We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing find, wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FredFez
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing find, wonderful place”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Discovered this wonderful place close to Beaulieu and Lymington in the heart of the New Forest. This B&B also provides limited self-catering facilities, which is great if you fancy a quick snack after a busy day exploring the area. The accommodation itself is separate to the main house and finished to a very high standard, the bed was particularly comfortable.

We received a very warm welcome from Vanessa, George and family, including Alfie the dog, who made us feel like old friends and we'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you both again later in the year. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spencerik...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A simply wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The owner (Vanessa) was very friendly and gave us very helpful direction to Defoe House prior to our arrival. When we arrived Vanessa also answered any questions we had regarding local places to visit. Vanessa advised us to visit the local market and we were glad she did as it was very pleasant.

We found Defoe House clean, tidy and very welcoming (there was even Christmas cake waiting for us when we arrived).

Defoe House is a very pretty cottage in an amazing location. Although very modern it had a lovely homely feel about it.

The breakfast was just what we wanted and the fresh bread everyday not only smelt amazing but tasted amazing too.

The amenities were great, including wifi and there was useful info (maps, leaflets etc).

We would definitely return for another visit and recommend to anybody looking for a pretty cottage in the middle of the New Forest to book with Vanessa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review and lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Lymington Market. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnowlesD2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had lovely couple of nights at Defoe House. It is absolutely perfect for a couple wanting to have a few nights together. The location is great; it's inside the forest with plenty of walks nearby, but quite close to the coast too. The property is nicely decorated and immaculately kept. The main room is nice and spacious and equipped with everything you would hope to find. The kitchen is modest, and best used for making cups of tea rather than cooking meals, but there are plenty of excellent pubs nearby to dine in. The owner, Vanessa, was extremely helpful and provided us with plenty of suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Her cooked breakfasts are superb. I would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHatt
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend retreat.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend break with our 7 year old and 3 year old and had a wonderful stay. We arrived late afternoon to find fairy lights lighting up a bay tree at the entrance and homemade lemon drizzle cake in the kitchen. Vanessa was a wonderful and generous host, having filled the fridge with milk, orange juice, butter, homemade bread and jam. Vanessa provided a cooked breakfast which was delicious and it really suited us having independence away from the main house but with the convenience of having advice on hand.
The bedroom/living room is open plan with a small kitchenette and bathroom but bigger than a regular B&B bedroom. There was a tv/dvd player and a box under the bed containing a wooden train track which entertained the kids (and husband!) for ages.
The setting is perfect, quiet corner of the forest with walks on your doorstep and lovely little villages dotted all around.
We will certainly be back - the children didn't want to leave! Having ponies and donkeys roaming around was an added bonus for the children.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
373ladybu...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Forest Haven”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Defoe House B & B for a quiet weekend away and could not have asked for more. The cottage is cute and cosy in a quiet village with walks on the doorste and great pubs just a few miles drive away. The apartment has a studio style bedroom/lounge with seperate kitchenette and bathroom. Vanessa and her family (including Alfie the dog) made us feel very welcome without being overbearing. We would definately recommend a stay and will definately look to stay again. Many thanks x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location and great hosts
Liked least: there was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy H
Cobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful weekend in the New Forest”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a most enjoyable weekend staying at this delightful B and B. The room, with the wonderful little kitchen adjacent, was really comfortable. Vanessa was a great hostess and we were treated to some delicious apple cake on our arrival which was an unexpected bonus! The accommodation is separate from the main house set in a pretty garden tucked away in the Forest. We went on long walks and ate excellent pub grub in a great little pub recommended to us by Vanessa. I look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review and really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening in our local pub. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueA1548
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay in the middle of the New Forest.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

One bedroomed seperate accommadation with own kitchen and bathroom. Beautifully done with lots of extra touches. Vanessa brings across your wonderful breakfast in the morning with a smile and a chat about the area. She is a wonderful host and nothing is too much for her. She knows the area well and pointed us in the direction of some wonderful walks. She even bought us over some homemade cake she had just made one afternoon, lovely. Wonderful place to stay in a small village central to all areas of the New Forset.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing