We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You won't find better!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albert Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
New Forest stream near Brockenhurst
New Forest resident
Lymington town quay.
Lymington River and marshes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bossydiva
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't find better!!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was our second stay at Albert Cottage, or simply "the garage" as we affectionately call it. It was just as good as the first time. Freshly baked heart shaped brownies for Valentines weekend were awaiting us when we arrived and the garage was just as we remembered. Cute, cosy and welcoming. The minute we settled on the sofa having a cup of tea and a delicious brownie, we asked ourselves why we had left it a whole year before returning.
The temperature can be easily controlled, the wifi is speedy, the bed is super comfy. We really cannot find fault with Albert Cottage.
The breakfast once again was superb!!! Local produce including honey and the most delicious homemade marmalade and berry conserve.
Charlotte is the perfect hostess. She remembered why we had been in the area for our last visit and I found that very thoughtful and exceptional. The whole family are warm and welcoming and we would like to thank them once again for their hospitality.
In short if you are looking for the perfect combination of privacy, comfort and luxury then look no further. You won't find better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stejotazb...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect hide away”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

bigger than it looks in photo`s and now has king size bed. wonderful hosts too. so relaxing, just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet suroundings
Liked least: leaving !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeDee198...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Albert Cottage. I took the other half away for his birthday and what a fantastic choice it was.

Charlotte went out of her way to make our stay wonderful. On arrival she had left chocolate muffins for my boyfriends birthday, which was unexpected but a wonderful gesture. Breakfast was very scrumptious and the accommodation very comfy and cosy.

We shall defiantly be back agin next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jono C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Great get away from London. Situated 5 miles from the forest bike route entance at brockenhurst and 2.5 miles from the sea it is in the perfect location for natural beauty and a little adventure.
The cottage is a delight and the breakfast is superb, Bikes were loaned to us free of charge making the weekend even more enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouLouWhi...
Whitton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Reccomended”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay. Albert Cottage is clean, comfortable and beautifully finished. The hosts are fantastic, so friendly and helpful.
The homemade cookies that we left in the cottage on arrival were yummy!
The breakfast was fantastic!
We walked in to Lymington on the first afternoon and had some drinks by the harbour, we came home via The Wheel Inn at the top of the road, ignore the decor the Thai food is fantastic! We walked back with torches so we could both have a drink.

All in all a really lovely weekend away, we will certainly be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelQLe...
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem- wonderful staycation!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband, toddler and I have just enjoyed an amazing week at Albert Cottage. We received a wonderfully warm welcome from Charlotte, and to be honest, this approach continued throughout our entire stay. This accomodation is the best of both worlds, a beautifully appointed studio in lovely grounds, but with the added bonus of a daily cooked breakfast delivered to the door, perfectly on time!! (locally sourced produce too-delicious!) We enjoyed exploring surrounding areas including Portsmouth, Bournemouth, the New Forest and Peppa Pig World (for our son's second birthday!) there are plenty of great pubs and restaurants in Lymington too for evening meals to suit all budgets. We would love to return to Albert Cottage in the future and take a trip to the Isle of Wight. Book Albert Cottage for your staycation, you will not be disappointed!!! Thank you to Charlotte and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Hitchin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Boutique Comfort”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked Albert Cottage for a week-end away. We wanted close proximity to the Isle of Wight and also wanted comfort. We got both of those and more!! The owner met us upon arrival and made sure we had everything we needed. She had baked us a batch of cookies which were a big hit with my son. She delivered us a beautiful cooked breakfast and when she found out we were going to the ferry terminal at Lymington she offered my son and I a lift there. She couldn't have done more for us, could not have been more helpful. I would recommend Albert Cottage as a lovely relaxing cosy place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming owner, excellent customer service, lovely breakfast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing