We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britten House
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parkhill(Lowestoft)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
296
36
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
36
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmozart suiteb bhomemade marmaladesea frontfiltered waterfull englishsea viewfriendly ownersmini fridgefour poster bedexcellent hostsbreakfast was excellentlittle touchescomfortable bedbreakfast roomcooked breakfastlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our second stay at Britten House and I hope we will have more. Colin and Ann could not be better hosts. The rooms are lovely and the food delicious. If you ae looking for a base to explore East Anglia or just to chill out locally look no further. Our only regret is we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Yes, the talent is with Ann and Colin, the best hosts you can come across. Ann with her professionalism, friendliness and fine cooking, Colin with his sense of humour and welcoming to the breakfast room.
This was our 5th stay in exactly two years so please read my previous four reviews because it is so easy to repeat. Having said that may be it is time to give another full review to save you looking back.
Britten House is in a fabulous location just beyond Claremont Pier, and our room at the front had uninterrupted views of the sea. The Guest House has parking for four vehicles but there is ample free parking on the road outside. Our room, a family room, visited as always with our grandson, was very large with excellent en-suite facilities. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided with the addition of a mini fridge and a fan for the hotter months.
As for the breakfasts, we have never had better wherever we have stayed. On our first morning I had the Traditional "full English" massive, I didn't ask for it on the second day only because I felt so greedy eating so much. Having said that my second choice was the poached haddock with scrambled egg, so tasty. The good thing about the breakfast is that you can have whatever you want. Apart from the cooked element of the breakfast the fresh fruit salad was a lovely start for us and Ann's homemade preserves for the toast was second to none.
Needless to say our 6th visit will be next year and long may it continue, Britten House will always be there but only with Ann and Colin at the helm will it always be Nr1 in Lowestoft.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had an excellent stay at Britten House. The room we had was excellent, clean and nice view of the beach. The breakfast is so nice and nicely cooked. Ann and Colin are wonderful host. They made us so welcome and made us feel at home. We will surely stay at Britten House next time we go to Lowestoft. We will surely recommend Britten House to everyone. We would like to wish you all the very best and we are looking forward to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Having looked at previous reviews prior to booking, my wife and I were pleased to see that the reviews were well earned. Great hospitality, room,breakfast and local knowledge to ensure your evenings were filled with equally good food. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 2 nights due to work but we plan on coming back again for a longer period.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayson_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Could not fault this hotel everything as it should be rooms were very comfortable lovely big shower room. Plenty of tea coffee biscuits you only have to ask if you want more of anything the best breakfast I have had away from home

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews