We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old to the New..”
Review of The Ark - CLOSED

The Ark
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Ark is a new contemporary licensed spacious cafe with a beautiful secluded courtyard offering a central location and extensive parking positioned at the top of Lymington high street (near Marks and Spencer). Children are welcome and free WiFi is available.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old to the New..”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Many locals used the old ark coffee shop for its fresh food and wholesome food, always tasty... The new owners have upgraded it to fusion/bistro food, overall good but prices are slightly high.. Would I go again.... Yes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super find”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a little gem at the top of the High Street. The garden is lovely and the breakfast was fab. Have already returned for a second visit and will be going back again to sample the sushi. Only downside is that they charge extra for decaf coffee and I couldn't lock the loo door. But very clean and great staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real attention to customer service”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Went here on a wet day in Aug to get out if the rain, and unfortunately my daughter ordered wrongly, but staff despite that insisted they changed it for get. Really good welcome as well. Def going back this week

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philsurfboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Platters To Share”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My family and I were looking for a late lunch in Lymington to discover that most restaurants had stopped service at 3pm. We came across The Ark by chance and were given a warm welcome and a choice of lovely platters to share. My children are fussy eaters but woolfed down the BBQ platter and myself and my partner shared an amazing Thai curry platter. We will definitely come back to The Ark next time we are in the area. Great food, great service, great location and very reasonably priced. What a winner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cafe restaurant”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I really enjoyed my meal here at The Ark and have chosen to visit several times now. The service is great with a really can do attitude and the chef is fabulous. I was very pleased with my Maki which was prepared fresh for my order. I think Hannah's review must have related to somewhere else!
Outside the courtyard provides a calm space sitting under the fruit ladened tree. Inside, notice the gold ceiling, great lighting and cool artwork.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thearklymington, Owner at The Ark, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review , The team at The Ark look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ark also viewed

 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Lymington, New Forest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing