We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Waggon and Horses - CLOSED

Waggon and Horses
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Well you've finally found that pub where Jimi Hendrix jammed before he did the IOW festival. It's changed a bit since then! It's now rather smart. Sort of coastal shabby chic, but it works. It's had a makeover recently and it's now gone "all foodie".  Between heathland and waterside, and en-route for Lymington Pier ferry terminal, The Waggon & Horses has become a well-established New Forest favourite. With Wadworth accredited beer, decent wine and a rather fab local chef, producing very Tom Kerridge-esque dishes, it's definitely a destination venue these days. Don't panic, there is still fish & chips, but it's a bit more up market than the usual. Not scary prices either, just good locally sourced Hampshire products with a little twist. The ambience is nothing short of laid-back but with damn fine food and service.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I went with my wife and two friends midweek and it was quiet , the welcome was lovely and treated very well all night with good explanations of the food on offer.
The food was only ok the mussels were only warm, and my liver was not as good as calves liver should be , being a bit chewy sadly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    43
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meals”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We ate here on our last night of our break to Lymington and we were not disappointed, the menu looked great and the food was even better with the staff a credit to the pub especially the young lady who explained to my wife what the Hake was like!! Would definately visit again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't expect your fish to be fresh”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I visited with a couple of other people and decided to be brave and go for the fish platter. This consisted of: bread, a salad, deep fried white fish (I've had better quality frozen fish from Asda), a small prawn salad (2nd salad on 1 plate, how many does a person need?!) and some tiny shelled prawns that were so small they weren't worth the hassle of removing the shells. This plus some Mackerel pate for the princely sum of £15. You can put lots of different food on a fancy wood block but it doesn't magically make it taste any good. Lots of food, quality nil. I dislike Wetherspoons but you'll likely get a better meal for quite a bit less money.

The service was very good and friendly but the bottom line when going to eat somewhere is the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average pub”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Decor looked great, menu read well and that's where it started to go wrong. It was slow, it was small and it wasn't as good as the description, for what it was and how much we got on the plate it was expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pub grub.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We went to the Waggon last night and had a delicious dinner. Fresh crab was first class and delicious smoked mackerel pâté. Husband's duck confit very generous and to top it all very good cold, pale rose to drink. Definitely will be back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belles71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waggon and Horses also viewed

 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing