We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Chequers Inn

Chequers Inn
Ranked #44 of 119 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A pub that would attract all ages, families or singles. Lovely country setting with nice outside area which had an outside bar and speakers which didn't deafen you. Seating could be for large or smaller parties. The food was very good with cheaper options on the menu and a good variety to choose from. Very popular with locals and visitors alike. I will definitely go back and highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    95
    29
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great pub, dogs welcome, proper pub food well priced. What a nice change, proper country pub, last time we visited in the winter the log burner was on, this time we eat in the court yard, friendly staff and landlord has a refreshing sense of humour! Proper English pub

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicar-adey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good traditional pub”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great traditional pub in a nice quiet location. Very pleasant garden at the rear to relax in. Good selection of beers and food menu.
Well patronised by the locals. A great stop off point after a walk along the Solent Way and the salt marshes. Dog friendly. Plenty of different areas of the pub to enjoy. Can get very busy especially at weekends.
I think this pub has a feel good factor. We always find the staff pleasant and efficient. Speak as you find.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank promenade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
977 reviews
560 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Huge.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Says it all. Better than it has ever been. Great beers and great food and superb hosting by a lovely mix of staff ages. Young enthusiasms tempered by age and experience. Bring it on. I will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very relaxed Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Surprised about the negative comments. We called in for an early Sunday lunch, and the staff were very welcoming, there was a good buzz about the place, and it clearly is a good local. The Sea Bass was fresh, and beautifully cooked, in fact all the food was very good.

The place could do with a lick of paint here and there, but we'll definitely come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chequers Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing