We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bistro place with excellent food & atmosphere”
Review of Ciao Belli

Ciao Belli
Ranked #17 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little bistro place with excellent food & atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I had lunch here with a friend yesterday. Neither of us are easy to please because we eat out a lot & are fairly good cooks at home. However, we both found this chic little bistro to be wonderful. The food was delicious. We both are warm goats cheese salads. Could have done with a bit more of the focaccia which tasted fabulous! I'm a black coffee drinker & very fussy & believe me, this coffee is VERY good. Overall a great experience which is why I booked to take my hubby there tomorrow evening. Bring picky, the food was a bit slow to arrive but we weren't in a rush so it didnt matter :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldMoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    28
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A little piece of Italy in Lymington.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We have had the most fabulous Italian dinner here this evening! We went with our daughter to a special dinner where we shared two large tables with now new friends. So Italian, it's just what us British need sometimes, sitting with strangers and then all enjoying new company, well done for bringing us together!
Ciao Belli have been open for a while during the day serving lovely light lunches and fab coffee but are now open for dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings.
We started with a venison ravioli which was 'perfetto'. Then a slow cooked beef with lovely potatoes. Followed by an apple tart with ice cream that was a beautifully light confection. Coffee to follow and wines throughout which were all great.
The food and wine, company, staff and chef a huge delight and a real treat to find on 'nearly' Lymington high street.
There are Italian conversation classes on Tuesday mornings here, where better to learn than in this atmosphere of Italy in Lymington?!
Many thanks, we'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LindyLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch !”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Found this place by accident and was delighted to discover great coffee ,great wine ,great pasta ,great everything ,we will return !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkSmith997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing! That's all there is to say!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ate here with friends and the quality of the food blew us all away. Incredible!! We did not want to eat in one of the chain restaurants and chose to try Ciao Belli. The hosts were very welcoming and relaxed but so enthusiastic about what they did. I can honestly say it is one of the best meals I have had, the quality and the flavors were to die for. We cannot wait to go back.

The only one minor thing I would change is the lighting. The halogen lights were very very bright and not very relaxing, if softer bulbs or dimmer switches were installed, it would be perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BPRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Wish I drank coffee!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Went to Caio Belli with some friends. Sadly none of us had coffee as I've heard it's very good in here. The tea was leaves in a pot and we had to share small pots which not everyone was happy with. Tea was stewed on arrival altho they did top up with water when empty.
Several of us ordered paninis.... Mine came as a toasted baguette, one got a panini, another got focaccia. Bit hit and miss but all looked and tasted great. Salads and cakes looked good. Nice little place, would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hampshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Belli also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Ciao Belli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing