We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B just down the road from Lymington”
Review of The Olde Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Barn
Ranked #14 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful B&B just down the road from Lymington”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a converted barn which was beautifully designed and gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased with our own space. We opted not to have breakfast so cannot comment on that, but imagine it would be great. It's a short drive from Lymington - you'd probably need to have a car with you. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 512peterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a nice warm welcome on arrival and the room was very nice, clean and homely and felt comfortable and happy to stay for the few nights we were there. The breakfast was very good each morning and we received alot of great local information and insight and this helped us plan our days out in The New Forest.

There is a very nice country pub about 10mins walk down the lane with friendly welcoming staff with nice local ale and lovely food.

We ventured into Lymington town for the local market and shops and had a great time and also along the local coast for views across to the Isle of wight.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnR_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Friends of our recommended this B&B and we were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and homely with everything thought of and catered for. Comfy bed and lots of space for clothes etc. breakfast was excellent wether you wanted a full English or just cereals etc. Julie and Simon were friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Overall the best place we have found to stay in the area. We stayed in one of three self contained apartments at the rear of the main house which were previously the old dairy sheds. Spacious en-suite rooms with all mod cons. Comfy bed, warm room, tv, lots of drawers for clothes and wardrobe with hangers. En-suite is a wet room that is really well done. Breakfast is served in the main house just across a gravel drive and is eaten with the other guests and is a lovely time to meet people and it is surprising how quickly friendships are formed. The breakfast itself is a feast. All tastes are catered for. The full English is enough to keep you going through lunchtime and onto your next evening meal. Julie the hostess is always available to help with any issues and if you like or play golf you will have a new friend for life. Thank you to Julie and her family for such an enjoyable stay and to our new friends which we met over the fun breakfasts. Best way to start the day. The only suggestion I could make to improve our visit would be to have the sign outside the house at the roadside lit as it is quite easy to miss when driving along the road. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRH5466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggin Hill Kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed at the Olde Barn for 3 Nights, the rooms are well maintained clean and everything is to hand. The rooms have been designed with great thought and attention to detail. Have stayed here before and will again, a great starting point for the coast or going in to the Forest. From full English to just eggs on toast, great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have stayed here 3 times. The Olde Barns hosts are delightful. The rooms are spotlessly clean. Beds are comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in each room. Breakfast is good. Bedrooms quiet due to being a distance from the main road.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadioTircoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed the Olde Barn for a quiet, romantic getaway with my boyfriend and it delivered! The accommodation is clean and cosy. With lots of lovely touches such as magazines, DVD’s, a varied selection of tea and coffees, and I even had hairspray and make up remover provided which is great to know if i ever forget anything!

The breakfast was lovely on both mornings, it was cooked fresh and to order. We asked Julie (the owner) what to do and see in the local area, Julie was very helpful and full of ideas. Nothing seemed to be too much! All in all it was a great stay, in a great locations with a couple of pubs within walking distance and local towns in either direction within a 10 minute drive.

I will definitely be visiting again.

Thank you for such a lovely relaxing stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
467 reviews
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Mill at Gordleton
1.9 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#2 of 9 in Milford on Sea
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Barn

Property: The Olde Barn
Address: The Old Barn Christchurch Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Olde Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Barn Hotel Lymington
The Olde Barn Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing