We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasurewood visit on bank holiday”
Review of Pleasurewood Hills

Pleasurewood Hills
Ranked #9 of 31 things to do in Lowestoft
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set within 50 acres of enclosed coastal parkland and just 10mins from the seaside town of Great Yarmouth, Pleasurewood Hills Family Theme Park has so much to do and explore, visitors can whizz around on the HYPER DRIVE dodgems NEW for 2015 the 11th new attraction in just 5 years! Experience a ride on the Marble Madness rollercoaster or jump onboard Wipeout, the tallest, fastest and most extreme roller coaster in the East of England! Get soaked on Timber Falls log flume, enjoy some family fun in the Kiddie Zone or simply relax and enjoy fantastic shows with The Sea Lions and our Playful Parrots. We also offers a wide selection of places to eat and drink which include Christines Tea Room, Flying Fish, Porky's Pantry and an alfresco style Terrace Cafe/Bar the Merry Mariner. Where possible we use locally sourced fresh and healthy ingredients for a delicious choice of food and drinks that provide customers with a great value nutritious meal. So, whether you're an adrenaline thrill ride seeker or looking for an exciting fun packed day out full of precious family memories, Pleasurewood Hills has it all, it's fab fun for everyone!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
A TripAdvisor Member
83
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are a family of five, children 6,9&11, plenty to do for all ages, very friendly caring staff. Some great animal shows in amongst many rides. Will definitely come again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! The animals are the stars of the park, aren't they? We hope to see you and the family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"theme park"
in 187 reviews
"sea lion show"
in 144 reviews
"hobs pit"
in 82 reviews
"alton towers"
in 81 reviews
"log flume"
in 70 reviews
"bigger rides"
in 40 reviews
"thrill rides"
in 57 reviews
"all ages"
in 174 reviews
"big rides"
in 42 reviews
"jolly roger"
in 35 reviews
"thorpe park"
in 33 reviews
"pleasure wood hills"
in 54 reviews
"magic show"
in 29 reviews
"hobbs pit"
in 28 reviews
"woody bear"
in 26 reviews
"timber falls"
in 23 reviews
"family rides"
in 21 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was a lovely day yesterday, bubble waffles with ice cream are lovely. Great atmosphere. Only disappointed with the fact are pictures from rootin tootin have not been sent through yet. Two pictures were £4 in total. These have not been sent which is unfortunate. Because of this I’ve given 4 stars but it was a good day in general

Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ellie, thank you for your kind review. It was indeed a lovely day. Unfortunately, due to a technical glitch the photos couldn't be retrieved on the day. If you haven't done so already, please send your codes to reception@pleasurewoodhills.com and we will contact the software supplier and do everything we can to retrieve your photos. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to pleasurewood hills today (27/05/18) and arrived a hour after opening. There was a short wait to get into the park with 4 desks open. We managed to get 2 adult tickets on groupon for £25 but failed to remember to get my just over 1m tall 3 year old. Her ticket alone was a whopping £19 on its in. It’s been around 17 years since I’ve last been, being only around 15 at the time. Despite a spruce up, a few new rides it’s amazing how little it’s changed. We went to the sea lion show first and was great as it always has been. Well planned and very entertaining. However deafening music in the background if you sit on the top row with a push chair. Most of the rides are requiring another lick of paint, however it is evident money is being invested into the park to make it fresh. Other than the one big roller coaster visible for the car park very few rides offer a white knuckle experience. The park obviously still caters for the younger family’s but leave teenagers and older riding a few rides on offer. The parrot show was good also, nothing greatly new if your fortunate to have regularly seen other bird shows. The old crinkly bottom castle is now an event theatre only opened on specified dates. Food is okay but the food staff seem to be social peaches, very softly spoken and not overly caring. Ride staff were all very friendly and had great communication asking us about our day. The unlimited hot drink for £6 is well worth the cash if you don’t mind sharing or drinking your fill you’ll get good value. The park could also do with removing the old rides rather than boarding them up. That poor old rattler coaster, although I can only imaging it was no longer serviceable. It wouldn’t go amiss to give one of the security team or engineers a striker when they’re not required. This review may sound a scathing attack in the park however it does deserve the 3 stars for the kids entertainment. All in all, food, drinks, entry today cost £69 for two adults and a 3 year old.

Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dan, thank you for your review. I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed the majority of your day - we are a family theme park and do our best to have something for everyone. There are six more 'thrill rides' additional to Wipeout that will give you a white knuckle experience. Hopefully your next visit will be a 5/5 experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasurewood Hills is decent enough but could be so much better. There are areas of the park that desperately need attention & are starting to look well past their sell-by date & uncared for. There are thrill rides like Timber Falls (where you ride in logs on turbulent white water) and Wipeout (the main attraction & the region’s largest roller coaster), and then there are family rides like mini dodgems, big train, Wave Breaker (where you shoot down a slide in a dinghy), & go-karts. The staff could have made the experience so much better, some are pretty apathetic, unmotivated & uncommitted and simply do only the basic tasks, but some do seem to realise that you've paid to have fun and try to make sure that you do. Generally, not a bad day out but I left feeling that with a few little adjustments it could have been so much better.

1  Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the majority of your day - we are a family theme park and do our best to have something for everyone. Our team is a big part of the experience and are trained to be great every day. If this wasn't the case, we will try and improve it as much as we possibly can. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yesterday I decided to give Pleasurewood Hills another chance. I last visited over 20 years ago and was not impressed.

Sadly my opinion has not changed. We arrived early to make the day of it. We found a large part of the park closed on until 12:00 noon.

As we walked round we saw lots of rust, flaking paint and apathetic staff. We also found lots of defunded sections where parts of rides remained behind ropes or fencing.

At lunch time we found at least 2 of the restaurant’s totally closed and the others with long slow queues.

My wife is in a wheelchair and although the surface was not too bad we found travelling at points very difficult due to pitted concrete that trapped her wheels and steps in levels. Toilets were widely spaced and plentiful, sadly some of the ‘disabled’ toilets were located up steps making them impossible to access until another female visitor very kindly offered to take my wife in (after I negotiated the steps for her)

The plus side: the Sea Lion/seal show was entertaining and well run. The staff running these events were well trained and VERY helpful. The same staff ran the Parrots show which went equally well and we thank them for their care and entertainment.

Most of the rides are free once you pay the entrance fee (we paid slightly less @ £55, than standard charge using a Groupon voucher).

Another plus was the ‘unlimited hot drinks’ offer. We paid £6 each for a reusable insulated cup and had free tea/coffee for the rest of the day. Worth doing if, like us, you drink lots of tea and coffee. We drank 4 each during the day so saved £2 each.

The children enjoyed the day, with plenty of children’s rides.

Overall, we found the day disappointing & overpriced. As one member of staff said to us “it needs someone to come in and spend £6 million or so to give it a complete makeover”.

I will perhaps come back in 20 years to see if it’s improved.

Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D, Marketing Manager at Pleasurewood Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Chris, thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't have the experience that we would like to offer. I think that the pictures look like you and your family have had great fun and I'm glad that you enjoyed the shows and the hot drink offer. We show on the maps that a part of the park opens at 12:00. We will be looking into improvements for our disabled visitors to make their experience as smooth as possible. Hopefully you will visit us again sooner than in 20 years and you will enjoy your visit more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pleasurewood Hills also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Pleasurewood Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;