We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind, friendly people, comfy place, good value for money.”

Auplands Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auplands Guest House
Ranked #24 of 41 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The room we were given was spacious, clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and it was quiet. There was a good choice for breakfast, particularly if you like a “Full English”, and the bacon was delicious.
Graham was very kind to my mother who’s in her late seventies. We needed to go to the harbour in the morning and although I could have walked it was too far for my mum. Graham immediately offered us a lift.
Kind, friendly people, comfy place, good value for money, I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

I stayed at Auplands for 2 nights at the same time as a small wedding party although I was not a part of this group. They set an extra room for breakfast so that those that were not a part of the wedding group could eat seperately if we wanted to. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and more than I could possibly eat.
The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. I have a bad back and normally can't walk after one night in a hotel but here the bed was perfect.
If you arrive by car there is plenty of parking space and it is a very easy 2 minute walk to the center of town.
I will be very happy to stay here again next time I am in Lymington.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

It seems to get harder and harder to find a straightforward B and B these days but this one ticked all the right boxes. Clean, organised, had parking, comfortable and good value. The breakfast was excellent and the bacon the best I've ever eaten. It's walking distance from the centre of Lymington and harbour, so has a great position, without being noisy. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaylaTW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I travelled with 5 friends to the wonderful seaside location of Lymington last Saturday night to celebrate a friends birthday and we stayed at Auplands.
We were warned by Sue that our room was smaller than the original room we had been allocated & therefore would be reduced (£5 less!!)but had all the same facilities!! Room 3 was tiny & monopolised by the double bed.The portable TV was situated at the head of the bed because there was nowhere else to place it therefore making it impossible to view when lying on the bed.I was staying with a friend & we had to take it in turns to move in the room as space only allowed for 1 person moving at any 1 time.The towels,though clean, were rock hard & stained.
We had to pick 1 of the allocated slots for breakfast & after reading Auplands response to the tripadvisor who complained before about breakfast times;I was disappointed that 0930 was the latest time with no negotiation.The final straw was the appearance of unidentified hairs in 2 of our breakfasts & the opening of the dining room door at 1020 as a less than subtle reminder that check out was 1030.It really wasn't necessary!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auplands, Proprietor at Auplands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2009

We have run Auplands for 25 years and now have up to 50 guests stay with us in any one week and there may well be the odd occasion when a guest has a problem but unlike yourself the guest will tell us at the time so that we are able to rectify the situation..
Had you allowed us do that you I am sure you would have had a more pleasureable stay.
We have now given our closest attention to the issues you have made so as similar situations are not experienced by future guests
We have tried to make contact with you to offer you a full refund but you have chosen not to reply to the messages left on your answerphone. We are very sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us but we are are pleased that many hundreds of people have done and many return on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

I've just found this site for Auplands. My husband and me have just stayed at Auplands for the fourth time. We've been staying there since 2000 and wouldn't dream of booking anywhere else when we go to the new forest.

We have always found the rooms clean and warm, the breakfasts lovely and Sue and Graham to be more than friendly.

The guest house is really close to the main street and all the pubs and restaurants. Lymington is a great place to stay.

Don't take any notice of the bad write up, they must have been staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mongo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

have stayed at auplands a couple of times when ive been working in the area & surprised by the other review saying sue was unwelcoming.

ive enjoyed my stay on both occasions, only problem with noise was perhaps other guests moving around corrider ( show me a hotel / b&b where you dont get this). breakfast was good. bathrooms were small but perfectly adequate & rooms were clean & tidy.

Price was average for the area, im sure you'll easily pay more for less in this part of hampshire. Wont hesitate in booking in again next time im in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

We stayed there for 2 nights - a long weekend.

The room was very well furnished & comfortable, with many nice touches, such as ornaments, & teddies on the sofa. Breakfast was very good, although you had to book a time the day before (2 or 3 groups at a time) and if you didn't book your slot early you faced a late or early start to the day (but not a big problem).

The hosts were not over friendly - quite happy to ignore us as we walked past them on the way in or out, never a quick chat or anything approaching actually being friendly.

We were kept awake at night by the host's teenage kids coming & going in their cars, sitting in the back garden for half the night chatting to their mates and even playing music some times (our room overlooked the back, so we got the full benefit of this). You got the impression complaining wouldn't have done much good!

The main high street in Lymington is only 5 minutes walk away, and another 5 mins or so takes you to the other end of the street, where the quay is. Lymington is a lovely place for a break - plenty of pubs & restaurants of all sorts, and handy for exploring the New Forest (though the forest is a short drive or cycle away). It's also handy for the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Farnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue111, Owner at Auplands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2007

l was suprised and disheartened to read the review posted about Auplands. l wish our guests had come to us so that we could have arranged a more convenient breakfast time for them. As for our noisy teenagers we do not have any. Our family are 26 and 28 and we believe to be well behaved and considerate of our guests. Its possible the partying our guests heard were from our neighbours and their teenagers sitting in their own garden which we have no control of. We have many guests returning on a regular basis and our visitors comment book shows our guests to be happy . l believe if we were not friendly and welcoming this would not be the case. We appreciate any comments good or bad and are happy to put our guests dislikes right if possible - we can only do this if our guests come direct to us so that we know what the problem is. This review was posted in 2006 about a stay in 2005 which we have only just come across - all l can say to people looking at this review and who may be put off staying at Auplands - come and stay with us and we will do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one and if you have any problems or dislikes when here feel free to let us know direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bosun's Chair
The Bosun's Chair
#13 of 41 in Lymington
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#3 of 9 in Milford on Sea
665 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inglemere
Inglemere
#2 of 3 in Hordle
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia House
Britannia House
#3 of 41 in Lymington
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auplands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auplands Guest House

Address: 22 Southampton Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £78 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auplands is one of the longest established Bed and Breakfast guest houses in the Lymington area with many of our guests returning on a regular basis. We are located close to the town centre and have plenty of off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auplands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auplands Hotel Lymington
Auplands Guest House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing