We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY PLACE TO STAY, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED”
Review of The Olde Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olde Barn
Ranked #15 of 40 Lymington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from 5 lovely days at the Olde Barn. The stay was very enjoyable and Julie was very helpful. The accommodation was immaculate and the breakfasts were more than adequate. We had a lovely meal at the Fishermans Rest in Lymington, go early as they get very busy, and also at the Amberwood which was in Walkford, only a few minutes away. The Amberwood do 2 meals for £7.95 including a drink between 5 and 7pm. I would certainly recommend the Olde Barn for a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grimbarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed for six nights during September. This is excellent accommodation and rightly deserves its five star rating. Our room was spotlessly clean. Julie and Simon the proprietors were helpful and welcoming, always ready to answer any questions about suitable eating places and venues to visit. The Olde Barn is ideally situated for visiting the towns of the New Forest. Nearby Lymington has restaurants and pubs that serve evening meals. Our best meal of the stay was at the Fisherman’s Rest. An added bonus for us was the fact that it never rained, quite an achievement for summer 2008! All in all a memorable visit and we shall have no hesitation in recommending the Olde Barn to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Battle1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We managed to pick just about the wettest weekend of the summer for a walking break in the New Forest, but pleased we picked the Olde Barn from the Trip Advisor reports. We were in the main house which was initially a dissapointment as the seperate barn-type accommodation behind the house looked excellent. No need to worry as we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely and the bedroom & facilities were spotless. When we decided to leave early, simply due to the appaling weather, Julie was very understanding in not holding us to the full booking. Obvioulsy a 5 star B&B all the way, just a shame about the rain!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leoCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Went into local Information Centre looking for local B&B. Liked photo shown to us. Booked for a 2 night stay. Could not fault high standard of accomodation. Julie & Simon were perfect hosts. The property has been converted to a very high standard a credit to the owners who did the conversion themselves.
Breakfast is buffet style for the hot food which I thought was a good idea. as previous review we found the Crown pub excellent for food and also Julie,s recommendation to try the Fishermans rest. Both short drive from the Olde Barn. We will certainly look to stay at the property next time we are in the area

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazzoKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Very clean and well presented Bed & Breakfast. Breakfast was very nice. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCountryFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Our room at the Olde Barn was very comfortable and clean, with some nice extra touches like the range of moisturisers that were available. It would have been nice to have had blinds on the sky light though - sunlight streaming through at five in the morning was a wake up call we could have done without! Bathrooms designed as a wet room are never a favourite of mine either, though the shower was quite good. Car parking right by the room was a nice bonus.

The owners were helpful, giving us walking guides to take out for the day, and photocopying ones we needed on our last day. They also suggested a good local pub for food.

Breakfasts were perhaps an exercise in quantity over quality - it's been a long time since I've stayed somewhere where the cooked breakfasts are pre-prepared and kept warm buffet style. And where other B&Bs boast of the high quality local ingredients that they use, the Olde Barn clearly doesn't go down that route. But there was plenty to go around, although I found it wrong that so much food would be wasted at the end of breakfast each day.

Overall, it's hard to really fault the place and anyone who stays there will be perfectly happy. At the same time, if you are looking for somewhere special that really stands out then this probably isn't it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 3 night break at The Olde Barn. Would definately recommend it, very clean, spacious & comfy room (we stayed in room 3). The owners are friendly too and gave us lots of tips where to walk/where to eat etc. We would recommend Tollhouse Inn & White Hart pub for food, these are both down the road about 5mins drive.
Lovely location, near the forest & coast. Lymington is a lovely little town to have a wander.
We will def come back here again when we next re-visit the New Forest.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thecoopers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
767 reviews
1.2 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
555 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2 mi away
The Mill at Gordleton
3.7 mi away
Leyland Country House
Leyland Country House
#5 of 40 in Lymington
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Barn

Address: The Old Barn Christchurch Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £86 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Olde Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Barn Hotel Lymington
The Olde Barn Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing