We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good cheap fun

Get there at 10 and you'll be able to fill a day there. A lovely mixture of small and large rides... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Danikat87
via mobile
Very nice

I've seen a lot of bad reviews on here however I can not fault it staff always accommodating and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
743anony
via mobile
Read all 2,023 reviews
  
Reviews (2,023)
Filter reviews
2,023 results
Traveller rating
637
594
340
210
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
594
340
210
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviews theme park sea lion show alton towers thrill rides all ages big rides thorpe park woody bear jolly roger pleasure wood hills hobbs pit high dive show timber falls family rides value for money tesco vouchers summer holidays
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 2,023 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Was a lovely day yesterday, bubble waffles with ice cream are lovely. Great atmosphere. Only disappointed with the fact are pictures from rootin tootin have not been sent through yet. Two pictures were £4 in total. These have not been sent which is unfortunate. Because of this I’ve given 4 stars but it was a good day in general

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Ellie, thank you for your kind review. It was indeed a lovely day. Unfortunately, due to a technical glitch the photos couldn't be retrieved on the day. If you haven't done so already, please send your codes to reception@pleasurewoodhills.com and we will contact the software supplier and do everything we can to retrieve your photos. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We went to pleasurewood hills today (27/05/18) and arrived a hour after opening. There was a short wait to get into the park with 4 desks open. We managed to get 2 adult tickets on groupon for £25 but failed to remember to get my just over 1m tall 3 year old. Her ticket alone was a whopping £19 on its in. It’s been around 17 years since I’ve last been, being only around 15 at the time. Despite a spruce up, a few new rides it’s amazing how little it’s changed. We went to the sea lion show first and was great as it always has been. Well planned and very entertaining. However deafening music in the background if you sit on the top row with a push chair. Most of the rides are requiring another lick of paint, however it is evident money is being invested into the park to make it fresh. Other than the one big roller coaster visible for the car park very few rides offer a white knuckle experience. The park obviously still caters for the younger family’s but leave teenagers and older riding a few rides on offer. The parrot show was good also, nothing greatly new if your fortunate to have regularly seen other bird shows. The old crinkly bottom castle is now an event theatre only opened on specified dates. Food is okay but the food staff seem to be social peaches, very softly spoken and not overly caring. Ride staff were all very friendly and had great communication asking us about our day. The unlimited hot drink for £6 is well worth the cash if you don’t mind sharing or drinking your fill you’ll get good value. The park could also do with removing the old rides rather than boarding them up. That poor old rattler coaster, although I can only imaging it was no longer serviceable. It wouldn’t go amiss to give one of the security team or engineers a striker when they’re not required. This review may sound a scathing attack in the park however it does deserve the 3 stars for the kids entertainment. All in all, food, drinks, entry today cost £69 for two adults and a 3 year old.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 142dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Dan, thank you for your review. I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed the majority of your day - we are a family theme park and do our best to have something for everyone. There are six more 'thrill rides' additional to Wipeout that will give you a white knuckle experience. Hopefully your next visit will be a 5/5 experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Pleasurewood Hills is decent enough but could be so much better. There are areas of the park that desperately need attention & are starting to look well past their sell-by date & uncared for. There are thrill rides like Timber Falls (where you ride in logs on turbulent white water) and Wipeout (the main attraction & the region’s largest roller coaster), and then there are family rides like mini dodgems, big train, Wave Breaker (where you shoot down a slide in a dinghy), & go-karts. The staff could have made the experience so much better, some are pretty apathetic, unmotivated & uncommitted and simply do only the basic tasks, but some do seem to realise that you've paid to have fun and try to make sure that you do. Generally, not a bad day out but I left feeling that with a few little adjustments it could have been so much better.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the majority of your day - we are a family theme park and do our best to have something for everyone. Our team is a big part of the experience and are trained to be great every day. If this wasn't the case, we will try and improve it as much as we possibly can. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Yesterday I decided to give Pleasurewood Hills another chance. I last visited over 20 years ago and was not impressed.

Sadly my opinion has not changed. We arrived early to make the day of it. We found a large part of the park closed on until 12:00 noon.

As we walked round we saw lots of rust, flaking paint and apathetic staff. We also found lots of defunded sections where parts of rides remained behind ropes or fencing.

At lunch time we found at least 2 of the restaurant’s totally closed and the others with long slow queues.

My wife is in a wheelchair and although the surface was not too bad we found travelling at points very difficult due to pitted concrete that trapped her wheels and steps in levels. Toilets were widely spaced and plentiful, sadly some of the ‘disabled’ toilets were located up steps making them impossible to access until another female visitor very kindly offered to take my wife in (after I negotiated the steps for her)

The plus side: the Sea Lion/seal show was entertaining and well run. The staff running these events were well trained and VERY helpful. The same staff ran the Parrots show which went equally well and we thank them for their care and entertainment.

Most of the rides are free once you pay the entrance fee (we paid slightly less @ £55, than standard charge using a Groupon voucher).

Another plus was the ‘unlimited hot drinks’ offer. We paid £6 each for a reusable insulated cup and had free tea/coffee for the rest of the day. Worth doing if, like us, you drink lots of tea and coffee. We drank 4 each during the day so saved £2 each.

The children enjoyed the day, with plenty of children’s rides.

Overall, we found the day disappointing & overpriced. As one member of staff said to us “it needs someone to come in and spend £6 million or so to give it a complete makeover”.

I will perhaps come back in 20 years to see if it’s improved.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank chrisnbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Chris, thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't have the experience that we would like to offer. I think that the pictures look like you and your family have had great fun and I'm glad that you enjoyed the shows and the hot drink offer. We show on the maps that a part of the park opens at 12:00. We will be looking into improvements for our disabled visitors to make their experience as smooth as possible. Hopefully you will visit us again sooner than in 20 years and you will enjoy your visit more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Had a great day, ok the park is a little dated but you can’t complain to much. It’s clean and has rides for all ages. If you want to pay double the price and spend hours queueing up for rides then visit the bigger theme parks. Every staff member was so perlite and helpful and for some of there ages it’s a credit to management for training them well. We had a great day out. Let’s hope the park keeps growing

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jaynicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for your nice feedback! We are a proud local theme park that values family fun and it is down to our staff to make that happen too. I will forward your lovely remarks to the whole team and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews