We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location with extensive facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location with extensive facilities”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

An excellent base for visiting New Forest, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Isle of Wight. Quietly situated with extensive facilities, indoor and outdoor pool, croquet, squash, fitness centre,putting green,and small golf area overlooking Lymington harbour.Two excellent restaurants and spacious rooms well appointed. children welcomed but do not intrude on other guests wanting a quiet stay. A pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burford_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, it is always a delight to get such positive feedback as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Elmers Court in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    471
    261
    138
    68
See reviews for
421
717
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Spent a very enjoyable week in a timeshare apartment over looking the Solent. The apartment was superb but the balcony needed a really good clean- lots of cobwebs etc and this let the whole apartment down. There were a number of cobwebs in the bedrooms and on the Sat when we left we discovered the team of cleaners were students and I think they do not see every dirty corner. Overall the resort was very clean and the staff that we came in contact with were very pleasant. The added bonus was we had a washing machine in the kitchen. We will certainly be back to watch the Isle of Wight ferry and the numerous sail boats going in and out of the Solent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmad5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we are sorry to hear that you did not experience the normally high levels of cleanliness that we strive to achieve. A copy of your feedback has been passed to the housekeeping department, and training carried out to avoid this happening in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife, daughter and her boyfriend had a semi enjoyable 5 nights at Elmer's Court. We tried to get a time share exchange at short notice with out much luck.My wife managed to haggle a good price. I would not have stayed there at the full asking price, it's far too expensive. The rooms are reasonable in size, the furniture, carpets are old and shabby. We also found the beds to hard for our liking. Right outside our window was a very noisy extractor fan which was on day and night, we didn't get much sleep. When we settled the bill we had to fork out for the electricity and reckon we were paying for the extractor fan as well. However it's not all bad, the pools were good, the staff are friendly and location is spot on. It badly needs a make over. I wouldn't go back until the place has had a re-vamp. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howitis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you for your comments left on TripAdvisor for the Timeshare accommodation that you stayed in. The apartments are controlled by the owners committee and your comments have been passed to them for them to action. We are however pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities that the hotel offers and hope that you may try a Hotel stay at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is a fabulous hotel normally but I did dispair at having to wait one hour forty minutes for a jug of pimms from the pool bar with no hint of a real apology. How disapointing.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samluvssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Thank you for your comments left on Trip advisor I am sorry to hear that you had such a long wait, please let me assure you this is not normal, but these comments have been passed to the Food & Beverage team, and training carried out to avoid a repeat of this event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

If you are going to this hotel for a romanic,luxurious break , just be aware that this is a Macdonald hotel 'and resort'. It feels much more like a resort than a hotel - which would be absolutely fine for families with children as the pool facilites etc are very good, and the grounds are lovely. However luxury hotel it is not. Went here with my husband for a 2 night weekend break. Booked using Tesco vouchers and was told there were no classic rooms available, just executive rooms, so we went with that, as we weren't actually paying the full cost, which was £362 for 2 nights b&b.

On approach, the hotel looks lovely. The main building is old and impressive. The hotel rooms however are not in this building. They are in an outside courtyard and resemble holiday chalets (2 storey).Ours was on the upper level, approached by stairs and a wooden balcony that could both do with a coat of wood preserver. Like a previous reviewer, I questioned whether our room was classed as an executive room - in fact I thought there had been a mistake, as it appeared to be more like a self-catering room, complete with kitchen sink ( with washing up liquid!) .On a positive note - the large fridge in the corner of our room meant that we could store our own wine and beer. I was assured that this was an executive room - apparently the classic rooms are smaller. The heat hit us when we opened the door as there was no air con. It was a reasonably sized room - with sofa, television (not flat screen) and plenty of wardrobe/cupboard space. The bathroom was ok - good shower. The sofa cover looked a bit 'tired' and could have done with a clean. It was fine - but not worth £180 a night.

We actually had a very nice time as the weather was great and the location of the hotel is good. The the grounds are lovely with a nice view of the estuary from the bottom of the garden. However at £180 a night it is hugely overpriced and I would urge anyone going there to seek out a special deal. My main gripe, apart from the price, was that I didn't feel that I was staying in a hotel - more like a holiday camp (but a nice one). We only went into the lovely main building to check in and out. We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant (ie the one with the dress code) as it also looked over priced (£16.50 for fish, chips and peas). Instead we ate in the brasserie - which was also where the breakfasts were served. The food was reasonably priced and quite good, but if you want to have an intimate romantic meal, then this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boredinwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationsEC, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Thank you for your comments left on Trip Advisor, I am sorry to hear that you felt that on this occasion we were not as good value for money as you expected. Our rates do vary depending on seasonality and we also have different offers available on our hotel website, which are extremely good value for money, maybe you would find these offers better suited to your requirements.

We have made every effort to make it very clear in all our publicity material and on the website that our hotel rooms are in the courtyard area adjacent to the Manor House, so we are sorry that you missed this information. The Hotel is part of a resort and we make no secret of that, this gives Elmers Court a unique feel that is suitable for Families and Couples a like.

Our two restaurants the Sails Bar and the Fine Dinning Restaurant the Waterford offer a wide selection of food, normally giving something for everyone, and we are sorry that you felt the prices were too high. A lot of research has gone into our pricing and we feel that we are very reasonable in relation to other restaurants of a similar standard in the locality.

As you say the Sails bar is ideal for a relaxed meal in a light and airy location, where the Waterford is our fine dinning restaurant and offers top quality food with an atmosphere to match.

We do hope that you will return to us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed at Elmers Court for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful, after ringing for fresh milk and ice they arrived almost as soon as the phone was put down.

The grounds and facilities are firrst rate. We ate breakfast and one evening meal in Sails Bistro with no complaints, we would have liked to have had meal in the Waterloo Restaurant but felt it too pricey, mains at £20 ish with vegetables charged extra!

We decided to upgrade to a Superior Room and with this came a 'kitchen' area with fridge which was useful as the weather was hot and sunny, we also enjoyed the added extra of the ducks coming to visit each day!

Our only gripe was the beds - my sister and husband who we travelled with also agreed that they were much too hard and as my brother-in-law is in the 'bed business' knows is stuff. This spoiled our holiday a little but apart from this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerrysStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationsEC, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Thank you for your feedback, it was so nice to read how our staff got it right in so quickly responding to your request for Milk & Ice. The Waterford restaurant is a fine dinning experience and customers are not only paying for the top quality food that we serve there, but also the stunning views from the Restaurant down the Queen Mary lawn to the Solent at the end, and the atmosphere, being one of sophisticated elegance.
Beds are always a difficult area, and what is comfortable for one, is not for another, we hope that it didn’t spoil your stay too much, however we will forward your comments to our executive team in view of further room refurbishment.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

What a wonderful relaxing hotel, with truly excellent food in the Waterford Restaurant.
The chef has truly aimed for great heights and achieves them all in this perfect setting- a real 'masterchef experience'
Superb staff, facilities and all round excellence.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PublicRelationsEC, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
Thank you for this positive response left on Trip Advisor, comments such as yours are always a great source of moral boosting, and your comments have been passed to the Head chef, who in turn will communicate to the rest of his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future...don’t forget the Waterford Restaurant is open to Non-residents as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing