We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rudest staff I've ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The rudest staff I've ever experienced”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed for two nights in one of the garden lodges. The room was adequate, clean but nothing special and rather devoid of character after checking in at the main reception which forms part of the original mansion house.
The grounds and location are the main features of this place. Well kept and extensive backing onto the marina. Although we were disapointed to find the outdoor pool was closed despite it being a gloroius weekend.
Our main problem with the stay was the staff - especially those in the sail bar/restaurant. Unless you choose the more expensive main restaurant every night this is really the default place to eat in the evenings. It looks and feels like a cheap travel lodge although this we could have accepted if the service made up for it. It didn't. The list of faults and complaints was extensive but here are a few of the highlights:
They got the food orders wrong.
They forgot to serve one of the meals.
We were told to wait to be seated quite curtly despite it being seemingly quiet in the place. (We then waited and were ignored until we complained and told the staff we would find a table ourselves.)
We were told is was 'clearly too busy' to get a latte with breakfast!
And the food is extremely poor quality, heated in a microwave variety.

I sensed an 'atmoshere' with the staff which was strange. Like they were all unhappy in their jobs. Not something a customer should see.

I've never felt strongly enough to write a review before but the elmers court pushed me over the edge. Don't go there - find a nice B&B in the town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we have investigated the issues you raised and have put an action plan in place and retrained our entire team to ensure of no recurrence. Although the troughs in service you experience in our Brasserie were totally unacceptable, these were isolated incidents and we hope that they will not deter you from visiting us. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Macdonald Elmers court to demonstrate to you the high level of service we are renown for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    476
    267
    142
    75
See reviews for
432
730
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
huntingdon
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Rooms very poor. dirty carpets and bedding, No one on Reception and when we made reservation for the Restaurant didn't pass on the message. Hotel Restaurant staff very good and attentive but expensive. We could hear the Chef having a tantrum from the bar so it made us anxious whether he would still be there to cook our meal later!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyHuntingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor, we are sorry to hear that you found your room to be not up to the standard you would normally experience in one of our establishment. We have investigated the issues you raised and our Senior House Keeper and Maintenance manager have remedied these issues.

We profusely apologise for the unacceptable disturbance taking place in the kitchen, and hope that this did not spoil your dining experience, we have discussed your comments with our Head Chef and he send his sincere apologies.
We hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from visiting us and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Macdonald Elmers court to demonstrate to you the high level of service we are renown for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Spent a few days at the Elmers Court as part of a summer break in the New Forest. The hotel is an old manor house, set in lovely grounds and is well located for all of the main New Forest attractions.
I had read some previous reviews on Tripadvisor regarding the accomodation which I have to disagree with - when I booked the hotel it was made clear that the rooms are located in the courtyard and not in the Manor House itself.
We stayed in a famly room and was spacious and clean with a very comfy bed. There was a lovely outdoor pool (but a bit too chilly for us to use) but we made use of the indoor pool and gym, which incidentally is one of the best equipped hotel gyms I have used. The spa offered a good selection of treatments and was reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet was good, dinner was okay but the options were slightly limited so you would probably venture out of the hotel for dinner after one night.
I thought that the hotel was good value for money and overall we had an enjoyable stay and would probably choose to stay there the next time we are in the New Forest.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments on trip advisor it is always a pleasure to hear from guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. We have passed on your comments to our team and they like to thank you in return. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth Notts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

like many other guests, we were not aware of the wooden hut,(we think it could be made more clear on their website) regarding the holiday camp style accommodation. On arrival, the manor house looked nice and just like the pictures, but we were very disappointed with our room and the stay.

We were booked into what they called a suite and had made reservations for 4 nights, our friends were in a upgraded room/hut for the same stay. We opened the door to hut 5 so called hotel room/suite to find a room with well used settees and a dirty big scuff mark on the wall, and a terrrible stain on the enterance mat both could have be cleaned off with a bit of effort from the cleaners! We then went into the bedroom where you need to be super skinny to attempt to get past the old fanshoned tv on the pull out wall bracket to squeeze yourself into the bed. I myself never did. The small bathroom with shower over bath was the most powerful hand shower I have ever used "Great you may say" , well yes if you could have had a cubicle/full screen curtain or something more useful than the terrible loose glass half screen!
Water go's everywhere! Then you have to use one of the (few) towels provided to wipe up. Which brings me to one of my most annoying things about this hotel!!

You have to almost beg for any shower gell or shampoo's on the first day we arrived there was one shower gel and one shampoo, after I had a shower washed my hair which I was doing twice a day, there was nothing for my dear wife to use. The second day we were left nothing! I rang reception and after begging a lady brought me some shower gel? Then day three nothing, we begged again this time by leaving a begging note! We were then left one of each! Do they save them and take them home? do they sell them on car boot sales? What is the point of not leaving any it only winds customers/campers up!

As to the bed it was firm and there were pillows but in the 4 nights we stayed No sheets were changed at all phew !!!! The enterance door was very hard to lock when we left and the whole thing is like a "Good morning campers " site. OK if thats what you like I truley thought we were staying in a hotel with rooms not huts!

Moving on to the "Sails Dinner" Mmmm well we gave it a good try the staff were OK but the place was like drinking in a sports bar" "Oooops thats what it was its like having a beer after a work out which we wanted neither we wanted some Pinot Grigo They had none we tried several others Types of wine none availalable, we tried beers lagers there was hardly any guests in the bar totally atmostphere less! So we left and went to our hut early bedtime. Breakfast was OK if you like to whatch the cook stiring his pre made scrambled eggs everytime a table wanted them he would add a little milk then stir, the bacon sausage black pudding was all pre-prepared then placed onto VERY HOT plates and warmed to serve. We were asked about eggs but it took 4 days before we got a runny yolk! I would not recommend their style of breakfast.One morning my dear wife decided to have beens on toast instead of the fry up/pre done. So take a look at the picture the white hard egg is suposed to have been a poached egg(lol) and the one slice of toast made us goster with laughter Christine had something later whilst we were out. But most of the staff were very good.

As we were touring the area on Honda Goldwing Motorcycles( large heavy tourers) which like most bikes dont like gravel the car park there was a nightmare we had to negotiate gravel standing, as the hotel had not filled the car park slots with concrete or ashpalt it was a gravel paradise! We were seen by hotel maintainence and they offered a bollarded area on concrete, again it took 3 days before it materliized and that was after our own efforts NOT the Hotels. There were eco rat traps on display around the Huts and as they were full of leaves not even the rats were happy staying there? (joke) so if I was to sum it all up , It was not for me and would not recommend it to anyone unless they were into camping style hotels and did not want any kind of atmosphere.

As to the pool and the sporty things we did none of it! so can't comment. But we paid our money and as true Brits said little.

PS sorry about spelling !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIGDEREK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on trip advisor, we were sorry to hear that our establishment did not meet your expectations, however we feel that the word used for describing our accommodation was not appropriate, they are fully furnished spacious “chalet style” bedroom with all amenities provided in a standard rated 3 AA Star Hotel.
We have forwarded your comments to our team and they have taken on board some of the concerns you raised and will make every effort to rectify these issues to ensure of no reccurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I stayed at Elmers Court in August with my Mum and we had a lovely time. The lead up to the main house may mislead some people into thinking they are staying in a grand old stately home but only those who don't read the hotel website properly - it clearly states most rooms are modern and chalet style in courtyards. We had an Executive Room (thanks for the upgrade Mum!) so don't know what a standard room is like but, contrary to an earlier review, it was very quiet and the beds and pillows were very comfy.

The outdoor pool was overrun by kids most of the day but we enjoyed an early evening dip once things quietened down. We weren't sure that the 'lifeguard' was meant to be doing as she rarely even looked at the pool so you'd have to keep an eye on any youngsters yourself. The grounds were expansive and very tranquil with a great walk down from the patio of the main house to the water where there were benches to chil out.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff - all were very friendly and efficient apart from breakfast on our first day when there weren't enough tables set and we had to wait to be seated. They obviously sorted out the problem though as the next day was an efficient contrast. One tip - if you ask for sausage, tomato and mushroom for breakfast that's exactly what you'll get, one of each. So if you want more than one of anything ask for it. My mushroom did look a bit lonely on the plate!

We took the hop on, hop off open top bus tour round the New Forest and had a fabuous day out without the hassle of having to drive or park. We also took the train from Lymington Pier (a few minutes walk) to Lymington each evening - it only too 2 minutes (literally) and cost £1.40 return but it saved us the 25 minute walk into town along a fairly busy road.

All in all, a nice 3 star hotel made even better by excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptoptotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback left on trip advisor it is always such a boost for our team when people take the time to comment on the excellent level of hospitality provided. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Elmers Court in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I disagree that the hotel isn’t clear on the situation of the accommodation and I was perfectly ready to stay in a court yard room, however this is probably one of the only points the hotel is accurate on with its description.
I will start with the good points - Location, views, grounds, swift early check in, excellent restaurant manager (al la carte). That’s it.

Negatives -

Rooms - We stayed in an executive double with a pull out bed, I would hate to see a basic room. Tired, faded, dirty headboards, mouldy grout and blind in the bathroom, 4 channels on the TV, no remote (called Reception, no one came to see if they could find it as promised) Walls paper thin, we could hear televisions and talking very clearly.
Awful narrow pull out sofa that was too narrow for a five year old with springs poking in her back. No air conditioning had to leave windows open therefore noise very late at night. Beds hard, towels, don't expect fluffy white but more on par with what you get in Greece, small and thin. Handy fridge but not sure what you would do with rest of the kitchen arrangement.
Why have lovely big balconies and no patio furniture? Also decking well in need of oiling and windows rotten.

Indoor Pool - Smelt of damp, dirty changing rooms and half the pool was fenced off with “off limits” so you couldn’t use the Jacuzzi. Lockers half the numbers missing.

Sails Bar - Breakfast. Why have open kitchens when you really wouldn't want to see in, the wall tiles were brown and the scrambled egg was pre-made and left in saucepan which was stirred every time an order was requested. ? Nice to see the chef wipe a plate clean with his finger before serving. Asked for poached egg on toast, got a poached egg. No toast, half a burnt tomato and one mushroom. Decided therefore not to risk dinner.

A la Carte Restaurant – Lovely bar man and Restaurant Manager. A la carte menu had 4 main dishes – Duck, belly of pork, shoulder of lamb and Pollock, if you are a vegetarian not sure what you would eat? Husband asked if they could possibly do him a Steak, no not on the menu. Too much trouble for them to run to the other restaurant and get one off them. He had Pollock which was awful, in contrast my duck was very nice. Very rare for a restaurant not to service a beef dish. Restaurant lacked atmosphere and customers, wonder why?!
Mistake on the bill for £16, seems to be a regular occurrence.

In summary, HAVING EARNT 6000 POINTS AS A MACDONALD HOTEL GOLD CARD MEMBER THIS IS THE WORST MACDONALD WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT.
WE RECEIVED THE FREE BOTTLE OF WINE BUT ONLY AFTER CALLING TO REMIND THEM, WHAT A SURPRISE!
Would have preferred to stay in a Travel Lodge

Might email the hotel but often their policy is to offer a night for free, they would have to pay us to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happiestonholidaylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for your comments left on Trip Advisor, we were sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. The majority of Macdonald establishments differs in style explaining why certain properties may not match certain guest expectations, however we have fed back your comments regarding your bedroom to our Senior team and we have retrained our team on certain shortfall in service you experienced.
Thank you again for your time as it is feed back such as yours which will help us rectify the issues you raised. We hope that you will continue to enjoy staying in Macdonald Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Very good hotel ideally situated for the New Forest. Rooms very good and excellent for families.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJJWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for the positive feedback you placed on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,557 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing