We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TACake
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true experience!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We didn't plan to book a weekend on a boat; we were looking for somewhere on the coast near Southampton and we found Y-Knot. What a great experience all round. From the pre-booking, the booking, the speed at which the owners responded to enquiries pre, during and post stay were fantastic. The set up for practical arrival arrangements were very clear and helpful too. The boat itself was great fun. A little bit of luxury beyond what I had expected even after reading the information before booking. The welcome package (we chose the fizz) was a nice touch and the chocolates were divine. A good-sized main bedroom and a spare double, a well-equipped kitchen (probably should say galley), seating area and the outside seating area was great too. We didn't cook a great deal on the boat but it's amazing what you can do with a two ring gas burner, oven and grill, sink and fridge (little ice box for your ice for your gin). We were unlucky with the weather so didn't make much use of the outside seating area but that didn't matter - the boat was very comfortable inside for a relaxing break (TVs too). The shower and toilet on board whilst compact was great (I'm fussy about these things) but my partner said that the shower/toilet block on the marina was great too. Everything on the boat was super clean too. There's a little shop within the marina complex for your essentials, free parking (if you've booked the boat) and the bar restaurant at the Marina has great reviews and seemed really busy (we had other plans but I regret not going). Lymington town was lovely to wander around too with lots of restaurants to try there. A great experience and glad that I'd booked this rather than a little cottage or hotel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of living on a boat for a couple of days!
Liked least: The rain! No-one to blame there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Much appreciated comments! Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisJLS
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury boat accommodation - without the waves!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A 34foot Boat as your floating accommodation in Lymington Marina.
A novel idea with a very high level of quality and nice touches.
Nick was especially caring on check-in and to ensure we were warm and dry when the rain came.
I hope they do well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2014
Thank you for you review- As always much appreciated and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieT811
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A 'safe' haven! So peaceful, just perfect.”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Absolutely perfect! Peaceful setting, excellent service/attention to detail. My compliments to Sarah who has dressed the boat throughout, Melissa, who does the hard work organising the bookings and the goodies you will find! And of course Nick for his customer relations. You make an absolutely brilliant team, Randy and I had a very peaceful few days, which is exactly what we wanted. Only moan is the fishing, we didn't catch any!, but who cares, we had fun. Thank you so much. Must also comment on your excellent safety signs! Being short I don't have a problem but I had a smile every time I looked at the signs
. Well done xxxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Theirs nothing better than knowing our guests have had a wonderful time! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we really are thrilled you had such a lovely stay.
Hopefully see you again!
Melissa, Nick and Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry2014...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent experience, would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great friendly service, Clean & tidy accommodation, makes a nice change from hotels & B&B`s. We will definitely return!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goslett13
1 review
“Awesome alternative accommodation in a great location!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were so impressed with y-knot, from the booking right through to our "staycation" on the boat. The extra touches of the Prosecco and chocolates and lovely towels, to the very friendly chap Nick to welcomed us aboard were very much appreciated. We will be back for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELA571
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Little Getaway”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Booked this boat for a girlie week in August and couldn't have asked for more. The boat and amenities were fantastic. We had a member of the team down each day to check everything was ok and everyone staying nearby was very chatty and helpful. Wouldn't change a thing & I would definitely go back and would also recommend to others. Ideal for a girlie break as lots to do in surrounding area in Lymington.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfy beds
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison566...
London
1 review
“Unique luxury accomodation, beautiful setting, amazing service. new Forest at its' best.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break on Y-knot, having been waved off by the wonderful Nick who was on hand throughout the trip great us and answer any questions we had, I wanted to write a review while the wonderful memories are still fresh.

Service - from out first enquiries and quotes and multiple questions Melissa was so so very helpful and friendly it was a pleasure to arrange the trip. Melissa continued to be a point of contact throughout and nothing was too much trouble. Nick then took over as our right hand man from the moment we arrived, helping us with our luggage (4 girls were very much in need of this) and guided us through the harbour introduction and down to the yacht. Once on board we had a full induction to how everything worked and provided with contact numbers and details of the local area and harbour. I cannot praise the service enough. Well done Melissa and Nick...best and friendliest service in the New Forest!

Accomodation - well the yacht is a yacht. It is therefore compact and not ideal for those who aren't happy to climb around it and snuggle into the small twin room. However, for us, and those wanting a unique break, there really was nothing missing. It was so well equipped and we needed and wanted for nothing. The beds are good and sturdy, pillows and duvets clean and comfy.

Dining area inside is again compact but seats 4 easily.

The deck area, table and seating, is wonderful. We were often up early to watch the sun come up, reading on deck and passing the time with neighbouring yacht owners.

Location- great location to explore the forest. And for those not wishing to go far there is a harbour restaurant/bar which is worth a try and a fe minutes walk takes you to the sea baths with day time activities and the mayflower pub. A little further is the town of lymington and the quay for boat trips and the high street for shopping. All in all a beautiful and well placed location.

Special extras- what Y-Knot gets right, above all else, is the final touches. Plush cushions in all areas, nautical/British theme throughout, champagne free on arrival already awaiting you cooled in the bucket on deck, chocolate chilling in the fridge was also a really lovely surprise.

I could go on and on about this accomodation but simply put...it's ideal for a break away and if you feel you need to actually go out to sea just ask Nick who will arrange everything for you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Its absolutely brilliant when guests have such a great time. Exactly what Y-KNOT is about!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing