We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So family friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadcroft B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lymington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broadcroft B&B
Ranked #9 of 44 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So family friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I can not recommend this place highly enough to those with young children. We stayed for three nights with our 19 month old daughter and wish we could have stayed longer! As soon as we arrived we had tea and cake and a chat about what there is to do in the area and we could tell straight away that it would be like staying with grandparents - in a good way! The garden is lovely and lots of space to run around as well as toys for young children. On the second night Heather and Billy babysat for us and we went to The Mill at Gordleton (quite a posh village pub) and the food was really nice. We opted for a set menu and using the New Forest cards to get a free bottle of wine. Heather cooked tea for our daughter as we were going out, and it's these little things that make a break at this B&B such a nice experience. On the third night we bought our own food to eat (think picnic in the lounge) and Heather was more than happy to provide plates and trays! Our bedroom had a huge bed and everything you could want and our daughter was in the twin in a travel cot which had plenty of space too. Think decent blinds and curtains too - to ensure no light to encourage early rising babies! The corridor upstairs had a curtain to pull to shut our end off so we were really private and so when our daughter did wake a couple of times (briefly thank goodness), Heather and Billy didn't hear. This is a gem of a B&B and whilst it's not ultra modern it's homey and welcoming and such good value for everything it offers. We are hoping to return next year which is a first for any B&B we've stayed in and that includes pre children! Thank you Heather and Billy for making our first B&B experience with a young child such a great success!

Room Tip: My only tip is that whilst it is child friendly you need to be aware of all the niknaks that are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bromleyfifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We loved having them all to stay, perfect parents and a lovely daughter. Sadly the weather was not brilliant, but they had a fun and busy time.

I am gratefull to Fiona for pointing out about "nick nacks"! Next time we have "little ones" we will clear the decks abit!!

There is so much to see and do in Lymington and the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

From the moment of arrival Broadcroft presented us with a welcoming and unique experience starting with afternoon tea with our genuinely warm and friendly hosts.
The stunning house and gardens were completely at our disposal and the food was excellent especially the delicious homemade compote.
Nothing was too much trouble for Heather and there was plenty of good advise on where to go and whatt to do including a wide choice of evening meals including a lovely local pub within walking distance.
This is a terrific location for exploring the beautiful area and although we cycled around the sunny Isle of Wight we will be back to walk in the New Forest and bird watch in the winter months.
Broadcroft was a perfect short break for us and we were made to feel part of the family.
Even our bikes were made to feel welcome!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Krys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
oh dear, I feel really sad they have gone!!What energy, they biked for miles and really got the most out of their visit. It would be lovely to see them again in the season of mists and mellow fruitfullnes!

Mushrooms and birds! best wishes to all our visitors

Heather and Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We headed for the New Forest for a short escape from London with our 3 year old and visiting relatives wishing to experience English country and seaside. We had an absolutely lovely stay at Broadcroft in Lymington. Heather and Billy immediately made the five of us comfortable with a welcome afternoon tea and made certain that we were able to get the most out out of the area, suggesting places for day time activities and dinner and checking availability for us (the Mill with its sculpture garden was wonderful). Lymington is a very attractive and lively town and we enjoyed the sea baths, seawall cycle paths, and proximity to some of the New Forest's loveliest places. Broadcroft itself is beautiful, the garden is huge and truly stunning and our 3 year old loved playing with the toys, games and dress up box. And we all enjoyed the tasty breakfasts in the conservatory. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 607Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Our thanks to them for coming to visit us. We loved having them and it was a great pleasure to look after them. Broadcroft lends its self to families and Lymington is a terrific place to holiday with so much going on and glorious weather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We've just come back from a LOVELY time staying at Broadcroft, which we can't recommend highly enough. After a truly hideous drive down from London we were sent straight into the garden, where a paddling pool had been set up for our three young children, and we were able to recuperate with tea, cake, biscuits while the children rushed around and let off energy. Heather and Billy not only looked after us beautifully (lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts), they were wonderful with our children, cooked tea for them and babysat both nights. A real home from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apricot_jam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
What a fabulous family, we just loved having them! they were perfect in every way and it was OUR pleasure to look after them!

Billy and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Broadcroft is a classy B&B that has everything you need for an enjoyable and relaxing break. It's in a quiet road but within easy walking distance to Lymington town centre and the salt mashes. The house is spacious and very well equipped. The gardens are a delight, full of colour and interest. The breakfasts are simply delicious. But best of all, Heather and Billy are so friendly and welcoming, with nothing too much trouble. This really is a cut above the rest - you can't do better than this!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We simply loved having the HONEY's to stay, they were complete "honeys" and it was our pleasure to entertain them and chat about their recent holiday in Cornwall ,and show them our garden How lucky we are to live in such a good situation in lymington, close to the town and the marsh and river and to have lovely guests to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Arriving at Broadcroft we were made immediately welcome by Heather, our impeccable hostess who'd even remembered it was our wedding anniversary - nothing was too much trouble and her discreet attention to detail is remarkable. We were ushered into the conservatory and plied with tea and delicious cakes. What a delightful spot - beautiful garden, a comfortable and most interesting house in which we felt very much at home and sad to leave. Breakfast was tasty, fresh and as extensive as you like (recommend trying Heather's fishcakes if they're on offer!) and it well and truly sets you up for the day. As a location Broadcroft is excellent - an easy walk into Lymington, and the nearby marshes on the Solent Way are delightful to explore - you can walk to Keyhaven and leave the car behind. We had a tasty pub meal at the Fisherman's Rest which again is a short walk away. Superb! David & Claire - Deal, Kent

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We just loved having David and Claire. They could not have been more delightfull or thoughtfull and kind. I had actually just had to take my poor husband to Southampton General hospital, as he had had a horrid fall, but all was well and I am so glad they enjoyed their visit and we had some very interesting and informative discussions. How lucky we are to live in a lovely part of the world and have delightful guests to stay
Heather Howard 14/6/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My elderly mother and I enjoyed two nights at this very comfortable and homely B&B. From the time we rang the doorbell to announce our arrival to the time we said our "goodbyes", our every need was catered for and we were given a warm welcome by Billy and Heather Howard. Following a long drive, we were ushered into a large conservatory that overlooks a well stocked garden (the resident robins kept us entertained for hours by their antics) and we so appreciated a steaming cup of tea, home-made scones and cake. To have a wing of the house to ourselves, and a private sitting room with TV, was very relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for our genial hosts. The freshly prepared scrumptious brekkas offered a wide choice for vegetarians and meat eaters. Mum and I left feeling very refreshed and took away with us many happy memories of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planetafryca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209Heather, Owner at Broadcroft B&B, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We just loved having them. Rowena and her mother were the perfect guests, and it was our pleasure to look after them. Lymington is such a good place to live and so much to do and see.How luck we are.
Heather and Billy Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
2.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia House
Britannia House
#4 of 44 in Lymington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadcroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadcroft B&B

Property: Broadcroft B&B
Address: 28 Broad Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be able to unwind and completely relax at Broadcroft bed and breakfast in Lymington. The Lymington B&B is situated on a quiet road just South of the high street, so you will be within easy walking distance of the town, Woodside park, the sea wall and the marinas. We have a double and a twin bedroom, each with private bathrooms, available for Lymington Bed and Breakfast guests. Broadcroft B&B is perfect for families with young children and pets. We are children and pet friendly and have a fully secure garden so you can relax whilst the little ones play. At Broadcroft you will enjoy comfortable accommodation, excellent service and an ideal location for exploration - all at an affordable price. Guests have their own large sitting room (with TV, DVD player, games and puzzles) with access to the garden. There is a guest fridge in the breakfast room too. We are also just 10 minutes drive from the Milford-on-sea beaches, and the New Forest National Park. There are a wide range of activities available for our guests. We'll gladly assist you, whatever your needs. 2 Nights preferred on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadcroft B&B Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing