We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pub b&b in scenic area”
Review of The Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mayflower
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice pub b&b in scenic area”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Have made various visits here for lunch or early evening food and never been disappointed. Quality and service always been good. 5pm to 7pm is happy hour but also they serve two burgers or two sizzler meals for £12 Monday to Friday 5pm to 7pm. We had a rump steak and also a prawn fajita which were cooked to perfection (a £1.50 premium applied to both) Steak served with large bowl of chips, onion rings and mushrooms. Large garden area outside with small childrens playground area. Close to Lymington harbour so pleasant post or pre lunch wandering around the area. Great place to chill out on a wet Feb afternoon beside the log fire.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wmp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    70
    27
    26
    18
See reviews for
63
104
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Bright, airy and large room and bathroom, both clean and tidy. Friendly and efficient staff made us feel really welcome. Ate dinner there one evening, lovely food and great wine list. Open fire so dog very happy to chill out! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

20 of us hit-up the Mayflower for a friend's birthday. we had a drink at the bar as the table wasn't quite ready. Atmosphere was warm and friendly and the interior, modern but rustic.
I had a sirloin steak (£14.50) which was well cooked, with chips and peppercorn sauce. Service was
pretty good, especially for such a large group. The food came out pretty much in one fell swoop.
Staff probably could have sold the group more drinks though!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-custard-king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEPTON MALLET
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a Pub/Hotel we arrived early but were greeted with a smile by Sam and taken to our room and given full details of entry should we return late, breakfast times etc.Our room was "Salterns" overlooking the Marina and out to sea, The decor was drab but it was clean and well stocked with tea, coffee, and drinking chocolate, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a tall heated towel rail which kept the room really warm, the only negative observation would be the toilet seat! It was of the wooden varnished variety, the varnished had cracked and had peeled away,it just looked dirty, the shower was excellent with clean towels every day.Our first night we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed our meal, and for breakfast you had a choice of continental or the full Monty! The staff were excellent with exception of one who was very indifferent and very impersonal towards us which let the team down but we ignored it and went on and enjoyed our "Break Away"

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Friends recommended this hotel as it is in a great location ad dog friendly. They go regularly and we can be quite fussy. But from the moment we arrived we felt comfortable. We were greeted by Sam who showed us to our room and explained the format re coming and going etc. the room was very pleasant, welcoming, clean, huge bathroom and great view. Kettle on the dresser with plenty of tea, coffee, milk, hot chocolate - and re stocked. There was not a hair dryer but I asked and it was delivered to the room in minutes. Wardrobe with ample hangers for a weekend break. We arrived quite late on Friday so drank and ate in the bar, presentation good and tasted lovely. I was tired so I retired to the room with the dog and took the rest of my bottle ;) my husband continued his conversation with some lovely people in the bar. It is like a big friendly house. Breakfast was good quality, plenty of choice - and staff very attentive without being to intrusive. Parking fine - right outside and safe. You can walk to the shops / near by restaurants and bars, as well as Lyndhurst is only 10/15 minute drive away. Loved it and we will be back. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scantheman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We had a family meal for a very special occasion at the Mayflower. The food & the service were at best average, for food that was higher priced!
We had a mix of starters, mains & deserts. Not all are as described. The roast was dry & tasted of yesterday's re-heated potatoes, the sizler was good, but the chips were just straight out the fryer frozen chips. I would expect more for the price. Average at best....

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kelizabeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Was slightly concern reading other reviews but they were very misleading. The room I booked five rooms for members of the family and all the rooms were clean and well presented ours was a very large four poster.The breakfast was lovely and huge with lots of toast and there was a lovely view from the dining room. The evening meal was also good and very reasonably priced. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.6 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,555 reviews
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,154 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower

Property: The Mayflower
Address: Kings Saltern Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the harbour of Lymington on the South Coast, The Mayflower is a stunning coastal inn which has superb dining and stylish rooms with seaside views. Our six bedrooms are beautifully finished, each with their own unique, comforting and contemporary twist. Sleep in the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen, bathe in beautiful Victorian roll-top baths and enjoy some down-time with a Nespresso while looking out over the Solent. Recently awarded a coveted AA Rosette, we pride ourselves in supporting all things British and all things local, so expect to dine on the finest ingredients that Hampshire and the beautiful South Coast have to offer. Our talented chefs have lovingly prepared a delicious menu, including beautiful seasonal dishes such as crab and lobster macaroni with spinach, morels and tarragon or Buffalo mozzarella, heirloom tomatoes, grilled pepper and basil bruschetta. With an extensive wine list, the best in class ales and a great selection of creative gin cocktails, we have something for everyone at The Mayflower. As a nation, we love to experience the outdoors with our food and drinks. Come summer time, our guests can enjoy our spacious garden, with a picture perfect coastal backdrop as far as the eye can see. The perfect location for al fresco dining. In the winter time, we have real log fires throughout the pub to keep you warm on the coldest of nights. We are conveniently located on the South Coast in Hampshire and are very near to the Isle of Wight and the New Forest - which are truly beautiful at any time of the year, and offer the best in sailing adventures, sightseeing and countryside pursuits. Whether it's a perfectly British Sunday lunch, a lazy afternoon in the garden with friends or a romantic getaway, make The Mayflower your destination of choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mayflower Hotel Lymington
Mayflower Hotel Lymington
The Mayflower Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing