We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
312
36
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
312
36
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststrain stationforest suitean excellent hostfirst floornew forestisle of wightcooks a great breakfastguest loungethe main houselovely loungethe ground floorbed and breakfastbreakfast was freshly cookedtown centrehigh streetmoment you arrive
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was our first visit and certainly won't be the last. Britannia House is situated close to Lymingtons harbour and all the delights it has to offer. We were met by Tobi who made us feel welcomed and at home immediately. We stayed in the flat which was very comfortable and relaxing offering a lovely bed for a good nights sleep. The other rooms at Britannia House are of a very high standard and also offer the resident a guaranteed comfortable stay. Tobi's breakfasts are a legend and set you up for the day, he encourages conversation with guests and many a good laugh can be had.Tobi is a keen supporter of local produce and has a very good knowledge of the area and all it has to offer with great recommendations for eating out and the visiting various attractions etc. Should you arrive stressed you will definitely leave relaxed and refreshed. We didn't just like it we loved it.

Room Tip: For a longer stay book the flat.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riggs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just had our third visit to Britannia House.....and both the Bed and Breakfast and Tobi were as wonderful as always! Tobi sets a high standard, in both the quality of accomodation and the hospitality offered; giving great attention to detail, but also maintaining a gloriously relaxed atmosphere.
Lymington is a quaint and quirky quayside town and Britannia House is within walking distance of all you need, boats, restaurants, fab pubs and shops........having said that, we also like peace and quiet and Britannia House and it's location provide that too! Really I am loathe to tell you many more good things about Britannia House.....as personally I always want to be able to stay here, so don't want it to get too booked up. But hey, I am a generous sort of person and Tobi works hard to make it what it is.......so am willing to share and you can discover some of the bliss that is Lymington, Britannia House and Tobi for yourself!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Britannia House during the Bank Holiday weekend. Tobias is a wonderful host, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We followed his recommendations for meals out and things to do. He was spot on each time.
That said due to the delicious breakfast we weren't hungry again until the evening. The breakfast room was comfortable with a friendly atmosphere, Tobi included everyone into his conversation.The bedroom was great and the mattress so high that i felt like Princess out of the Princess and The Pea tale. We had the lounge to ourselves and a large deliciously warm bathroom. Towels were huge, pillows large and plentiful.
Altogether a very relaxing weekend with a perfect host.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyLynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Near the railway station, Britannia House in Lymington is to be recommended. Tobias, the owner, is a wonderful host, obliging, helpful and efficient..The breakfast room on a sunny morning is a delight. The owner has an overflow house across the road, but best to stay in the main building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Britannia House over the Bank Holiday weekend and it is lovely place. We were a bit worried when we arrived that it was going to be noisy as it is opposite the Station but the location was actually very quiet and we slept very well. Its a quirky place, Tobi is a very good host but he does not live on the premises so you dont see him very much apart from breakfast time when he cooks you a delicious breakfast with good quality fresh ingredients that you eat round large farmhouse tables in the kitchen with other guests which was great. Our room was very nice good quality white bed linen and large fluffy white towels, small bathroom, only had a small sink but manageable ( only complaint both my husband and I banged our heads on shelf above sink) the shower was OK. Nice to have a fridge in our room, we bought some cheeses at the Saturday market so were able to store it in the fridge. We also had a bottle of champagne which we drank in the delightful sitting room where we helped ourself to flutes from the cupboard. It is a very relaxing place to stay.

Lymington is a pretty town, although it was very busy as it was the Bank Holiday, it had some great places to eat particularly Lanes - we needed to book.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews