We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy”

The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #52 of 119 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family friendly pub and restaurant based in Lymington in the New Forest. Serving a wide range of meals including breakfasts, steaks, fish & chips with a full menu available from 8am until 11pm. We also have a lovely, dog friendly outside garden dining area.
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very busy”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A very busy first week since opening, and its been crowded on both occasions I've visited. The Bar and layout of the tills reminds me of an American fast food establishment. There's a wide range of beers. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, which is what you get when they have young Management in such places. This is very much a chain pub, and I think you will find better quality food within independent pubs in the town. I would have expected a better cut of beef than Silverside for the Sunday roast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for visiting us and posting feedback. We have been busy since opening and I'm glad you liked the layout and decoration of the building.
While appreciating we are a Wetherspoon pub we strive to offer the customers of Lymington something individual and tailored to the town. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    117
    60
    53
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Early days,staff headless chickens!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Seating limited,people ready to pounce for a seat,open kitchen which is good to see what's going on but the manager stood there over seeing everything,he was quite loud and when your trying to enjoy your lunch it was annoying,no one seemed to know what they had to do,even the manager.girl at bar was rude.food was overpriced,obviously because your in lymington! Chips greasy and small portion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UkDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Apologies that our staff did not meet your expectaions. We welcome feedback, good and bad and will strive to be better next time. I have discussed the issues you have raised at our recent staff meeting and we endevour to learn from our mistakes.
Kind regards,
Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to have an easy and cheap bar/resturant in Lymington”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Cheap drinks, cheap food and watch out for the daily specials . Where else can you get ham egg and chips and a pint for 4 quid. Only negative so far is the chips never seem to be hot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Phillip P,

Thanks for the review, I'm pleased that you are happy with your visit to The Six Bells.

We are currently amending our cooking procedures which should eliminate the issues of chip temperatures.

Many thanks,

Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

this pub is pleasant enough inside, this however is about all the good i can say. bad food and very slow service at the bar. maybe in time this place will improve but right now the staff are all new and it shows!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thetripper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear thetripper01,

Thanks for your review. As you not the first customer to comment on the inexperienced staff.

We took time and effort before opening to ensure staff were comprehensively trained. I acknowledge however that your comments and others suggest that there is still some way to go.

I would like to reassure you that measures will be taken to improve service in these areas and continue to build confidence and knowledge in the staff,

Kind regards,

Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DON'T BOTHER!!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Been here a couple of times now, and won't be going back!! Both times the atmosphere is terrible (full of loud kids 18/19yo) food is very poor even for the price you pay. Staff very inexperienced and clueless. When you do complain you are made to feel like its your fault!! There are lots of places to eat and drink in Lymington that are 100% better than here. If you do decide to go here prepare to be extreamly dissapointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Rory0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan J, Manager at The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Rory0111,

I'm sorry your experience with us did not meet your expectations. You are correct that the staff are inexperienced but they have been trained comprehensively before opening.

It sounds as if you had a poor experience regarding being made to feel as if you were at fault after complaining. I would like to assure you that we are always striving to improve our service and have taken on board your comments.

Kind regards,

Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Six Bells - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing