We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylelish, comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylelish, comfortable, friendly”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights on business, but will definitely return. The main house is old and historic. The facilities are the main attraction. There is an outdoor pool with golf, tennis etc. There is an indoor pool with spa treatments, sauna, steam. jacuzzi.
The breakfast was outstanding. There was so much choice and all freshly cooked and prepared. The room was spacious - clean and comfortable. The staff were low profile, but there when you needed them and always willing.
With all the beauty of the New Forest and the coast on the doorstep, Elmers Court is decidedly on my "must go back" list.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakegarda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback on Trip Advisor, our team is always delighted to receive this type of feedback as it raises the spirit across the entire hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    472
    265
    140
    68
See reviews for
425
721
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The drive up to the hotel looks just like the web-site - until you turn left into the car park and see the horrible modern building which is the Sails restaurante and pool/spa complex. It was pouring with rain and we were glad to get into the reception, only to be given a map with our accommodation marked on it, and find we had to walk around the building in the rain to find our "holiday chalet" style room. It was very clean and tidy, but just not the lovely experience we were expecting. It was dreadful to have to walk in the rain to breakfast in the Sails bar/bistro, especially when we found the service there not to be particularly efficient. We thought the over-priced rate we were charged was going to get us a romantic weekend in a classic country manor hotel, but instead it was just a very disappointing 2 days, completely lacking in atmospere. We would certainly NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor. . Regarding your accommodation our website and printed materials clearly state the fact that our bedrooms are situated in their own courtyard minute walk from the Manor House, this is also reiterated during reservation process. Although our establishment did not meet your expectations we sincerely hope that this will not deter you from using other Macdonald establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Having arrived from Spain we were expecting a relaxing hotel experience.Booking in was not what you expected.Informing us three rooms had been booked not two.The attitude was we had made the mistake.It transpired that it was your clerical error.No apology. Spoke to three different people on reception over two days,Not a good start. Finest eating in main restaurant. I donot think so.Menu poor,(Not enough choice) portions small (came away still hungry) Service very poor. After being asked to book a table at a specific time was left waiting one hour on two occasions.It would not have been so bad if the restaurant was busy, but when you are dealing with less than twenty covers then something is wrong. Our room was a little tired(19). Expected to be staying in hotel not in a motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your stay at the Elmers Court, we were sorry to read that your stay was not satisfactory. Your comments have been passed to our Head Chef and Operations Manager and remedial action has been carried out with an improved menu which is proving to be very successful. We have passed on your comments regarding the accommodation to the Macdonald Senior Executive team in view of future refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Restaurant booking system is the pants,request dinner for 7 30 told not available but can have 7.15 or 7.45 arrive at table 8.15 .
Menu very basic atmosphere grim. accomodation clean and good however when booking we thought we would be staying in a hotel but this is a time share complex
The facilities and grounds are excellent.
Would we stay again NO.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, we were sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, we have discussed at length your comments regarding your dining experience with our Operations Manager and remedial action has taken place to avoid further guests disappointment. Regarding your accommodation our website and printed materials clearly state the fact that our bedrooms are situated in their own courtyard a minutes walk from the Manor House, this is also reiterated during reservation process. Although our establishment did not meet your expectations we sincerely hope that this will not deter you from using other Macdonald establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

When we booked in the reception was friendly and staff were generally friendly throughout our stay. We stayed for five nights. The room was very pleasant with views of the gardens. Only problems were a very noisy bathroom ventilator and a wash basin plug that wouldn't hold water. Both were reported the day we arrived and mentioned at least twice afterwards but not repaired in the five days.
We booked to dine in the Restaurant at 8.00pm on the day we arrived. Excuses were made, though there weren't very many people in the restaurant. We eventually got into the restaurant about 8.35pm.
Firstly, it was disappointing to learn that the DBB rate was set so that it did not encompass a good selection of the dishes available.
Secondly, the portions that were served were the smallest that I have had in any Macdonalds Hotel that I have stayed at. The whole thing could have been served on a tea plate with plenty of room to spare.
Thirdly, there was a very limited selection of side orders (3), all of which were ridiculously expensive and very small.
Fourthly, neither the main course fish nor the accompanying vegetables ( 3 very very small boiled potatoes, 3 very, very small tomotoes and a tablespoonful of leek) were well presented or appetising. The leek particularly was soggy, tasteless, dull and uninteresting. My side order of saute potatoes was small and not properly cooked.
I have to say that this restaurant could learn a lot from Macdonalds Linden Hall or Ansty Hall, where I have stayed recently.
For the subsequent 4 nights meals were taken in the Sails Brasserie. Whilst this was less formal dining, the food tasted good and gave better value for money and the staff seemed more interested in you enjoying the meal.
Breakfasts in the Sails Brasserie were very good.
All in all I would say that the hotel was good but I wouldn't recommend eating in the 'so called' fine dining Restaurant.
The restaurant provided very poor quality and very expensive fine dining.
The Sails Brasserie provided very good pub grub.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaspianEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, I am sorry to hear that your maintenance requests where not dealt with during your stay. I have discussed your comments with our Property Manager and reception team and they have put in place an action plan to avoid any recurrence. As for your experience in the Waterford restaurant, we strive to very high standards with both our food and service in the Waterford, and have received many very positive responses in the past, however your feedback has been taken onboard by our Head chef and he has retrained his team and will ensure that portions size meet guests expectations.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your food in the Sails Brasserie, and that apart from the few maintenance issues you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire Wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Having stayed at several McDonald Hotels this we were happy to recommend the chain to our holiday group. The eight of us picked on Elmer’s Court for a three night break.. It was not under any offer or deal. We did however use our Tesco Vouchers in part for the payment. Nevertheless not a cheap location.

Our rooms were not ready when we arrived. This was not a problem as we decided to have lunch in the Sails Grill. Unfortunately this was not a good start to the break. We ordered from the snack menu. Baguettes and the like. As our food was been plated (part of the kitchen is on display) we witnessed one of the baguettes fall to the floor. This was picked up by the chef and re-plated! The waiter brought the food to the table and was about to serve we told him of the incident. He said the food did not touch the floor as it was caught in mid air. Maybe by the hand of god? After a bit of fuss the meal was replaced.

We booked dinner on the first night as a trial. If the food was good we would continue to eat in the Waterford restaurant. In fairness the food was good including breakfast in the Sails Grill. On our final evening we booked the Waterford again. We were told that they had a party of 17 booked at 7.00pm, so could we make our reservation for 8.00pm. Which we did. What a mistake. When we arrived at our table we were informed that the party of 17 had arrived late and there would be a wait.
Yes indeed there was a wait of 1hr 30min to get our main course. There was a disagreement with the waiter over a complimentary bottle of wine which is another story. I am waiting for a second hip replacement so by this time was in a degree of discomfort and decided to leave before my main course also some anger. Thought it better to leave. We did ask the waiter if we could see the Manager. Only to be told he was in Wales and could not be contacted! There seems to be a distinct lack of staff throughout the establishment.

The rooms are of a chalet style with the grounds. They are spacious and cleanliness was not a problem. We were lucky with the weather. However if the weather is bad the long open air walk to the restaurant could well be a problem. Overall we were disappointed with the Elmer’s Court and will not be returning. I hope this will not put us off of using the chain in the future.
Oh one last think Internet connection is a joke!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capt_moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, I was sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Your comments have been passed to our Head Chef & Operations Manager and they have implemented an action plan to ensure of no recurrence of these issues. We have informed our IT department of your connectivity issues and we will get an engineer to check signal strength. I can assure you that this were only isolated incidents and We hope that you will not only continue to use the Macdonald Chain, but indeed, maybe visit us again, to allow us to demonstrate to you the high standards we are renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I have stayed in numerous Macdonald Hotels and have always had a wonderful time... we were very disappointed with our latest weekend break at Elmers Court Hotel.

The accommodation is in holiday camp style studio flats. I was disappointed when we arrived at our dated room, with en suite bathroom and open plan kitchen. Horrified at the thought of laying in bed directly facing the kitchen sink and humming fridge I telephoned reception and requested another room. We were reluctantly "upgraded" to their only "refurbished" room which was with modern decor unlike the past room. I haven't stayed at a hotel with just TV channels 1-4 in years!

The Brasserie, where breakfast is served was adequate but not as welcoming as other Macdonald hotels that we have visited - usually their breakfasts are something we look forward to.

The pool was a bit grotty, Jacuzzi was freezing and my spa treatment was also cut short like another reviewer has mentioned. All in all, for the price it was just about OK but wouldn't go back or have booked had I realised how tired the place was. The manor house pictured on their website and brochure houses their timeshares... hotel accommodation is actually in chalets. Felt like being at butlins somewhat. Staff were lovely but a little amateur.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmersCourt, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on the Trip Advisor website, we do value all the feedback we receive as this helps us to up hold the high standards we strive to achieve. The executive rooms do benefit from the use of a small kitchenette with work surface fridge, and sink, and most of our guests view this as a plus. The hotel is in a rolling programme of refurbishment, and we are working towards having all 42 rooms renovated, however a high standard of cleanliness and maintenance is up held in all rooms and though slightly dated they are well maintained.

Breakfast is held in the Brasserie a lovely light and airy location, and many of our guests do comment on how relaxed and spacious the room feels. We were sorry to hear that you did not find it too your liking.

The swimming pool and facilities are cleaned on a daily basis, and again we attain to high standards and full Health & Safety procedures, which are regularly, tested both internally and externally. The Spa pool is fed from the same water as the pool, and is not a Jacuzzi, which has its own water source and so can have an increased temperature.

I have asked our Senior Therapist to look into why the treatment was cut short, and can only apologise for this.

We are always very clear on our websites and published materials that the Hotel rooms are in the courtyard area adjacent to the Manor House and many people find this to be a real positive benefit.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
416 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,538 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing