We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but let down by poor Customer Service and Fire Safety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but let down by poor Customer Service and Fire Safety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night prior to going on a cruise from Southampton and booked it on the strength of reviews posted by guests who had previously stayed there. We arrived on a cold, wet and windy evening and was greeted by a pleasent receptionist who asked if we had stayed there in the past which we hadn't and so were given a map of how to find our accomodation - this proved to be quite difficult as I later found that the map was incorrect in showing the building layouts - not a good start when you have driven a long way in the rain and dark.
When we eventually found our accomodation it was in a detached building and was quite spacious, warm and clean although the first thing that I noted was that the chairs were pushed up against electric convector heaters which is quite a serious fire risk. The other thing that I noted was that the automatic fire detectors were incorrectly positioned at the edge of the ceilings which can give a very delayed response.
We went to the Sails Restaurant and had the early bird Menu and some drinks and then went over to the main building for a drink and I noted that here one of the "fire doors" was held open with a door stop although there was a notice indicating Fire Door - Keep Shut.
When I came to pay the next day I found that instead of being charged the set early bird price I had been charged individually for all of the items which was quite a lot more expensive. After having got the receptionist to rectify this I left a Guest Comment Card identifying the problems and fire safety issues that I had noted but unfortunately I did not receive the courtesy of a reply

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fireman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, I am sorry to hear that the Map you were given the wrong map of the Resort, we have disposed of these and have retrained our team to provide the newer version which should have been issued to you at the time of your stay. Thank you for bringing your observation regarding fire safety to our attention, Fire Safety is taken very seriously by our company, and all rooms are regularly audited by our local fire officer and our designated external Health & Safety auditors, so any issues would have been notified to us and corrected. In the meantime we have retrained our House Keeping team in order to avoid any recurrence of this issue.
I am sorry to hear that your bill was incorrect, however I was pleased to hear that our receptionist corrected this matter for you. Although Guests comment cards are always responded to, replies could always experienced some delays, according to our records we have replied to your comment card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    465
    258
    137
    65
See reviews for
419
708
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

just returned from a 2 night stay at Elmers Court Hotel. The Executive room we had was clean and spacious with an open kitchenette area. However the room was very very cold and the small electric heater on the wall was just not powerful enough. Luckily there were plenty of blankets that we could pile up on the bed! The bathroom only had a small heated towel rail that gave out no heat. Was kept awake at night with the buzzing and clicking noises from the fridge. The chalet style of accommodation makes it feel like a holiday camp. This is fine in the summer but walking out in the freezing cold to get to breakfast was not particularly pleasant - just as well the breakfast food was very good. Very over priced for what they offer and is better suited to families in the summer time. Didn't eat in the hotel but had a fanastic meal at Rivaaz Indian in Lymington High Street and would highly recommend a restaurant just off the top of High Steet called Lanes which has been converted from an old church hall.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine_oneill57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Thank you for your feed back left on Trip Advisor, we have been experiencing extreme weather over the last few weeks and we are sorry to hear that you found the room heating was inadequate. We have a number of portable heaters which can be provided on demand, however your comments have been passed to our head office for considerations in view of future refurbishment.

We were pleased to read your positive comments regarding our Breakfast and have passed them on to our Food & Beverage team. We do hope that this has not deterred you from visiting our establishment in the future and we look forward to Welcome you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

On a miserable November evening the long trip from car park to reception and then on to open air courtyard was a poor introduction, the room, when I reached it and after struggling with the lock, was large and well furnished with small connecting bedroom/study with bunk beds - ideal for family with young children. Very large garden leading down to Lymington River, games room, spa and swimming pool. Main restaurant not in use but "Sails" brasserie perfectly adequate, if not outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the trip advisor website, we are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Elmers Court in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

I was staying at the Hotel on my own the staff could not have been more helpful. They could not do enough to help and made a point of welcoming me by my name which makes you feel that they have made an extra effort. The hotel is well located for Southampton and Isle of Wight was great. Lymington has a great range of shops for such a small town. I would also strongly recommend the onsite Bistro called Sails plus the more formal restaurant The Waterford where the food is fantastic - congrats to the chef!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Room was very comfortable with small kitchen area and breakfast bar. Dinner and breakfast in Sails restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice. Lovely well maintained grounds with view over Solent to the Isle of Wight. Great base for exploring New Forest

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tishy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website, we were delighted to receive such positive comments which have a great impact on staff morale and motivate our team to excel our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We have stayed at a Macdonald hotel before and were happy to try the Elmers, expecting that this would be of a similar standard. However, we were very disappointed with the standard of the rooms and the 'holiday village' feel to this resort.

The hotel itself is lovely and has a grand feel to it, however, this does not continue through to the chalet/apartment type accommodation at the back of the hotel. Although the resort is in a good location, the vast majority of the rooms overlook each other or the other buildings. Also, the facilities were of a poor standard and the whole resort would benefit from an upgrade (which the staff admitted to when we cancelled our booking).

We booked for 4 nights and left after the first, as we did not want to waste anymore time or money at an overpriced hotel that did not deliver (£200 per night). We did check the reviews on this hotel before booking, and took the good with the bad, as we have stayed at other hotels before with a mixture of ratings and had a really good experience. However, the gamble did not pay off this time and we were left very disappointed with our brief stay and the wasted 5 hour journey that we took to get there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolly_holidays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the Trip Advisor website. Regarding your accommodation our website and printed materials clearly state the fact that our bedrooms are situated in their own courtyard minute walk from the Manor House, this is also reiterated during reservation process. Although our establishment did not meet your expectations we sincerely hope that this will not deter you from using other Macdonald establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Staff extremely helpful and friendly.Food very good and nicely presented.Lovely situation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisfailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback left on the trip advisor website, this has been forwarded on to the entire team, we can assure you that your praise gave them a tremendous boost. Macdonald Hotels works hard to ensure that staff are well rewarded for their hard work and dedication; this has a huge impact on maintaining employee retention. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel & Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing