offer special deals during the Autumn & Winter time, which can be found on our website.
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
413 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,537 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing