We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest meals I've had”

The Elderflower Lymington
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Quintessentially British, with a sprinkling of French. The Elderflower is the new restaurant for food lovers on a cobbled Quay Street in the heart of Lymington, the beautiful Georgian town sited between the New Forest district of Hampshire and the West Solent. Head Chef Patron Andrew Du Bourg (formerly Head Chef at 5* Chewton Glen hotel and Michelin starred Club Gascon, London) will prepare modern British food with a sprinkling of French using locally sourced produce from land and sea.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the finest meals I've had”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Really fantastic food, we had a lovely meal backed up by very professional service. This restaurant puts lots of others to shame. There is also a well priced and varied wine list.

We cant wait to come again

Thanks

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montymaxmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    52
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome to the Elderflower”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

So far I have been twice to the Elderflower. Once for dinner and once for lunch. The meal experiences were both great though different.

Andrew and his wife are very ambitious, working very hard, and delivering food of quality which is rare, certainly for Lymington. It would be easy to negatively criticise and "telling them how I would do it" because everyone nowadays knows better, don't they?

The point is that the restaurant has just opened and already I think it is a winner.

I certainly loved it. My wife adored it. My mother praised it. It was simply exceptional.

My tip: try it out first at lunch with the 3 course menu for £25.-, order a bottle of the "coffee pinotage" (one of the most exciting red wines I ever had) and enjoy.


Good luck, Andrew. Good luck, Marjolaine. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HermanKHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Southampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal and service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were so excited to hear that this new restaurant had opened and were really excited about dining here. The owner Andrew and his wife have gone a long way to making this a special dining experience. We are real foodies so had quite had high expectations. We were not disappointed. Great choice of menu, we came on Mothers Day, the starter of Curried soup was delicious and the main course of roasted leg of lamb with all the trimmings was fabulous, generous portions with all the trimmings, could not fault any of the food. Desert was stunning, beautiful presentation and a real fine dining experience.

How lucky are we to have this fab restaurant in Lymington, we will be back very soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Local Produce including fresh fish. Beautifully prepared and served with a touch of Classic French skills.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NGoldwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elderflower Lymington also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to The Elderflower Lymington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing