We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away”
Review of Britannia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Britannia House
Ranked #2 of 42 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Britannia House last weekend for my girlfriend's birthday, Tobi was a great host and the room was amazing. The location was great and I would definitely recommend for a couple who are after a weekend away in Lymington or for a base to explore the New Forest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We don't usually "do" B&B but after Stanwell House Hotel couldn't fit us in, I came across Britannia House. The website was impressive, but I had a couple of questions, so called Tobi, who was uber helpful! I booked there and then, without checking on TripAdvisor, very unusual for me. But on reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I knew I had made a good choice. Upon arrival Tobi was so welcoming and truly is a host. We had booked the Beaulieu Room and the Apartment, so had the whole house to ourselves. We left early on the Saturday morning for Southampton to board a boat for a friend's 50th so didn't indulge in breakfast. But on Sunday, Tobi cooked a super English breakfast, with unlimited toast and tea/coffee, along with cereal, yoghurts and fruit (of which I didn't partake, far too healthy!!) Nothing is too much trouble for Tobi and his accommodation is top notch. I would whole heartedly recommend Britannia House to anyone looking for a boutique type hotel with B&B pricing :-)

Room Tip: If you want your own 'space' I recommend the Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Despite awful weather we were met with a warm welcome and very comfortable accommodation. All the rooms looked lovely and there was a large comfy guest lounge and farmhouse kitchen in the main house. We had booked the apartment which was situated directly across the road with great views of the harbour. It was well appointed and very comfortable. Looking forward to another visit so we can enjoy local walks.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisiKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A low season trip to Lymington - decided to go slightly over budget on accommodation and it was well worth it. Good location, exuberant decoration which actually worked well, particularly in the attractive kitchen and sitting room areas. Nothing too much trouble for our host. Excellent

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank rkcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back today from a 5 night stay at The Britannia House. Had a really good stay, all rooms are well equipped and very nicely furnished and decorated. Tobi is a great host caring for your every need and looks after his guest very well. Very informative about the local area, always up for a chat and a bit of football banter over breakfast! Bit of a shame that being German he believes Bayern Munich will win the champions league but this is his only let down!! Location is great, just a few minuets walk from the Town centre with many pubs and restaurants but down a quiet road very near the railway station.This was our first time in Lymington but will definitely be back and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hertscooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We are always very impressed at the welcome we receive from Toby.Always interesting rooms and a very cosy lounge area.Breakfast great and done as you want it. It is difficult to say which is the best room..they all have their own individual qualities.See you next year Toby Rich and Angie

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here for my partner's birthday weekend. It was lovely. Tobi was fantastic...clearly really cared about his guests having a good time and about the quality of the environment and atmosphere in the B&B. We stayed in the apartment, which was great. Definitely a place to stay if you're in Lymington.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newton_Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Durlston House B&B
Durlston House B&B
#9 of 42 in Lymington
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bosun's Chair
The Bosun's Chair
#13 of 42 in Lymington
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia House

Address: Britannia House Station Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £112 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic AA 4 Star Gold rated Britannia House offers some of the finest New Forest accommodation with a superb Lymington town centre location. Only 2 mins. walking distance to Lymington waterfront, Quay and High Street with numerous shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. All en-suite bedrooms are individually decorated to the highest standards and have the highest quality beds, mattresses, linen and fluffy towels. Prices are from £85 - £129 including a home cooked breakfast. The guest lounge on the first floor provides magnificent views over Lymington harbour and the Isle-of-Wight. There is on-site parking, free WiFi, and a friendly knowledgeable Host (Tobi) to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia House Hotel Lymington
Britannia House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing