We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Angel & Blue Pig
Ranked #18 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a nice couple of nights here but would say if staying on a Friday night ask for a room at the back as likely to be woken early Saturday morning by market stalls setting up. (4.30am!) Didn't bother me as I wake up early anyway and wife would wake up after the dead! Nice room could do with a bit of attention to decor. Very good food and friendly staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If staying on a Friday night ask for a room at the back to avoid noise from market stalls setting up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello Paul A,

Thank you for your feed back, I’m very pleased that both the food and service was to the desired levels and all of us here look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    113
    58
    24
    13
See reviews for
49
202
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great hotel, wonderful location in Lymington High Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely shops, chains and individual, many restaurants, coffee shops, although we didn't eat out as the food in the hotel was excellent, best steak I have ever had at a very reasonable price. Our room was on the top floor (no lifts) which had lovely roof top and sea views across to the Isle of Wight.
The bed was very comfortable as was the room. The staff were extremely polite and always helpful. Lymington has a lot to offer and other interesting places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are lovely although many stairs to climb it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
All off us here at The Angel and Blue pig would like to thank you for your feedback, we all strive to make our customers experience the very we possibly can.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent New Years Eve here and went for the set menu which I must say was very good. Service in restaurant was good and the breakfast was very nice as well. The location is great but I have to agree with some of the other reviews in that it's not a great place to stay if you are a light sleeper as its not double glazed, so you can here just about everything from outside the hotel.

We had the room in the very top corner which was very nice and had a big bathroom, the only little thing that let it down was there were a couple of small spot on the ceiling where the paint was coming away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was in Lymington for my wedding this year. From the get go when I was block booking the hotel back many months before my stay, the staff and especially the manager were very helpful and made my life much easier. Communication and flexibility of booking were both great.
The whole pub has been newly renovated this year and the rooms are just stunning. They bear an old-world atmosphere with a stylish modern twist. Little touches of decoration and fittings are perfect. The only small downside was that our room was road facing and the windows I believe are not double glazed meaning some car / people traffic was audible. Nothing ear plugs couldn't cover up, through.
A continental breakfast with everything you need is included.
The actual pub downstairs is very well decorated, serves locally brewed beer, and the food is as local and organic as possible and very good. Again, the service was friendly and helpful. There are many little nooks and crannies to sit at, and a lovely outside patio area out the back and off of the high street.
There are many B&Bs around the Lymington Town ranging from posh and expensive to bare-bones functional. The Angel and Blue Pig is high up the chain if you want charming, walking distance from the train, smack in the middle of the high street, and comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the upper floors where road noise won't bother you as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BounceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
All off us here at The Angel and Blue pig would like to thank you for your feedback, we all strive to make our customers experience the very we possibly can, comments such as yours allow us to continue to make improvements so next time you visit it will be even better!

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here 3 nights, and found the location handy for Beaulieu. Room was excellent (very comfy, nice fittings and well serviced), but despite the glowing Observer review turned out to be accommodation over a noisy high street pub. The restaurant is quite mediocre, and unfortunately for us spoilt by well-oiled locals enjoying their Christmas knees-ups every night. There didn't seem to be huge choice of restaurants in Lymington itself, so we were a little restricted, and this was by far the most convenient option. Staff were nice, accommodating and friendly. Bar not very roomy, and no quiet corners to retreat into for a quiet drink. In fact, escaping into our room was best. Good luck finding the car park (very handy, once you've located it)! Hint: take SAS-quality night goggles/GPS.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rajith_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The room was comfortable, very clean and had added touches like sweets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant food is fantastic, we would highly recommend their fillet steak. Bar is lovely and cosy. The car park was very easy to find and the check in process was brilliant.

We will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello John,

All off us here at The Angel and Blue pig would like to thank you for your feedback, we all strive to make our customers experience the very we possibly can, receiving positive comments such as yours is very pleasing, the chefs thank you for the comments about the food, we continue to make improvements so next time you visit it will be even better!

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Overall a most enjoyable stay at a hotel whose owners have almost got it right. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night so it was very quiet which was just what we wanted. The hotel and rooms would appear to have been updated recently and the decor of the rooms, both bedroom and bathroom, was very good. A lot of nice little touches, with sweets/cookies and decent coffee in the rooms. Lovely big fire in bar.Entrance to car park was a bit hidden, but access no problem having sought entry code before arrival Those were the good bits. A couple of negatives. Firstly, the 'continental' breakfast which was disappointing even for a continental breakfast. On the first morning we were left with two croissants/a danish pastry and a yoghurt between the two of us. The second morning was worse with only one croissant to share and no orange juice!(and yes we did ask for more but without luck).Some rolls to go with the minimal cheese would have been good. Secondly, bearing in mind it was end of November, the heating could have been turned on before 1630. Especially as it took a good hour to warm up.

Room Tip: Uriel room at the back was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADW2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we have taken note of the negative points raised and we are currently reviewing our breakfast offering.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,557 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#6 of 7 in Lymington
240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,045 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel & Blue Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel & Blue Pig

Property: The Angel & Blue Pig
Address: 108 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of picturesque Lymington, the Angel and Blue Pig dates back to the 13th century when it was a coaching inn. With a homely and welcoming pub atmosphere and featuring 14 newly re-furbished en-suite hotel rooms, "The Angel" is the perfect place to visit. Conveniently situated in the on the coastal boarder of the New Forest National Park,it sits in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the South of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Angel & Blue Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Lymington
The Angel & Blue Pig Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing