We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking the Solent Way 1/8 Milford-on-sea to Lymington”

The Solent Way Walk
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Starting from Milford-on-Sea, this is a two-mile walk alongthe coast, ending at Hurst Castle, an ancient monument open year 'round, with a cafe. A ferry runs from the village of Keyhaven from Easter through summer months.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walking the Solent Way 1/8 Milford-on-sea to Lymington”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We parked in the beach car park at Milford-on-sea. Across the sea there were lovely views of The Needles. We passed the battered beach huts and the eroded sea path. Although the area is fenced off you can still follow close to the path. Not long and we were passing Hurst Castle and then Keyhaven. The path then meanders in and out between marsh land. Finally made it to Lymington in just over 2 hours. We were lucky that it was warm and sunny as the area is quite bracing so take a jacket.
Had lunch in Lymington and then took the bus back to Milford- on- sea. Approx 9 miles.
Flat stoney path

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    55
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
623 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“One of my favourite walks”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great for birdspotting, views of the Solent, comfortable underfood. Can get very windy so be prepared with warmer clothing as necessary. Start at Keyhaven or Lymington, or vice versa. If youre stopping along the way, can take 2 hours each way, but slightly shorter if you take the inland cycle route the other side of the bird scrapes/ponds. On my most recent visit I was lucky enough to see two male Dartford Warblers fighting over a female, and because I started out early, a deer right near Keyhaven harbour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parede, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Invigorating walk”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We walk from Lymington to Milford-on-Sea and it was just wonderful.
The weather was really nice, sunny and not to cold. We saw many animals (a large variety of seabirds, some cows and a rabbit!).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Walk from Milton on sea to lymington”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great walk, very easy and flat. Great views of the needles on the isle of wight. Park down near e sailing club on Milton on the sea otherwise it's a very long walk from the top car parks! Nice cafe at the harbour in lymington for a break

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaynor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful coastal walks”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

There's a PDF guide on the Solent Walk you can download from the internet. We had a look, decided which parts we wanted to see then drove to a couple of spots including Milford on Sea and Lymington and walked the coastal route. The weather was beautiful which definitely helped but still some beautiful areas to discover and enjoy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Solent Way Walk also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Solent Way Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing