We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble-free stay.”
Review of Britannia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Britannia House
Ranked #2 of 42 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This clean, stylish hotel appears to be run single-handedly by the owner, Tobi. I was chastised for booking via a booking site (I would have saved some money if I'd contacted them directly - it's true, and applies to most hotels, of course.) The rooms are individual and well-decorated and furnished. Some rooms are in a modern town house over the road and, although I didn't see them, I'm sure they were fine; the only problem being that you have to cross the road for breakfast. Breakfasts were fine; refills of excellent coffee (or tea), toast, usual fry-up fare but free-range/organic I'm very pleased to report. Prices in line with other hotels in the town/area, which is a little expensive, but there you go. If you know any German, use it. Tobi is happy to chat for as long as you like.Although the railway station is nearby there is no noise problem, and it's very close to the centre of the lovely town of Lymington. Off-road parking if you get there early; other free street parkiing available. Nice little garden and an impressive first-floor lounge. No bar, as far as I know.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burlington_Wolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobi67, Owner at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your fine review. Very much appreciated.

Just to clarify: Britannia House is NOT A HOTEL. I have been here since 2000 and ever since it has been a Bed and Breakfast. Not that is matters, but a B&B has got less facilities than a bar, e.g. 24-hour check-in or room service or a bar. A lot of B&B operations are nowadays run professionally and their rooms, bathrooms and public space can easily compete with hotels from the aspect of comfort and luxury. And Lymington is fortunate to have many such good B&Bs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back some time, you can arrive basically at any time with a parking space. Your host Tobi,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

After much researching I found Britannia House and booked for 2 nights. Well I wish I booked it for longer. What a wonderful luxury Bed and Breakfast in a top location with a great host in Tobi.
I couldnt fault the extremely clean accommodation, bed was super comfortable, parking on site, great breakfast with good choices, bathroom huge, excellent shower facility, huge lounge area, excellent free WiFi. All close to the station, great choices of restaurants but a 3 min walk and just a very short walk to the Town Centre. Tobi has ground floor rooms for those with a disablity who have difficulty climbing stairs. The local laundry is a 5 min walk into the centre of Lymington, very easy to find down a side street off the main road. 9 quid to do a large load and when I returned it was folded ready for collection. Post office is just across the road from the laundry. Special thanks to Tobi for all his assistance and advice re the local area. He also held my parking spot for me as I drove to Bournemouth on one of the nights for dinner at the Blue Mango(see review) and didnt return until late. As promised my parking spot was available so need to try and find another location.
Such a delightful location and so easy to find when coming into Lymington as it is diagonally opposite the Railway station so easy access for train travellers as well. Tobi also has a 2 bedroom apartment besides the BnB accommodation. So great choice of rooms are available.
Look forward to my return, hopefully with my friends so more can enjoy the wonders of Britannia House.

Room Tip: all the rooms are different...so all good...even though near the station it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicklesNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobi67, Owner at Britannia House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear "Pickles of Newcastle". It was a pleasure looking after you and having one or tow giggles at breakfast and I am pleased to report that your VeggieMite is almost gone due to popular demand. Until some time when to come to the northern hemisphere again. Tobi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was our first visit and certainly won't be the last. Britannia House is situated close to Lymingtons harbour and all the delights it has to offer. We were met by Tobi who made us feel welcomed and at home immediately. We stayed in the flat which was very comfortable and relaxing offering a lovely bed for a good nights sleep. The other rooms at Britannia House are of a very high standard and also offer the resident a guaranteed comfortable stay. Tobi's breakfasts are a legend and set you up for the day, he encourages conversation with guests and many a good laugh can be had.Tobi is a keen supporter of local produce and has a very good knowledge of the area and all it has to offer with great recommendations for eating out and the visiting various attractions etc. Should you arrive stressed you will definitely leave relaxed and refreshed. We didn't just like it we loved it.

Room Tip: For a longer stay book the flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riggs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just had our third visit to Britannia House.....and both the Bed and Breakfast and Tobi were as wonderful as always! Tobi sets a high standard, in both the quality of accomodation and the hospitality offered; giving great attention to detail, but also maintaining a gloriously relaxed atmosphere.
Lymington is a quaint and quirky quayside town and Britannia House is within walking distance of all you need, boats, restaurants, fab pubs and shops........having said that, we also like peace and quiet and Britannia House and it's location provide that too! Really I am loathe to tell you many more good things about Britannia House.....as personally I always want to be able to stay here, so don't want it to get too booked up. But hey, I am a generous sort of person and Tobi works hard to make it what it is.......so am willing to share and you can discover some of the bliss that is Lymington, Britannia House and Tobi for yourself!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Britannia House during the Bank Holiday weekend. Tobias is a wonderful host, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We followed his recommendations for meals out and things to do. He was spot on each time.
That said due to the delicious breakfast we weren't hungry again until the evening. The breakfast room was comfortable with a friendly atmosphere, Tobi included everyone into his conversation.The bedroom was great and the mattress so high that i felt like Princess out of the Princess and The Pea tale. We had the lounge to ourselves and a large deliciously warm bathroom. Towels were huge, pillows large and plentiful.
Altogether a very relaxing weekend with a perfect host.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyLynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Near the railway station, Britannia House in Lymington is to be recommended. Tobias, the owner, is a wonderful host, obliging, helpful and efficient..The breakfast room on a sunny morning is a delight. The owner has an overflow house across the road, but best to stay in the main building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at Britannia House over the Bank Holiday weekend and it is lovely place. We were a bit worried when we arrived that it was going to be noisy as it is opposite the Station but the location was actually very quiet and we slept very well. Its a quirky place, Tobi is a very good host but he does not live on the premises so you dont see him very much apart from breakfast time when he cooks you a delicious breakfast with good quality fresh ingredients that you eat round large farmhouse tables in the kitchen with other guests which was great. Our room was very nice good quality white bed linen and large fluffy white towels, small bathroom, only had a small sink but manageable ( only complaint both my husband and I banged our heads on shelf above sink) the shower was OK. Nice to have a fridge in our room, we bought some cheeses at the Saturday market so were able to store it in the fridge. We also had a bottle of champagne which we drank in the delightful sitting room where we helped ourself to flutes from the cupboard. It is a very relaxing place to stay.

Lymington is a pretty town, although it was very busy as it was the Bank Holiday, it had some great places to eat particularly Lanes - we needed to book.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Durlston House B&B
Durlston House B&B
#9 of 42 in Lymington
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bosun's Chair
The Bosun's Chair
#13 of 42 in Lymington
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia House

Address: Britannia House Station Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £112 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic AA 4 Star Gold rated Britannia House offers some of the finest New Forest accommodation with a superb Lymington town centre location. Only 2 mins. walking distance to Lymington waterfront, Quay and High Street with numerous shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. All en-suite bedrooms are individually decorated to the highest standards and have the highest quality beds, mattresses, linen and fluffy towels. Prices are from £85 - £129 including a home cooked breakfast. The guest lounge on the first floor provides magnificent views over Lymington harbour and the Isle-of-Wight. There is on-site parking, free WiFi, and a friendly knowledgeable Host (Tobi) to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia House Hotel Lymington
Britannia House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing