We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, relaxing break in a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful, relaxing break in a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have just returned from a long week-end break at the Hatfield. Having visited the hotel many times before, we were pleased to see how busy it has become which I think is a testament to the very good food which is reasonably priced. We had booked the last available double room and were thrilled to discover we had been given a suite for the same price as an executive double (sea facing). The room was beautifully decorated, very spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was huge and the most comfortable we have ever slept in. If I have any criticism at all it would only be that the service was a little slow in the restaurant on our second night which I put down to how busy it was. It was a far cry from a couple of years ago when my husband and I were the only two people in the restaurant! I can highly recommend this hotel for its location, views and food. Once all the refurbishments are complete, I think the accommodation will be hard to beat too.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room if at all possible. It is well worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEWNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    166
    83
    46
    61
See reviews for
125
185
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I took my husband here for a 40th birthday long weekend. I also booked with the 40 winks offer that included £100 for food and drink. When i booked I asked for a refurnished room with a sea view as it was a special occasion and they said no problem. I then rang to confirm a few days before and i had been given none of what i asked for. I said i was not happy about this as i had booked weeks in advance. I was finally offered a refurbished room. The room itself was nicely decorated and spacious with good tea and coffee making facitlites and free mini toiletries which was a nice touch. The mattress was so hard that we had no sleep and painful backs. The room over looked the back of the kitchen and the carpark so not a pleasant view and very noisy. Also doesn't help that the hotel is next to a nightclub. The hotel is in a great position for the beach and only a short distance from the town. Also there was a free car park. We ate in the restuarant everynight and the food and service was of an excellent standard. Staff were polite and efficient, especially the restaurant manager, Shame you couldn't say the same about the reception staff.They were abrupt and rude . Not great as this is the first person the public meets. Overall It wasn't the relaxing break i had hoped for as the room location was far too noisy and the mattresses were far too hard. Food and location were good though.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for a weekend break with another couple. The 'grand' entrance (displaying Under Refurbishment' signs) wasn't particularly a good start but the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We had booked two sea-view rooms and expected them to be close by but were on different floors. That wasn't an issue but there was quite a difference in our room layouts and facilities. Our room was quite spacious with sufficient wardrobe/drawer space and although sporting a 32" flat screen TV I wasn't convinced it had been 're-furbished'. Bed linen was crisp and clean but the bed seemed small - ??? It does appear that the rooms all vary in layout, size, and decor.
Plenty of choice at the (one) bar including Anams and Green Jack local beers. We ate in the Mortons restaurant on the Friday night and can recommend their berr-battered cod and chips! Breakfast too was excellent with multiple choices from the menu. Only criticism is that on sunny mornings the seats by the window get extrememly hot and most do not open and there are no blinds.
Throughout our stay the staff were all very helpful and courteous.
Also big plus point was the car park opposite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Weekend stay with wife. Accommodation - Stayed in a refurbished sea view room, very nice but did lack drawer space for more than a weekend and bathroom could have done with shelving / cabinet for toiletries. Very comfortable and spacious.
Location - excellent, on pedestrian promenade so nice and quiet but still within 10 mins walk from town centre and bus / rail station.
Food - excellent, well presented and good value also good range of drinks in bar.
Service - Excellent, friendly,efficient and professional in all areas of hotel.
Overall- I would recommend this Hotel for a long weekend, Lowestoft is an old fashioned seaside resort but convenient for some lovely countryside.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room with sea view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirlieJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I feel some people expect to much , hotel clearly under refurbisment and will be lovely when all finished . Room was good and had great views , lovely friendly staff , breakfast set me up for the day ! We had dinner in the restaurant , food was superb and great value , would happily stay and eat there again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here on the 10/11th June on an all inclusive offer from 40 winks. I was concerned at some of the negative reviews prior to our arrival however it was overall a lovely weekend break. Upon arrival we were greeted in a very friendly manner and offered help to our room. The room was immaculate and clean and clearly had been refurbished with a lovely large modern shower. Unfortunately it was a twin room and I had booked a double. We were moved within 5 mins of telephoning the reception to a double room. This room had not yet been refurbished but it was still clean, large and of a reasonable decorative standard. The old fashioned decor was more than made up for by the fantastic sea view, comfortable bed and good range of beverages and biscuits !!. This room will be amazing when it is refurbished.
We dined at the hotel on our first evening and the food was excellent. The wine was reasonably priced and the staff were friendly. The dining room had fantastic views as did the bar. We had a shared starter and 2 courses plus wine for under £40 and felt this was fantastic value given the quality.
Breakfast was also excellent , lovely local produce and good variety. Carvery was ok and in my opinion not as bad as some reviewers have stated. Beef was delicious and for less than a price of a burger meal for 2 courses i'd say theres not much room to complain !!
All the staff were friendly, helpful and we had a great experience but best of all was being able to walk out of the restaurant and be basically straight on the beach !! One of the best located hotels we have stayed in and we would return to stay or to eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samselbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We had the Ryan suite and it was dirty stained carpet very hard and uncomfortable bed i slept in a chair all night curtains falling off rail burn marks on windowsills and in bath and bathroom skirting boards and pellets dirty and another bed was stored under our bed covered in thick dust

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#4 of 28 in Lowestoft
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Hotel Hatfield

Property: Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Address: Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western The Hotel Hatfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Best Western The Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing