We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Albert Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
New Forest stream near Brockenhurst
New Forest resident
Lymington town quay.
Lymington River and marshes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
Southend on Sea,, Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil heaven ”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This perfectly formed homely converted garage is the perfect location for a tranquil stay to relax and destress. The facilities are perfect with everything you need a truly sumptuous bed and bedding.
Charlotte is the perfect host bringing a wonderful delightful breakfast just when you require it. Nothing is too much trouble for her. Located just a pleasant 30 min walk from the town of Lymington it is in an ideal location.
Would definitely like to return here soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather73...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A delightful place to stay, close to the coast, forest and Lymington.
The accommodation had everything we needed and Charlotte provided a great breakfast.
Peaceful and quiet location, perfect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant, brilliant and then again, brilliant”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful hosts, lovely immaculate and cosy accommodation and probably the greatest plus of all; those wonderful breakfasts provided by Charlotte.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the property and the hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessF...
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deceptively Gorgeous”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Walking up the garden of the main house, we saw a nicely kept but ordinary looking garage...and then we entered. What a lovely surprise! The garage has been transformed into the most delightful little lodge....light and bright and airy.

The décor is calm and the furnishings comfortable....all very tasteful. There is a small kitchen area with a fridge and microwave, kettle etc and a table and chairs where Charlotte our lovely hostess served us with the most delicious breakfast every morning.

The whole place is well equipped with a nice squashy sofa and huge television and DVD player plus a comfy double bed with lovely crisp linen. There are electric heaters on the walls (although we didn't need them) and free wi-fi.

The shower room is small but perfectly formed and spotlessly clean with a great shower and a handy heated towel rail.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Albert Cottage. It is set just a little off the beaten track in a very tranquil location but only a few minutes by car from Lymington and the main roads. We found this convenient for the Isle of Wight ferry, the New Forest and the many lovely beaches in the area.

We hope to return one day, if only for some more of Charlotte's scrumptious brownies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katywj
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect a place for a few days away!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a lovely few days in Albert Cottage at the beginning of August. Charlotte is a great host making amazing breakfasts and a lemon drizzle cake that lasted us throughout our stay. The cottage is situated in a great place with the beach and local towns to visit only 20 minutes drive away. We also made the most of the sunny evenings taking the 30 minute walk into Lymington to sit and eat in the harbour. Would certainly recommend this place and I'm sure we will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrliverpo...
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation for our weekend away.”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wow, where do we start!

This cottage is absolutely brilliant. Very well kept and decorated. All the facilities one would need for a few days stay. Charlotte the host was really friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were superb and very tasty using top ingredients, no expense spared. The cottage is located in a very quiet and peaceful part of the forest and within a 10 minute walk of Lymington. Lymington is also a quaint harbour town with plenty of pubs and restaurants and great views in the old part of town by the marina. I'd recommend booking for dinner though as everywhere had a long wait or were fully booked.
Charlotte's homemade chocolate brownies are very tasty and a nice touch. Great with a nice cuppa after all day exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing