We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tepid welcome”
Review of Apple Court Garden

Apple Court Garden
Ranked #14 of 38 things to do in Lymington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Apple Court Gardens are under new ownership re-opened to the public in June 2017. This beautiful, much-loved garden was created in the 1980s in the abandoned walled kitchen garden of Yeatton House, which lies to the south. On the edge of the New Forest, and close to the sea, it makes a great addition to a day out. The Garden has a White Garden, Hosta Walks, Exotic borders, Grass borders, Japanese Garden, Woodland borders and Daylily Gardens. Come and have a cup of tea and slice of homemade cake in our summerhouse overlooking the garden. It really is a plant lovers paradise, with unusual specimens from throughout the world and a lovely tranquil place to spend an hour or so. Lots of varieties of plants for sale. We close on the 30th Sept and re-open on May 2nd 2018. Please follow us on Facebook or Instagram for more information about opening dates.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have visited Apple Court several times. It is certainly a lovely garden. There are numerous diverse garden rooms and while it is admittedly small it has plenty of interest. My main gripe is with the reception you might receive. I have never really received a friendly welcome (and that's not just me, friends have said the same), but on my most recent visit the owners appeared to have their family there and we were made to feel as welcome as a inferno at an ice palace! I realise if you have your family there you may want some privacy, but then why open to the public? !

10  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson2006, Owner at Apple Court Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Please note that Apple Court Garden is now under new ownership as of 2017 and I can assure you that everyone receives a VERY warm welcome! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently visited Apple Court and were amazed at the size and structure of the gardens. The overall garden is just a constant surprise as you go on the garden adventure. There were many elements of this well considered garden that were a lovely discovery. We hope to be back, well worth a visit.

Thank rosebudharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a fantastic garden, with loads of birds singing & the sun out it made a perfect day. We came away feeling calm & refreshed from the tranquil setting b

1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a privately owned nursery and garden. The garden at Apple Court has been created in 1988, in the abandoned walled kitchen garden of Yeatton House, which lies to the south. It extends to just over one acre, and is situated in rich farmland between the New Forest and the Solent, some 10m above sea level.

The dwelling, which lies in the south-west corner to the garden was originally the apple store for Yeatton house. In the 1950's part was converted into a squash court, hence Apple Court. In the 1960's it was converted into a dwelling.

The garden was designed as a series of interlockng areas each of which was intended to create a distanct visual impression. The form of the garden was partly dictated by the need to break the force of the coastal winds, the sea being only a mile away.

The present owner Angela has tended the garden for the past 11 years. It is a garden for March to October colour. The garden has pools, statues, visitas and relaxing areas to sit and be still.

The tour of the garden starts at the Summer House garden and takes a tour through The Silver Circus, The Rope Walk, The Gold and Silver Hosta Walks, The Wisteria Seat, The White Garden, The Salmon and Peach Borders, The Grassery, The Spring Border, The Winter Garden, The Cottage Garden, The Fern Path, The Daylily Garden, The Mimosas and Banana Borders, The Lime Walk, A Woodland Walk and a spectacular Japanise Garden, which has been featured on television.

There is a tea, coffee and cake area in the summer house, where you can make yourself refreshments and an 'Honesty' Jar in which to place your money.

Angela came to talk to us along with her lady gardener and her lovely black Scottie dog Dougle.
Angela made the best bread pudding we have tasted in many years..

The garden is a real gem. It deserves a place on TripAdviser, so that other garden lovers can experience this truly lovely quintessensual English garden with its lovely Oriental overtones.

4  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016
Google Translation

Thank Юлия К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Court Garden also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Apple Court Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing