We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile Stay at Auplands”

Auplands Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auplands Guest House
Ranked #24 of 42 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at Auplands a few weeks ago for 4 nights and was more than happy with my choice. Although situated on the main Southampton Road, we did not experience any noise and it was very quiet at night. There was a short walk to Lymington High Street where there were some very nice eateries, etc. The owners of Auplands were very friendly and most helpful and our room was cosy with nice furnishings, very comfy bed, nice tv and en suite. Nice touch was a fridge in the hallway that was stocked with bottles of mineral water for the residents' use and also room to put any other foods that residents needed to be kept during their stay. The shower worked very well but the toilet/shower area itself was a bit on the small side but this did not affect us too much as the shower itself worked very well. Assorted toiletries/creams were supplied. Enjoyed the breakfasts which were cooked to our liking, but also a good breakfast bar containing cereals, fruit, etc. Lovely coffee! Plentiful supply of towels. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate facilities in the room, together with a supply of extremely nice biscuits of very good quality. All in all a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to return when next in the area.

1  Thank madeformadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The owners are very friendly and made you feel very at home. The rooms are pleasant, ours didn't have a bath but it was very comfortable. Great location just a couple of minutes from the High Street. The only thing we were disappointed with was the English breakfast, we thought it was a shame that they hadn't used local produce, the sausage seemed to be something like a Walls sausage and with such fantastic produce available in the New Forest we felt this was a shame. Despite this we wouldn't think twice about returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at Auplands Guest House for one night in March, following a long cycle ride through the New Forest.

The bike storage facilities attracted us initially; however we would highly recommend this guesthouse for a number of other reasons as well.

Auplands is located not far from Lymington’s high street, train station as well as ferry services to the Isle of Wight.
Our room (we stayed in the Westfield Room, overlooking the garden) was clean and came with all the amenities you would expect from a good guest house. Water bottles were provided free of charge which was an additional bonus after our cycle ride.
For breakfast, we could choose between continental or Full English. Fresh fruit, muesli and yoghurt were also offered. The food was well prepared and the breakfast service itself was very efficient.
The couple who runs this guesthouse were very friendly and always happy to help.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Auplands.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dani_Hofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Visited early March 2014. We had an immaculately clean room overlooking the garden. Having a settee in the room was a bonus and much appreciated. The tea tray was impressive, both chocolates and lovely biscuits. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our breakfasts very much. Being so close to town was excellent. We found some great places for our evening meals, there is a wide choice for all pockets. The fridge on the landing was a nice touch. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, maybe a room at the back would suit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSlater1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed 21/12/13. Room was clean and warm, the owners were helpful and friendly. There wasn't much noise in the morning (a pet hate when staying in hotels or B&Bs) and the breakfast was lovely. The place has a family-home feel to it despite being fairly big... Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobMhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to the isle of Wight, the welcome was very friendly. The bedroom was a good size with an adequate en-suite although the bed would benefit from a mattress upgrade! Breakfast was very good and on-site parking was very handy. There was a fridge on the landing with help-yourself bottles of water and ice, very welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I've stayed at Auplands a couple of times - I went back, so that says a lot!
It was nice and clean, and the owners are incredibly welcoming. The rooms are nice, clean, well maintained (this is not boutique hotel stuff but neither is it really outdated). There's a communal fridge which guests are welcome to use, and it is stocked with bottled water if you prefer to drink that rather than tap water.
Location wise it is just a few minutes walk from the top of the main street so whilst it is on a main road, it is actually in a pretty good location, close to all the restaurants and shops.
The rooms were warm, quiet, the shower rooms were nice and showers worked well.
Most of all, the breakfasts are great (full English etc) and include bowls piled high with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palerm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
2.4 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#5 of 7 in Lymington
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bosun's Chair
The Bosun's Chair
#13 of 42 in Lymington
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Durlston House B&B
Durlston House B&B
#9 of 42 in Lymington
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia House
Britannia House
#2 of 42 in Lymington
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auplands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auplands Guest House

Address: 22 Southampton Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £74 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auplands is one of the longest established Bed and Breakfast guest houses in the Lymington area with many of our guests returning on a regular basis. We are located close to the town centre and have plenty of off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auplands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auplands Hotel Lymington
Auplands Guest House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing