We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lowestoft
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Daughters wedding”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had my daughters wedding reception here 9th November. Many of the guests & family stayed overnight.
Must say that were very impressed with the way the staff catered for our needs,
The reception was very well organised and the food we had for the wedding breakfast & the evening reception was first class. The rooms were clean & well furnished & the breakfast next morning was faultless.
All in all a perfect weekend, Excellent value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    165
    82
    46
    61
See reviews for
125
184
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Room: very clean with coffee / tea facility – room service excellent – However the room or should I say the room above was very noisy I feel this room was for the live in staff as I thought there was a furniture removal going on at 5.30 each morning and a dance time at 1am ish. There was a very loud water gurgling sound above the room also; this was loud enough to keep me awake. Very busy road with lots of traffic noise all night long
The free wi fi is good when it works for longer than 5/10 mins spells before it cuts out. The staff say they have to continually reboot the system? Not good!
The food is very good served in a very nice restaurant / lounge accompanied by excellent service from both the bar and the waitress / waiters
Parking is very good with a dedicated hotel car park opposite the hotel. The hotel outside area is also very nice looking out onto the sea.
All in I would use this hotel again but would without doubt ensure I got a room looking out onto the sea.
7 out of 10 very pleasant stay at a nice hotel

Room Tip: If you stau ensure you get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanthecampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and couldn't fault it , helpful reception , lovely new bar / terrace .
Food was also good , nice to get a freshly cooked meal , instead of the microwave stuff you get elsewhere ,
All the staff were friendly and very helpful , will stay again !

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raytyrber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is our third time to this hotel. First time there was a lot of work going on extending the bar restaurant and patio area, so was it bit grubby.

On all 3 visits we have had a sea view which was fantastic. First two occasions we were on the second floor the rooms are quite large with an adequate en-suite. The last time we were on 1st floor the view was good but not as good as second floor.

We had a meal on the evening we arrived it was very nice, with lots on the plate. Breakfast had changed a lot, previously when we ordered breakfast they brought you toast and anything else you needed, the last twice we had to do this ourselves.

On our last morning there had been a wedding the night before so a lot of guests had stayed and gone down to breakfast, there was one waiter on and he was rushed off his feet. So we had to wait quite a while for breakfast.

On the whole we have enjoyed our stay there and I'm sure we will return soon

Room Tip: Sorry doesn't have pool or spa second floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned after a one week stay. This hotel has room for improvement and could become a really good hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and comfortable. The food is good. However, the hotel is letting itself down by irritating issues. We stayed in what was a family room i.e. contained a double bed and a "put u up single bed". The room had one single wardrobe to hang a weeks clothes for 2 or more people. There was only one bedside light. Whilst our room was serviced daily, the bed sheets were not changed for the whole of our week's stay. We had to ask for hand towels all though two bath towels were provided. There was one high back chair n the room with a dressing table. Surely, a room designed for more than one, two person even need more than a single wardrobe and one chair. Every morning we had to ask the friendly duty waiter/waitress for bread to make toast or glasses for the fruit juices, as toast, cereals and fruit juices are self-service with cooked breakfast, tea and coffee being ordered via waiter/waitress. There was only ever one on duty to cover busy breakfast period. The hotel is not very disabled friendly. There is a lift but takes you to bedroom corridors with 3 or more steps going up and down to bedrooms. There is a ramp to rear of hotel which brings you into the bar lounge area. There are steps from there down to the very small lift. Not very well thought out particularly as the area has recently been refurbished a ramp down to reception would have been easy to put in. There are no handles over baths that would be helpful even to able bodied.
If this hotel gave more consideration to guests needs in their rooms and provided more staff during breakfast period, thought a bit more about needs of disabled guests it could be a good hotel because the staff can't do enough for you. The food is very good. Very frustrating stay because you wanted it to be a good hotel and had the feel of one but unfortunately fell short. Will have to think hard before staying again, but would visit for a meal.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and if staying longer than one night and more than one of you check wardrobe situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeanAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here after a friends wedding in September 2013. The car park was full when we arrived which was a bit of an inconvenience as there is no other parking nearby. The 'double room' did not include a double bed and to top off the sheets were dirty. The bathroom was very hard to get into as the door opens into the bath, with the toilet behind the door. The shower pressure was awful and the bath mat was frayed and falling apart.

The next morning we stood for 10minutes waiting to be seated for breakfast after which we waited another 40minutes for our cooked breakfast (at this point we'd had enough of waiting and walked)

Avoid at all costs! Definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowestoft hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for two nights over the weekend and, despite our room facing the adjacent nightclub, didn't have any noise problems on either night.

The room itself had everything one would expect and was all perfectly nice, with a new bathroom to boot.

Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 9 in Lowestoft
396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Britten House
Britten House
#3 of 28 in Lowestoft
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pontins Pakefield Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Hotel Hatfield

Property: Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Address: Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western The Hotel Hatfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Best Western The Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing