We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Not wait to leave. Not Sure you could pay me to go back.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
midlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Could Not wait to leave. Not Sure you could pay me to go back.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

I disagree that the hotel isn’t clear on the situation of the accommodation and I was perfectly ready to stay in a court yard room, however this is probably one of the only points the hotel is accurate on with its description.
I will start with the good points - Location, views, grounds, swift early check in, excellent restaurant manager (al la carte). That’s it.

Negatives -

Rooms - We stayed in an executive double with a pull out bed, I would hate to see a basic room. Tired, faded, dirty headboards, mouldy grout and blind in the bathroom, 4 channels on the TV, no remote (called Reception, no one came to see if they could find it as promised) Walls paper thin, we could hear televisions and talking very clearly.
Awful narrow pull out sofa that was too narrow for a five year old with springs poking in her back. No air conditioning had to leave windows open therefore noise very late at night. Beds hard, towels, don't expect fluffy white but more on par with what you get in Greece, small and thin. Handy fridge but not sure what you would do with rest of the kitchen arrangement.
Why have lovely big balconies and no patio furniture? Also decking well in need of oiling and windows rotten.

Indoor Pool - Smelt of damp, dirty changing rooms and half the pool was fenced off with “off limits” so you couldn’t use the Jacuzzi. Lockers half the numbers missing.

Sails Bar - Breakfast. Why have open kitchens when you really wouldn't want to see in, the wall tiles were brown and the scrambled egg was pre-made and left in saucepan which was stirred every time an order was requested. ? Nice to see the chef wipe a plate clean with his finger before serving. Asked for poached egg on toast, got a poached egg. No toast, half a burnt tomato and one mushroom. Decided therefore not to risk dinner.

A la Carte Restaurant – Lovely bar man and Restaurant Manager. A la carte menu had 4 main dishes – Duck, belly of pork, shoulder of lamb and Pollock, if you are a vegetarian not sure what you would eat? Husband asked if they could possibly do him a Steak, no not on the menu. Too much trouble for them to run to the other restaurant and get one off them. He had Pollock which was awful, in contrast my duck was very nice. Very rare for a restaurant not to service a beef dish. Restaurant lacked atmosphere and customers, wonder why?!
Mistake on the bill for £16, seems to be a regular occurrence.

In summary, HAVING EARNT 6000 POINTS AS A MACDONALD HOTEL GOLD CARD MEMBER THIS IS THE WORST MACDONALD WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT.
WE RECEIVED THE FREE BOTTLE OF WINE BUT ONLY AFTER CALLING TO REMIND THEM, WHAT A SURPRISE!
Would have preferred to stay in a Travel Lodge

Might email the hotel but often their policy is to offer a night for free, they would have to pay us to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happiestonholidaylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for your comments left on Trip Advisor, we were sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. The majority of Macdonald establishments differs in style explaining why certain properties may not match certain guest expectations, however we have fed back your comments regarding your bedroom to our Senior team and we have retrained our team on certain shortfall in service you experienced.
Thank you again for your time as it is feed back such as yours which will help us rectify the issues you raised. We hope that you will continue to enjoy staying in Macdonald Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    462
    251
    131
    63
See reviews for
409
700
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Very good hotel ideally situated for the New Forest. Rooms very good and excellent for families.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJJWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for the positive feedback you placed on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilford essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

As like many other people, we were not aware of the chalet, holiday camp style accommodation. On arrival, the manor house looked lovely and just like the pictures, but we were very disappointed with our room, which was connected on both sides, above and to the rear with a connecting door (even though this was locked). With the front of the room being all glass, we did feel we were in a fish bowl with people looking in. We had expected a quiet break but were surrounded by families with children and whilst we are not against families, did not expect to exit the room & be confronted with a child with a large water pistol threatening to shoot us!
However, after requesting another room, the receptionist was very accommodating and we were given a different room, even though the same chalet style, it was slightly bigger & only connected to one side & above. It was actually very comfortable.
The staff were always very polite, hepful and efficient. and we had no conplaints with them. We ate one night in the main restaurant and even though the food was very good, felt it was overpriced for what it was. Also, as mentioned in other reviews, the drinks were definitely overpriced. Added to this, we were overcharged for our meal by about £35. (We were also charged for items when we checked out which were not for us!)However, the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel.
The view from the back of the hotel could not be faulted, overlooking the Solent.
I must also mention like others the parking. It was sometimes very hard to get a space with the time share reserved spaces & the public using the facilities
In general we had a good few days & this was a good base to explore the New Forest, but I would not stay there again because of the accommodation style. I think this should be explained more clearly on the hotel website.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozza34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on trip advisor, as a result of yours and other guests comments we have amended some of the information on our website. Hopefully this work will enable guests to acknowledge that the hotel Bedrooms are in the Courtyard area, and not within the main Manor House itself.
This part of the country is a family holiday destination most especially during the summer months and other school holidays. As a family friendly resort we most welcome families with children and therefore the number of children on resort increases during these times.
We were delighted to hear that you were very pleased with the hospitality we provided during your stay, we passed your feedback to our team and they thank you in return for your positive comments.
We would be delighted to welcome you back at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort and maybe you would find a different time of year, outside of school holidays, more suited to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

My daughter and I have just returned from two nights B&B at Elmers Court. We had fantastic weather and a really great time. Apart from a blip in service on Sunday morning at breakfast - tables were not cleared and laid up which entailed three different parties having to wait for some time and even then staff were not addressing the problem with any apparent urgency - it was a really enjoyable stay. Monday morning breakfast was a totally different experience so it seemed there had been a staffing issue on our first morning. All members of staff we encountered were extremely courteous and pleasant, check in and out was very efficient, and all in all everyone was extremely helpful. The outdoor pool was warm enough and very clean.
Each evening we took the two minute train ride from Lymington Pier, just a few minutes walk from the hotel, into Lymington itself which saved a 25/30 minute walk each way. One drawback was that the last train left the town at 22.07 but the Sails bar was still open and we were able to enjoy a late night drink there. We would recommend The Ship Inn on the Quay for food and drink and take out fish and chips from the High Street. The New Forest Open top bus tour was also well worth doing - £9 each. We stopped off in Beaulieu and walked from there to Bucklers Hard and back (allow a couple of hours) or there is the motor museum or Exbury Gardens, neither of which we had time to do. Tea at The Thatched Cottage in Brockenhurst was also very much appreciated. All in all a great weekend and a hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent 5-night DBB stay at Macdonald’s Elmers Court. Our room, an ‘Executive Zip’, was clean, comfortable, and well appointed, with a useful fridge and sink area. The grounds are attractive, well maintained, and obviously enjoyed by guests of all ages. The food on offer in the Waterford restaurant was excellent, particularly for a hotel. The restaurant manager and her staff are pleasant without being intrusive and are well informed about their food and wine. We took breakfast in our room each day which was fine once we had discovered the secret of getting our order card reliably into the system; hand it in to reception. My wife received a manicure and massage in the spa finding the staff skilled and helpful. However, the treatment area is rather dismal with no natural light and is not easily accessible for clients with mobility difficulties, being located at the bottom of a substantial flight of stairs. Parking for hotel guests was just about adequate as a large number of spaces are reserved for other users of the site. We could only see two dedicated spaces for ‘blue badge’ drivers. Would the hotel manager consider converting his reserved parking space next to the main entrance into a blue badge space?
At checkout we identified that a charge of over one hundred pounds had been mistakenly added to our bill. The receptionist did apologise and corrected the error after we pointed it out. As in any hotel, remember what you sign for and check your bill.
We will stay at Elmers Court again and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We enjoyed a 3 day break at Elmers Court at the beginning of December 2008, a little late posting the review although I have had it saved on the pc a while! What reminded me is that we are considering a further stay! For the Dec stay we obtained an excellent rate via the hotels website of £49 per room per night, bed & breakfast.

We were a little confused at check in – arriving to check in at 2pm but were advised check in was 3pm. I accepted this and assumed I had misread the booking information but when I did in fact check my receipt the 2pm check in time was correct. It wasn’t a huge issue; we left our bags behind reception and drove into Lymington.

ROOM
As others have commented, the set up is a little strange in that you have a very old country home although most of the hotel rooms are in chalet looking accommodation away from the main building. The site also has timeshare and self catering accommodation. We expected to be allocated a chalet type rooms and had no issues with these. A little chintzy (for our taste) in design but of a good size, well furnished and with all the amenities needed. Others have mentioned rooms being cold, but we didn’t have a problem.

HOTEL FACILITES
The hotel has an excellent leisure complex – we didn’t use the pool or gym but did use the squash court twice in our 3 day stay. The floor on the court was a little ‘dead’ but as most hotels don’t have squash courts we were happy to accept anything!
We didn’t get the opportunity to walk around the grounds - a combination of being out most of the day and some rain of an evening, but in the better weather this would be recommended.

FOOD
Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and the staff very attentive and friendly. There was a good buffet style option (cereals, fruits, breads, cheeses etc) with the ‘full English’ cooked to order. The breakfast is probably one of the best we have experienced in the UK.
We didn’t use the hotel restaurants – there is a formal a la carte restaurant and also ‘Sails’ which is a bar and restaurant (and also where breakfast is served). The restaurant was closed (or stopped servicing food at around 6.30 for 2 of our 3 nights).

LOCAL
We ate in Lymington – Prezzo (Italian - good food & excellent service), Rivaaz (Indian –very good food & service), Lal Quilla (ok food & service).
We walked to and from Lymington on all 3 nights we stayed – the walk was around 30 minutes or so each way. A torch is recommended for the last part of the walk (from the ferry terminal to the hotel) as there are no street lights. There is a train station just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel (at the ferry terminal) but we didn’t use as the first night we planned this trains were replaced by a bus due to engineering works. The bus / training stops at the bottom of Lymington High Street, so it’s still around 10 walk to get to the restaurants (Rivaaz) at the top of the high street.
We visited the Isle of Wight as foot passengers on the Wight Link Ferry (£10.50 each) – if you are planning to take the car, book the day in advance (booking on the day costs around £46 whereas booking the day before is only £32).
Although we visited in December and the weather was very cold in the day time it was dry so we managed a number of walks, including a 10 mile walk passing Bucklands Hard to Beaulieu. Another option may be to drive to Bucklands Hard and just walk to Bealieu and back (about 3-4 miles return).

Overall, for the price paid would be more than happy to stop here again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2009
Thank you for your trip advisor comment, it is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback, and we are pleased that you are considering visiting us again.

We apologise about the confusion over check in times. We are aware that different websites may have given out the arrival time as being 2pm, we will check with our agents that the mistakes are rectified to ensure of no reoccurrence.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Although initially disappointed to be allocated one of the more modern, chalet-style rooms, the rest of the stay did not disappoint. The restaurant was elegant and the meal excellent - try the mussels, they were gorgeous! I do not remember what wine we had but it too was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would stay there again, though next time I would request a room located inside the main building of the hotel, as there was some noise from people passing by the chalets on the outside. (Also, if you arrive by train, make sure you contact the hotel in advance to arrange a taxi pick-up, as it is far enough from the station that walking with suitcases isn't recommended.)

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on the Trip Advisor website, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Our new menu in the Sails Brassiere which even has an Early Bird selection, and our New Table D’Hote & A La Carte Menus in the Waterford Fine Dinning Restaurant are all receiving some great reviews, and we are so pleased that you too enjoyed them.

Elmers Court Hotel bedrooms are situated in the courtyard area adjacent to the main Manor House.

The Lymington Pier station is situated about 200 yards from the hotel, and taxi can be booked directly or through the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing