We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday 29th.June Mini Charity Day in Lymington”

Boathouse Cafe Lymignton
Ranked #92 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday 29th.June Mini Charity Day in Lymington”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We attended the above Mini show and wandered down to the Quay for a bite to eat.On seeing the location of the Boathouse Café we popped in to order some food at the counter. After 15 minutes waiting during which the staff totally ignored us, we asked to be served and didn't even get a reply so left the premises which were actually empty. Perhaps everyone else had already walked out! There was nobody in charge just 3 youngsters running the place! We went elsewhere and had some lovely crab sandwiches.As we walked around the quay we spotted the owner in a dirty black apron having a cigarette paying little attention to the Café. He did in fact talk to a lady with a Mini t shirt on and left with her to look at the cars! This was about 1o'clock surely not the time to abandon your café. We would never go there again whilst in his ownership.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john n, Owner at Boathouse Cafe Lymignton, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Pointless review !! Nobody has ever waited for 15 minutes without being served !! Unhelpfull review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    23
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location - the only plus point ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in here for lunch will not return. It's clear this place is trading on the location which is a shame. Previous diners had abandoned their meal and it was clear to see why when our order arrived. Coffee was tasteless. No cranberry to make up the classic bacon, brie and cranberry combo in one panini and when asked to leave out pesto in the other neglected to do this also. Will not return.

Helpful?
9 Thank 336miket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john n, Owner at Boathouse Cafe Lymignton, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
If I ever eat out and it is not as expected I always make a point of telling whoever is in charge, perhaps you should try the same.We have hundreds or happy customers who return regularly.Sorry !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for a fresh sandwich and a drink”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Friendly staff and great freshly made good value rolls, sandwiches, cakes and drinks

Eat in or take away

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

No homemade cakes etc. feels unwelcoming, sweets overpriced. Coffee not very good. Nice view. Could be so much better....disappointing

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Out to lunch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch on the hoof”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch before our parking ticket expired. We had 20mins!

We ordered a ham/ and ham and cheese baggette. The food came out very quickly. It was made with very fresh salad (pretty amazing as we never find this in cafes these days) And the tea came out in a cup with a tea bag and I have to say it really was a splendid cuppa. We also ordered 2 packets of tomatoe flavoured crisps and these were a delight. Total cost £15 a little expensive but great tasting food in fresh bread.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boathouse Cafe Lymignton also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Boathouse Cafe Lymignton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing