We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing, beautiful location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rebecca A
1 review
“Very relaxing, beautiful location...”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Vanessa was such a welcoming host! We felt right at home from the minute we arrived. The fridge was stocked beautifully so that we could have a lie-in in the morning. Great location, lovely walks to be had straight from the accomodation....great pubs within walking distance. Overall, really recommend Vanessa's annexe!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you for your review and really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the option of stocking up your fridge with homemade bread, jams, bagels, smoked salmon, fresh coffee and juice etc, so you were totally independent during your stay with us.
Look forward to meeting you both again, Best Wishes, Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londontra...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Thank you to Vanessa, this little cottage was a great base for us for our recent new forest break. Warm and cosy, small comforts that made it feel like you really had arrived at a friends home! The home cooked breakfast perfectly cooked and hand delivered was a luxury and the cake waiting for us on arrival. We have kids aged 7 and 9 and spent a day at the moors valley country park- would definitely recommend for a full day out - walks, adventure playground, cycling hire, go ape junior and more.
We will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for your very kind review. Lovely to have met the four of you and that you enjoyed a little of what's on offer around here locally.
looking forward to meeting you all again in the summer! Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P
1 review
“A Lovely stay in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I traveled down to the cottage with my girlfriend for our valentines / anniversary weekend. We were greeted by George and Vanessa who very kindly supplied a bottle of wine for the occasion and offered us tea / coffee which was bought over from the main house.

An excellent stay only a short drive away from many walks and Lymington market which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your celebratory weekend with us. Lovely to have met you both, Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just lovely x”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for two nights and couldn't have been more pleased with the quality of the accommodation, hospitality of Vanessa, the wonderful breakfast or the location of this lovely cottage. Highly recommended, thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review. Lovely to have met you both and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Timeless Classic”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are seeking a family run, friendly plce for you and your family, no bigger than three or four in a party, want an element of privacy and seclusion teamed with home comforts, then this is the place for you. The setting in the heart of the new forest could not be better, cycling and walking trails are in abundance. On top of the superb location, the accommodation is excellent, clean, warm and very welcoming , with a perfect kitchen and bathroom for good measure . You really can't fault Vanessa's welcome or the comfort of the property she has lovingly built,, the walks which you will have to take my word for are amazing, and much needed after her amazing full English to set you up for the day ahead, it's our second visit to Dafoe House, and we look forward to coming back in the spring .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your time in writing another review. Lovely to have met you all again and well done in walking so many miles that weekend!
Looking forward to seeing you all next year.
Best Wishes Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy H
Cobham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully secluded and delightful accommodation”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one night in this gem of a place. We were warmly greeted by Vanessa and George (and of course their delightful dog Alfie!) with some delicious lemon cake. The accommodation is separate from the house and with all amenities. The bed was really comfortable, the room was warm and cosy and with lots of space including a sofa, large wardrobe, table and chairs as well as a separate kitchenette. It is superbly located in the New Forest with some excellent pubs within walking distance. We will definitely return for another weekend break here. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Lovely to have met you both on your minibreak to the New Forest. Thank you for your kind review, Best Wishes Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryTatlo...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful and just the job!”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having booked directly, we have not long returned from a 2 night stay at this gem of a property tucked away in the heart of the New Forest. We were in the area for a family funeral in Bournemouth but wanted a base nearby to unwind for a couple of days afterwards whilst near such a beautiful corner of the country. Detached enough from the main house to give us the privacy required, but near enough to benefit from the convenience of a delicious home cooked breakfast each morning and first hand knowledge of the area from Vanessa and her husband George. We found the property to be spotlessly clean, with all the modern conveniences, but with the charm you'd expect from a cottage. The bed was one of the most comfy we've slept in and there were plenty of pillows and extra bedding available if required.
Oh, and did I mention the scrumptious freshly baked lemon drizzle cake that greeted us on our arrival?
Thank you Vanessa for a perfect retreat and thank you to other trip advisor viewers that gave us the confidence to book!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you for spending the time to write a review.
Very glad to hear that you had a lovely time with us, despite the reason why you were visiting.
Hopefully will see you both again in the future.
Best Wishes Vanessa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing