We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hatfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here after a friends wedding in September 2013. The car park was full when we arrived which was a bit of an inconvenience as there is no other parking nearby. The 'double room' did not include a double bed and to top off the sheets were dirty. The bathroom was very hard to get into as the door opens into the bath, with the toilet behind the door. The shower pressure was awful and the bath mat was frayed and falling apart.

The next morning we stood for 10minutes waiting to be seated for breakfast after which we waited another 40minutes for our cooked breakfast (at this point we'd had enough of waiting and walked)

Avoid at all costs! Definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    150
    78
    43
    57
See reviews for
118
172
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and, despite our room facing the adjacent nightclub, didn't have any noise problems on either night.

The room itself had everything one would expect and was all perfectly nice, with a new bathroom to boot.

Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Staying here again. Love this place with its odd corridors and unexpected stairs. The refurb has preserved the remaining original features and the new bar and decked seating is a great addition. Staff are lovely and that always helps.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

No way is this a 3* hotel! We stayed here at the weekend for just one night, and we won't be returning. Our room at the front of the hotel had side windows covered in pigeon droppings and the view out of the side was of a flat roof covered in rotting pigeon droppings. I asked for a towel and was told one would be sent up to the room. Several hours later still no towel, so I went down to the unmanned reception where I waited for five minutes before eventually having to go to the bar to get one of the bar staff to sort it out.

After a disturbed nights sleep caused by drunks coming out of the night club next door and what sounded like someone water blasting the pavement outside at 5.50 am we went down to breakfast where it was totally chaotic. The management had not allowed for the large number of wedding guests staying at the hotel, so there were only two staff on who were being run ragged. No milk for the cereal, no butter for the toast, no orange juice, cooked breakfasts taking forever, people queuing to be seated, etc.

The staff we met during our stay were brilliant but that was not enough. The decor is run down, the carpets worn, etc. I guess you get what you pay for but a certain standard is still expected. You should not have to be looking at mounds of bird droppings out of your window.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed on bank holiday sunday, Our room was very spacious and very clean. The staff were also very friendly, breakfast was great, the only downer about this was noise from the night club next door. we could have shut the windows but it was to hot.
But all this for £55. Can't beat it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed for 3 nights (Thurs/Fri/Sat) with my daughter in a twin room whilst her grandparents had a double room. Our room was spacious, clean and comfy, the only downfall being that it overlooked the kitchens/bin area and was noisy. Also local nightclub goers caused a lot of noise at 3am! The double room was smaller with a very small bed. It was also very hot although a fan and bottled water was provided. Cooked breakfast was very nice but the cereals, yogurts & fruit on offer were disappointing. The menu stated that toast was available with preservatives! The service was friendly and efficient and the location is great - 30 seconds from the beach. The carvery served in Mortons Grill within the hotel was horrible - it was dried out and inedible. The beer and wine was expensive but poor quality whereas the pots of tea were excellent taste and value. The terrace was a lovely place to sit in the morning with a cup of tea after breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed last week; Thurs/Fri/Sat night. The staff were professional and friendly, the food was ok but ............. the noise from the Wine Bar opposite and later from the night club next door ruined our stay. Also the double bed was surely only a 3/4 size bed.

Room Tip: Avoid room 207 or anything in that corridoor on 1st & 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatfield Hotel

Property: The Hatfield Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hatfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
The Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing