We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily relaxed in the Olde barn”
Review of The Olde Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Barn
Ranked #14 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a lovely relaxed stay. Very quiet and lovely. really looked after well whilst we stayed

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximilian_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for The Olde Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Olde Barn. My husband booked this break for my 50th birthday and from arrival to leaving today we had a great time. Julie and Simon were both welcoming and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble, for example chilling a bottle of sparkling wine for my birthday and ensuring it was in our room (in a wine cooler) on our return from our day out!. Our room (we stayed in No. 3) was beautifully clean and comfortable, with every extra we could possibly have wanted. Great breakfasts and efficient, friendly service. We would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area. Our batteries feel well and truly re-charged now!. Thanks to all at the Older Barn for helping to ensure my birthday was really special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for a week (seven nights) and have to say this is the very best B&B we have ever stayed in and most definately worthy of its 5 star rating more like a hotel than a B&B! The owners, Julie and Simon, were very friendly and approachable and always helpful in giving pointers of where to visit and places to eat. The standard of cleanliness was second to none. The room we stayed in (room 1) was part of the converted diary and was extremely spacious and comfortable with an equally spacious and fully equipped en-suite with many extras like toiletries and a very well stocked and regularly topped up drinks facility. The breaksfast menu was extensive and nothing was too much trouble for Julie who personally freshly prepared and cooked anything you wanted for breakfast. The location of the Old Barn was ideal for exploring the New Forest and we would throughly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to visit the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the converted diary at the rear of barn conversation which was propbably more preferabl...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaS_PrS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here for three nights and can only describe the experience as excellent. This is everything a B&B should be.
Great rooms, good service and a really nice breakfast.
The location is good and the owners very attentive to all needs without being overbearing.
We have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from 5 lovely days at the Olde Barn. The stay was very enjoyable and Julie was very helpful. The accommodation was immaculate and the breakfasts were more than adequate. We had a lovely meal at the Fishermans Rest in Lymington, go early as they get very busy, and also at the Amberwood which was in Walkford, only a few minutes away. The Amberwood do 2 meals for £7.95 including a drink between 5 and 7pm. I would certainly recommend the Olde Barn for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grimbarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed for six nights during September. This is excellent accommodation and rightly deserves its five star rating. Our room was spotlessly clean. Julie and Simon the proprietors were helpful and welcoming, always ready to answer any questions about suitable eating places and venues to visit. The Olde Barn is ideally situated for visiting the towns of the New Forest. Nearby Lymington has restaurants and pubs that serve evening meals. Our best meal of the stay was at the Fisherman’s Rest. An added bonus for us was the fact that it never rained, quite an achievement for summer 2008! All in all a memorable visit and we shall have no hesitation in recommending the Olde Barn to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Battle1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We managed to pick just about the wettest weekend of the summer for a walking break in the New Forest, but pleased we picked the Olde Barn from the Trip Advisor reports. We were in the main house which was initially a dissapointment as the seperate barn-type accommodation behind the house looked excellent. No need to worry as we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely and the bedroom & facilities were spotless. When we decided to leave early, simply due to the appaling weather, Julie was very understanding in not holding us to the full booking. Obvioulsy a 5 star B&B all the way, just a shame about the rain!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leoCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mill at Gordleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Barn

Address: The Old Barn Christchurch Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £93 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Olde Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Barn Hotel Lymington
The Olde Barn Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing