We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"They have got it just right"”
Review of Britten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britten House
Ranked #4 of 28 Lowestoft B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"They have got it just right"”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having read through the existing reviews to influence our interest, we have just had the pleasure of a couple of nights stay in this excellent B&B establishment. From being welcomed by Ann on our arrival to being waved away by Colin on our departure, the hosts seem to have found the right balance of friendliness and professionalism.

Parking the car is extremely easy as there are lots of FREE on-street bays. If by any chance you are unlucky enough not to get one, directly opposite is a pay and display car park that charges a daytime rate of 0.90p per hour, so if needed you can park on there to unload your luggage and await a free space. Also the pay and display becomes FREE between the hours of 6:00pm – 8:00am.

Our room the “Elgar Suite” up one small flight of stairs was at the front of the building with beautiful sea views and was sumptuously fitted out with quality furniture and affects, which made our stay most relaxing.

Breakfast (7:30 – 9:00am) was served in the delightful bright and airy dining room/lounge area. Choice was plentiful, with quality brands available. I would personally recommend having the muesli with fresh fruit, followed by freshly cooked (by Ann) full English breakfast, (the sausages and bacon were very very tasty!), and Brown bread toast and a pot of tea, all with top quality ingredients being used. Swift service by Colin with just the right amount of chitchat to be friendly but stay professional and allow you to enjoy the wonderful food he is serving.

Well done to you both! You deserve praise for the service you provide and I hope that other Tripadvisor users will find this honest review helpful and assist them when making their choice of somewhere to stay when visiting Lowestoft.

Shaun & Tracy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunthejinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    36
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
181
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a comfortable nights stay at Britten House, it was a very friendly atmosphere. We stayed in the back room which had a very roomy en-suite. Parked to the rear in hotel car park. We'd stay again should we re-visit the area.

Room Tip: Fantastic beach for families just over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Britten House. We found it hard to find car parking facilities and parked our car on the main road. Comfortable and friendly accommodation. Breakfast was lovely. Disabled double rooms ensuite for people who cant walk up many stairs. Beach nearly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svedala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Comfortable and friendly place. Nice and clean room. Excellent breakfast and a very friendly atmosphere. The view from our room was fantastic overlooking the beach and the sea. This is wellness sorts trying if in Lowestoft.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a very good stay nice room overlooking the sea.
VERY CLEAN. Comfortable bed.
There are no words to say how good the breakfast was ten out of ten.
Very friendly couple made you feel very welcome.

Allan & Rose Marie west yks.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseMarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Comfortable, friendly accommodation. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. In the best part of Lowestoft. Short walk to the best beach. Take your own deckchairs. Easy pleasant walk to town centre. Choice of restaurants nearby limited

Room Tip: Chopin Suite has an excellent large shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragon207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. Always made to feel welcome by the owners. Comfortable beds delicious breakfast. It overlooks the beach uninterrupted views. Short walk from restaurants and Lowestoft town centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pam152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britten House

Property: Britten House
Address: 21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Britten House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Britten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britten House Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing