We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay in lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leyland Country House
Ranked #7 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab stay in lovely B&B”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely B&B in perfect (quiet) location - walk to the town.
Breakfast was fab and owner was kind enough to cook us breakfast when we got up late & missed it! The pink room has a separate private bathroom next door - was given robes and didn't cause any issues. Plenty of parking, room and bathroom were clean and nicely decorated. Would stay again, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophsLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your very excellent review . Wendy and myself try very hard to ensure all our clients have the best time possible. Delighted you would recommend us.
Thank you
Liese and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    46
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
171
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Leyland Country House is a very nice, clean and comfortable country house. Our room was at the top of the house and had super views. There was plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room and the breakfast was tasty and big enough although not as huge as the menu suggested. The only downside was that to access our bathroom we had to go from our bedroom, across to our private bathroom in a door opposite. Otherwise it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for your delightful review we are so pleased you had a lovely time.
Liese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the self catering converted Barn - a 1 bedroom apartment style accommodation just beside the main Leyland Country House.
The location here is great and just a short walk from the town centre - although avoid walking in/out of town in the dark as there's a short bit of road with a dicey bend! Also brilliantly situated for exploring the New Forest - great walks and woodland all on the doorstep - or if you want something a bit more open, then the Sea Wall walk and ferry to the Isle of Wight are just a short walk away too.
The accommodation itself is good, although I have stayed in better self catering across the country. The main lounge area is spacious, but the bedroom and bathroom are very tight. Although the owner was very nice on arrival and departure, the instructions left in the Barn for 'self-caterers' aren't quite in line with what I'm used to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted that you had a great time with us and found us open and friendly. The barn is very good value and extremely popular. We could put a much smaller bed in the bedroom, the bed at present is a super king, therefore making it more comfortable for our guests. We also have a huge demand for twin beds.
We are glad you had a comfortable stay and good break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed good service in a relaxed atmosphere.
The Pink room was very clean and well decorated with lovely views. Excellent breakfast.
The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.
We found the location excellent with good access to reach Lymington.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pink room which was excellent, up two flights of stairs, which may not be convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for review, The pink room is one of our most popular rooms, as it is quiet and super value for what we offer. All our rooms have just been totally re-painted , steam cleaned, a new blind along with new bathroom floors. So do come and stay. We hope you will stay again in the future, do tell your friends!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, Northants
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked this bed and breakfast to have a few days away for our 10th anniversary (the New Forest was our very first holiday as a couple). The owner, (Liese Cairnes), met us upon arrival and immediately made us feel so welcome. She also recommended places to eat and things to see. We had the purple room which was absolutely gorgeous! We fell in love with the decor of the en suite which is stunning. The bedroom itself is very stylish and has some great touches such as a proper coffee machine. Liese also provided us with fresh milk upon request. All the staff were really friendly and the service was exceptional. Breakfast was very tasty and fulfilling. In summary we couldn't fault the place and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. 5 stars!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cccccjjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
What an amazing review! Thank you so very much! It is reviews like this that make all the hard work behind the scenes worthwhile.
All we want and our job is to ensure that all guests have the best time we can possibly deliver. All my staff are British and we are the classic in modern BRITISH bed and breakfast. I do feel this is what clients wish, to sample and be give an insight in to proper British culture.
Many Thanks
Liese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for three nights just a couple of days ago. Welcoming and friendly my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the "White" room which was lovely in all respects. Would recommend if available. Food plentiful and of very good quality. Location superb with short walk to Lymington centre of around 15 mins and room to sit outside in patio area. Very friendly indeed. Would stay again without hesitation if choosing to stay in the Lymington area.
Thank you.
Keith and Judy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Keith and Judy
Many many thanks for a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you both again,
Liese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely guest house in walking distance of Lymington. Room was clean,and appreciated all the extra little touches. Breakfast was lovely and a warm welcome received. Here is the but, the house is old and has original doors which are very noisy,especially when other guests are inconsiderate enough to let them bang in the early hours. This meant our sleep was disturbed and the following day was a bit short due to being tired. I wouldn't stay there again but would recommend to heavy sleepers!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland1, Owner at Leyland Country House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your sleep was disturbed by an inconsiderate guest. It is an unfortunate hazard for all owners I am afraid. The doors are not old, they are original doors with very modern, expensive door handles. There are only 3 doors that have 'closers' on them, that completely reduce the door noise to virtually nil. However guests on the very odd occasion, force these doors, particularly if they may have had the odd too many glasses of wine! It is annoying, we have checked and re-positioned the 'closers' this has reduced the issue. Thank you for making us aware of it, please do come back again and see us.
Liese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#6 of 7 in Lymington
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Mill at Gordleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leyland Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leyland Country House

Property: Leyland Country House
Address: Leyland Undershore, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leyland Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your host, Liese Cairnes, invites you to spend a truly sumptuous break in her highly contemporary and beautifully designed country bed and breakfast property in Lymington. Leyland's luxury bed and breakfast facilities afford its guests exceptional comfort and tranquility, whilst at the same time offering all the amenities of Lymington, which lies within easy walking distance of the B&B. Leyland offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with spacious en-suite or private bathrooms with luxury toiletries. Each of the individually designed bedrooms at Leyland have bottled water, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV/DVD, free Wi-Fi, and each room has a spacious en suite or private bathroom with luxury toiletries, comfortable bathrobes and slippers. Guests enjoy their freshly made full-English breakfasts in the newly renovated Breakfast Room overlooking the fields and trees beyond. All breakfasts are home-cooked and include handmade local sausages and organic barn eggs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Leyland Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leyland Country House Hotel Lymington
Leyland Country House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing