We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in coastal location”
Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #3 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent hotel in coastal location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We received a warm welcome to Britten House and the hosts were keen to answer our queries about Benjamin Britten and his ties with Lowestoft. The room furniture had been carefully & tastefully chosen with the bed being spacious and very comfortable. The room was immaculately clean and met our every need. The bathroom was especially spacious. For breakfast there was a good choice including an excellent fresh fruit salad; the English breakfast was sourced from good quality local ingredients. In all, an excellent venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryRockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
It was lovely to have you stay and thank you for your review.
Kindest regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
180
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I was working in Lowestoft and had a 3 night stay at Britten house , everything was just perfect , beautiful decorated rooms comfy bed and a superb breakfast . What more could you ask for and Ann and her hubby couldn't do enough for you . Superb stay look forward to staying again !!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Superb!!! There is nothing to add except to say, thank you for staying and come back soon.
Kindest regards
Ann Ceresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome here, we were met at the door and helped in with our bags and shown to our room which was located at the top floor of this beautiful characterful building overlooking the sea. The room had everything we could have asked for and the bed was extremely comfortable the bedding was also of a high quality. The shower was also quite splendid and the towels were extremely soft, large and luxurious We had brought our one year old along for the trip and she was also made to feel welcome and catered for with a high chair and breakfast in the morning, which was quite delicious and very filling served on a huge plate with fresh toast and coffee. All in all an memorable experience which we would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JonAndFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. Your little one was absolutely lovely, and so good. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Beautiful and clean room with, as promised a sea view. Warm welcome, made to feel at home instantly.Large selection at breakfast which was well cooked and well presented. Nothing too much trouble at this lovely B & B. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and stay at Britten House.
Kind regards
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have just had a brilliant few days at Britten House. The breakfasts were really excellent and the room was most comfortable and had every conceivable convenience for a first-class stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful and on several occasions went well beyond what I would have expected to ensure that I had a good time there. I can certainly recommend Britten House very strongly and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for a lovely review.
We always try our best. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kindest regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent B&B. Well appointed, clean comfortable room with great attention to detail and a really comfy bed. Breakfast was first class, good quality ingredients, fresh fruit and freshly brewed coffee. Private parking and strong Wifi. Perfection.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a lovely room on the first floor looking out over the sea ,breakfast was lovely and set you up for the day. Had a lovely few days there over Easter.Would return if ever we wanted to stay on the East Coast again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you, I believe Breakfast should set you up for the day, and I love cooking it. I have just had a lovely guest who took some pictures of his vegetarian breakfast so I will put them on line soon.
Best wishes, Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Property: Britten House
Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing