We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We arrived and checked in at 1pm and were given our keys 2hours before the advertised time of 3pm. We weren't expecting to stay in a Manor House so were really happy when we saw the carefully kept grounds. Our room was clean and comfortable and only the view into our room ,due to the 'fish bowl' patio door arrangement,seemed strange! Folk can't help being nosey!LoL! A great base for the town,ferry and forest. Breakfast was lovely too! All in all? Nice!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about the Hotel and Resort and helps us to know that we are getting things right! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    466
    258
    137
    65
See reviews for
419
710
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

We booked a 2 night break at Elmers Court in a self catering apartment for ourselves and our young baby. We expected a hotel style family room based on the images on the website, however we got an apartment out the back, which ,despite having rather bland looks, was infact incredibly cosy, well equipped, with fabulous views over the grounds and the Solent towards the Isle of Wight. The room had everything ( excpet room service and a hair dryer) . The informal Sails restaurant was shut on Monday so we had to go out and fend for ourselves as the main restaurant was a bit too formal for a young family.
We did have breakfast the following morning in the restaurant but felt very out of place with a young baby (the high chair provided was filthy)
The facilities and the hotel location are superb, the staff at the leisure club were most welcoming and the pool and other facilities were excellent, the showers were among some of the best we have used.
Overrall the holiday was great, however it was a bit too formal for a family with young children

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark13rr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your comments left on Trip Advisor, we are pleased that the apartment was better than you had expected. I am sorry that you didn’t find the hairdryer, which is located in the drawer in the bedroom.

The Macdonald Elmers Court work hard to keep prices low, during challenging times and in order to keep costs down we have chosen to close one of the restaurants on site on certain evenings. We are sorry that you didn’t feel the Waterford Restaurant was child friendly enough and that you felt out of place in the morning, the Sails Brassiere where Breakfast is served is a light and airy setting, and normally people with children feel very much at home. After all, we are a family Resort. The filthy highchair is wholly unacceptable and be assured that this was purely an oversight on this occasion.

I am pleased that over all, your stay was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

We booked this hotel on lastminute.com. We paid £45 for one night and thought this was great value. The swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all fantastic to relax in after a day cycling through the forest! The room was cosy and clean with all the basics you need. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the restuarant so can't comment on that. We would highly recommend the market in Lymington on Saturday morning. The gardens that the hotel is set in are really pretty and worth a walk around too.

After booking this hotel we read some of the reviews on here and were not sure what to expect but can honestly say that we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends and family. At the end of the day it is a 3 star hotel so you won't get a 5 star stay but it was very suitable for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always so nice to receive positive feedback like yours. During these difficult financial times we have tried to be reactive with our prices, and as you found out it is well worth checking the Websites for some very special deals.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

We stayed in a Suite for 3 nights, and were self catering so can't comment on the restaurant. The room was in the courtyard and not in the main house (as expected), and was very comfortable although had a distinct 1990's feel to it in terms of decor - could do with an update! It was very quiet here, although that may be different when it's busier. The kitchen area was well equipped (washing machine, dishwasher, oven, fridge, crockery, cutlery, utensils etc) - although take a chopping board, scissors and a decent knife as these weren't available. We had to get a couple of wine glasses from the Sails bar too, although they were happy to let us borrow them.

The pool was very good - a nice warm and large pool with a small jacuzzi in the corner. One down side is that this is used by non-residents so gets very busy. And as we found out, is used for swimming lessons - hardly the relaxing swim we had in mind!!

It was a great base for exploring the New Forest, and is in easy reach of Lymington (half hour walk, 5 minute drive, taxi £5). Attractions at Beaulieu, Brockenhurst, Lyndhurst, Miford on Sea and the Isle of Wight Ferry were all easy to get to.

The down side would definitely be that this is open to non-residents; so at peak times (i.e. after school/work) parking spaces were limited and it got very busy in the leisure complex. Plus, there were time-share touts roaming, be warned!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04032006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback left on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you found your Suite on the whole fulfilled all your needs. We are pleased that you liked our swimming pool facilities, and feel that although the pool is used by Leisure Club members and also used for Swimming Lessons it still offers plenty of space for everyone to enjoy. The Leisure Pool also offers times both first thing in the morning, and last thing at night where Children are not allowed in the pool, and perhaps next time you stay, you will find these times more relaxing and quite.

Elmer’s Court does not have ‘Timeshare touts’ but we do have opportunities for people to buy Timeshare on site, but this is always done with the utmost of respect.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junepr58@aol.com
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Stayed in this hotel for one night only with a group of friends. Booked only a few days prior to travel at a very good rate(50% off usual price) £45 per room including breakfast for 2 adults!
Thought it was excellent value for money, rooms were out in the courtyard but we were very pleasantly surprised by how lovely they were after reading some negative reviews.
Good range of extra's in the room, trouser press, full size ironing board complimentery bottled water and bath accessories.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of variety, plenty of it and very tasty!
Only down side was the price of drinks in bar in main part of hotel, £6.50 for a small glass of wine! Unfortunately the bar in the courtyard(which also served food) closed at 17:30, and the drinks were much more affordable there.
Would definately stay here again, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggersmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback left on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you so enjoyed your stay, and felt that on the whole we had got the price right! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

Have just spent 3 nights at this Hotel and I have to concur with several other comments made.
PLUS POINTS. Nice rooms and clean and spacious. Staff friendly. Nice area.
MINUS POINTS. It is a time share resort and as such is a bit of a hotch potch. As has been mentioned you have no real contact with the old part of the building, except for the Restaurant. The TV's are very basic and only had 4 terrestrial channels and no radio. Most disappointing was that the Sails bar was shut on two of the days in the evening for food ( at 1700 and 1800), When queried with Reception was informed that the Restauarant was open or else Room Service. Now we ate in the Restaurant and it was good, but quite expensive and also the menu was the same for 3 days. The website states that all facilities are subject to time changes, but this is not really clear and I feel is a bit of a con by the hotel. Room service menu was limited and very expensive, plus with only 4 TV channels not a lot to watch!
All in all a bit of a disappointment and would expect a lot more for the price of the rooms, which were expensive for the facilites that were provided. Having used Macdonald hotels before this was even more of a disappointment as they have otherwise been excellent hotels.
Just one general point, if you need to get in to the town to eat ( which we had to do!) there is a 2 minute train ride every 30 mins from Lymington Pier Station ( about 10 mins walk from the Hotel) to the Town and this runs until about 10.00pm.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eck1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback, I am aware that closing any restaurant is always a difficult decision to be made, however, in order for us to keep our prices as low as they are, this is essential during the quieter periods. Dinner in our Waterford Restaurant, our Fine Dinning restaurant is currently only £24.95 per person for a three course dinner, giving you a choice of starters, main courses and desserts, which is fantastic value for money, as stated by other Trip Advisor members.

We are looking into upgrading the televisions in the rooms in line with the Digital Switch over, and when this happens the number of TV stations will increase. The Sails bar does have Setanta and Sky and most of the sporting fixtures are shown in this lovely air-conditioned Bar and Brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRING
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at Elmer Court and what you have to realise is that what you actually get is a far cry from what you THINK you will get.
If like us you were attracted by the prospect of a stately manor-style hotel with exclusive facilities,log fires,etc etc , then prepare to be disappointed. Yes there is an old manor house but the only time you go there is for the reception or the restaurant[which was closed when we were there due to lack of interest] The hotel rooms are gathered in a Butlinesque block some distance from the main hotel and adjacent to a modern-looking leisure centre which serves the hotel BUT also serves a large number of local people . So the overall picture is a bit of a hotch-potch. The hotel grounds and view of the estuary are actually very nice but the whole thing is spoilt by the rooms and the leisure centre and the fact that the old manor house does not feature in any way shape or form when it comes to the integrity of your stay.
Added to this was the fact that the place was swarming with kids so if you are looking for a quiet time then think again. We fancied a relaxing swim but this was a total non-starter as the pool had been commandeered by a large group of very noisy children.
The rooms are basic and in no way worth £140 per night. In fact they are not much different from Travelinn or Travelodge quality and ours had a locked interconnecting door through which noises from next door were only too evident.
If you fancy room service then 2 ham sandwiches will set you back a mere £26.50 and 2 small glasses of wine a mere £20.50!!
The breakfasts were excellent, the staff efficient and the views and gardens lovely but I would not go back !!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tringpyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you didn’t find the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort exactly what you were looking for. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with Half Term and so the number of children on site was greater than it would normally be. The Leisure Club pool doesn’t allow Children in the pool before 9am and after 8pm in the evening, so these times can be kept a little quieter for our guests who may not appreciate children.

The Waterford Restaurant was actually being refurbished during that period and not closed due to ‘lack of interest’. It now looks delightful and really complements the fine food that our Chefs produce.

We have tried to make it as clear as we can on the website that the rooms are in the courtyard area, a minutes walk from the Manor House, and I feel that we have succeeded in doing this, where in the past it has not been made clear.

I hope that perhaps you will come and try the Resort again, on a week during school term time, when I am sure you will find it a lot quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing