We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Break !”
Review of Britannia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia House
Ranked #4 of 41 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Brittania house for two nights and it was lovely, Tobi was a wonderful host and the location was fantastic, walking distance to the high street, marina and a variety of eating and drinking establishments. The room we stayed in was the Briattania and it was lovely, bed was really comfortable and the shower was great .... highly recommend it .... Thanks for a wonderful stay Tobi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The owner, Tobi is extremely helpful and professional, and really made us feel welcome. The room we had was in the annexe, and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, and it was only a very short walk into the town center for dinner. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently stayed at The Britannia in the Forest room. The guest house is wonderful with access to a lovely sitting room and the dining area at all times.

The location is convenient if travelling by train and it is easy to walk around the town and marina from there.

We very much enjoyed Tobi's company, chatting about football while he cooked our wonderful breakfast. I can certainly recommend staying at the Britannia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymraesAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Britannia is in a very handy position for both the town and the harbour/marina and just 50 yards from the station. It is kept in very good condition and Tobi is a font of knowledge on the town and the area and a good breakfast host. Guests are allowed full access throughout the 24 hours and there is a comfy lounge available to all on the first floor. There is a huge selection of restaurants and pubs within walking distance to suit any 'palate and pocket'.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Britannia room which has an adjoining private bathroom with both a bath and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RY46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed two nights in the apartment on a last minute booking after seeing the positive reviews and could not have had a more pleasant and enjoyable stay. The accommodation is superb and has a lovely bright sitting room, as well as a great bath and comfy bed. Tobi was an amazing host and cooked us perfect breakfasts each morning.
Lymington has lots of excellent restaurants and pubs and Britannia House is ideally situated so that you can just park the car and forget about it for a few days, exactly what we needed.
Thanks Tobi, I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at the Britannia just after Xmas 2013. I was meant to be staying on a boat in the yacht haven but the forecast was high winds and I prefer to sleep in a bed that isn't moving all night! Tobi was a fantastic host and the B and B is beautiful. He showed me round every room and each had its own style and feel to it. I plan to stay in one of the self contained apartments I'm the future.
I was suffering with man flu at the time and was a little slow to rise both mornings, but my fiancée is made of sterner stuff (despite the same cold virus!) and she said the breakfast was amazing.
5 stars for sure and I would recommend to anyone who wants to spend a few days in the quaint little town of Lymington.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We loved Britannia House. We stayed in the Apartment, which was roomy, stylish and very comfortable. Tobi is a marvellous host - welcoming and friendly, but giving you your space...The breakfast was freshly cooked from good quality ingredients. We relaxed and enjoyed ourselves and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,654 reviews
2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#5 of 7 in Lymington
272 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#2 of 9 in Milford on Sea
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia House

Address: Britannia House Station Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £108 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britannia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic AA 4 Star Gold rated Britannia House offers some of the finest New Forest accommodation with a superb Lymington town centre location. Only 2 mins. walking distance to Lymington waterfront, Quay and High Street with numerous shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. All en-suite bedrooms are individually decorated to the highest standards and have the highest quality beds, mattresses, linen and fluffy towels. Prices are from £85 - £129 including a home cooked breakfast. The guest lounge on the first floor provides magnificent views over Lymington harbour and the Isle-of-Wight. There is on-site parking, free WiFi, and a friendly knowledgeable Host (Tobi) to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia House Hotel Lymington
Britannia House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing