We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #3 of 29 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I usually stay at chain hotels but fancied a change so found Britten House on Booking.com. I will definitely stay here again!

I was made very welcome by all the family and had a fantastic room (Mozart I believe) with 4 poster bed, settee, TV/DVD, beautiful views and a very snazzy bath! One of the best nights sleep I've had for ages - it was like sleeping in a cloud.

Breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and very friendly service.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I upgraded to the Mozart and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are on cloud nine too, after receiving your review.
Thank you.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
178
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was fun to stay somewhere with historical interest, we slept in the room that Britten is believed to have been born in! The room was very nicely furnished and extremely spacious with everything we would need including a mini fridge and luxurious linen. The owners were very pleasant and gave us lots of information on where to eat locally. The breakfast was fabulous and cooked to order with very nice quality ingredients and plentiful. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Not every room had a sea view and one looked like it had a four poster so ask when booking if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilliePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
A Great B&B will fulfil three needs, the bedroom, the bathroom and the breakfast.
I am so glad you enjoyed all three, especially the breakfast.
I look forward to cooking for you again next time.
Kind regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingbourne Ducis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Britten House is the epitome of decadence and hospitality. Although I only stayed one night it was the most pleasurable of places. The rooms are clean, with luxury en-suite and the breakfast was divine, all this and surrounded by memories of Benjamin Britten...Excellent abode and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It is always lovely to hear how much our guests enjoy their stay.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We received a warm welcome to Britten House and the hosts were keen to answer our queries about Benjamin Britten and his ties with Lowestoft. The room furniture had been carefully & tastefully chosen with the bed being spacious and very comfortable. The room was immaculately clean and met our every need. The bathroom was especially spacious. For breakfast there was a good choice including an excellent fresh fruit salad; the English breakfast was sourced from good quality local ingredients. In all, an excellent venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryRockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
It was lovely to have you stay and thank you for your review.
Kindest regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I was working in Lowestoft and had a 3 night stay at Britten house , everything was just perfect , beautiful decorated rooms comfy bed and a superb breakfast . What more could you ask for and Ann and her hubby couldn't do enough for you . Superb stay look forward to staying again !!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Superb!!! There is nothing to add except to say, thank you for staying and come back soon.
Kindest regards
Ann Ceresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome here, we were met at the door and helped in with our bags and shown to our room which was located at the top floor of this beautiful characterful building overlooking the sea. The room had everything we could have asked for and the bed was extremely comfortable the bedding was also of a high quality. The shower was also quite splendid and the towels were extremely soft, large and luxurious We had brought our one year old along for the trip and she was also made to feel welcome and catered for with a high chair and breakfast in the morning, which was quite delicious and very filling served on a huge plate with fresh toast and coffee. All in all an memorable experience which we would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JonAndFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. Your little one was absolutely lovely, and so good. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Beautiful and clean room with, as promised a sea view. Warm welcome, made to feel at home instantly.Large selection at breakfast which was well cooked and well presented. Nothing too much trouble at this lovely B & B. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and stay at Britten House.
Kind regards
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
1.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#8 of 9 in Lowestoft
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#4 of 29 in Lowestoft
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Property: Britten House
Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing