We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
312
36
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
312
36
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststrain stationforest suitean excellent hostfirst floornew forestisle of wightcooks a great breakfastguest loungethe main houselovely loungethe ground floorbed and breakfastbreakfast was freshly cookedtown centrehigh streetmoment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was our second visit to Britannia House and once again we had a wonderful break. I really can't recommend Britannia House highly enough. The accomodation is fantastic - even more so since the recent refurbishment and Tobi is a great host, chatting happily about his own family whilst taking a genuine interest in ours. He remembered us from our previous visit last year and if it's possible, made us even more welcome this time round. Location is perfect, right in the centre of town but still in a quiet location and the breakfasts are legendary! We have already booked another visit.

Room Tip: They are all great !
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobi67, Owner at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Paul. It was fun looking after you, your wife and daughter. I must say I am blessed to have as happy and easy going return guests as you and let Easter 2014 come (and be more warm!). Always yours Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We arrived LATE (past midnight) from an overseas flight, and even though we had to rouse Tobi from bed, were still given a warm welcome. Our accommodation, the two-floor apartment across the street, was outstanding. My husband and a colleague worked around the kitchen table one day, and when relatives joined us later in the week, the additional space made our visit so much more relaxed. It truly was like having a home away from home – with the added benefit of a magnificent made to order breakfast each day. Tobi is a marvellous host, who is personable, flexible and does his upmost to make everyone’s stay memorable. He takes great pride in his establishment and it shows in the details – the decor, the cleanliness, and the locally sourced food. A week was not nearly long enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at the Britannia House for one night on 15th February 2013. We arrived early in the day as I had a business meeting arranged in the town centre for mid morning. Although our room wasn't ready we were greeted by Tobi the owner of the B&B who took our overnight bag and showed us to a parking place where we able to leave the car througout our stay. Later in the day we returned to be taken to our room which turned out to be an apartment across two levels with a large living room, open plan kitchen and a kingsize bedroom with ensuite. Everywhere was furnished to a really high standard and it felt very homely, comfortable and relaxing. The following morning we were greeted by Tobi in the breakfast room. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt and whilst we were tucking into this Tobi freshly cooked our breakfast which was delicious. Although we were only here for one night (pity it wasn't longer) we thoroughtly enjoyed our stay, Tobi is a really friendly and welcoming host and couldn't have done any more to ensure that our time at the Britannia was as pleasant and as comfortable possible. If we return to the area again we would happily book to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

As always a very warm welcome and another wonderful long weekend. I strongly recommend not missing Tobi's freshly cooked, locally sourced breakfast. Beautifully decorated and very clean rooms. Thank you for the great hospitality, will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit and it was every bit as good as the first. Tobi is the perfect host and we will recommend Britannia House to anybody that is planning a trip around the area. Superb breakfasts and immaculately clean room. Will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biddybob68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews