We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at Britten House”
Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #4 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at Britten House”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is the 5th time we have stayed at Britten House and each time Colin and Ann have made us feel most welcome. The room is equipped with a large comfy bed, large screen TV, Tea and Coffee facilities and plenty of storage. The shower is supplied with soffened water and is generously sized. The breakfast is freshly cooked and there is a large choice of serials, fruit juice, yoghurts, preserves and fresh fruit, if you time it right you can sit by the window and watch the sun rise over the sea.

Room Tip: The 'Bach Suite' on the ground floor is really large with generous en-suite shower room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
181
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The most Easterly town in the UK boasts the star of B&Bs. The childhood home of Benjamin Britten, this beautifully restored and appointed house is owned and managed by a couple, Ann and Colin, whose hospitality and attention to detail is second to none. This was our second stay at Britten House, this time with friends and gives the lie to the old adage "Never go Back!" This stay was, if possible, even more notable than the last. This time we were in the Mozart room. Not only a Four-Poster bed and a sofa looking over the sea, but a wonderful steam shower/bath in which I could have spent an entire afternoon - and probably will on a future visit. Despite arriving in the snow (in April!) and a strong North-Easterly blowing from Siberia with waves big enough for brave surfers, we had a wonderful two-day chill-out. Leaving, refreshed and full of the most "English" of breakfasts, we felt as if we'd been on holiday for a week. As Arnie said "I'll be back...."

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house look over the sea. "Mozart" has a wonderful stem shower/ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goingontotheend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Typical British weather (Snow in spring) but it was only when snugly tucked up that night in an very comfortable bed that I realised how nice and warm the room had been on arrival. Very clean bathroom with fluffy towels. All extra touches one would expect from a top class place plus home made jam in the morning to accompany a well cooked full English. Colin couldn't have been more helpful in helping us get on track to find a property to live in - even gave us his local paper to compliment the online searches! Would recommend to my mother - need I say more!

Room Tip: Had the schubert suite, very spacious, which had a view of the sea also one bedroom downstairs where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Britten House was beautiful, we were welcomed with a smile and given some knowledge of the local area, for example where to eat. We had beautiful sea views and a great little en suit. The room was cleaned and restocked when we went out, which was a nice surprise. It was a great stay and I would recommend it, especially as the price is great value for money. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, I had the fish option which was poached eggs and smocked haddock, both cooked to perfection.
The only problem is Lowestoft, it isn't a very nice seaside town, it's tired and old looking. We were visiting Southwold so this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmm1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Have just spent the windiest coldest and snowiest March weekend in the wonderful Britten House in Lowestoft the most easterly town in the UK!
Once the home of the famous British composer Benjamin Britten it offers a lovely welcome by the co owner Ann and a comfortable room with a wonderful view of the sea and on this occasion the approaching snow and rain. The room and house generally, is very well appointed tastefully decorated with a fantastically comfortable bed and luxurious shower. Even with the gale moaning outside all weekend you felt snug warm and safe...ideal!
The breakfast cheerfully served and beautifully cooked by co owner Colin whose chatty and informative nature starts the day well. The breakfast is perfectly cooked and there is a lot of it and is supervised by a bust of Benjamin Britten....a nice touch is that the butter that arrives with the toast is not brick hard straight out of the freezer so it easily spreads to accept the glorious home made marmalade!
One of the nicest and friendliest b and bs we have been to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We spent two nights at Britten House over last weekend so that we could go to the local theatre. Our room was spacious, clean, warm and very comfortable. Very nice en suite even if we couldn't master the very sophisticated bath, which (in theory) would allow you to bath, shower or have a back or foot massage. Breakfast was a feast, food beautifully cooked by Ann and served up by Colin. A super couple with their extremely well behaved dog Benjamin, made our break very pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Mozart Room has lovely views and is extremely spacious with sofa and table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed for one night on 15th March & were impressed by the overall standard of the premises, the cleanliness, attention to detail the breakfast was great & the friendliness of the staff
This is one of the Best B & B's we have stayed in.It is about a 15 minute walk to the main shopping area & is across the road form the sea front

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Property: Britten House
Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing