We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lowestoft
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a couple of nights at this hotel in Lowestoft, its located right on the sea front not too far from the town centre easy walking distance. Very good breakfast and the hotel does a very good value carvary. The room we had could have done with updating and a new shower head and hose is needed in the shower room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights.Room was large with king sized bed,rooms in hotel have recently been given a makeover.
We were among a group of about 80 - 90 dancers,so the 2 staff on duty at breakfast were kept busy with taking orders and bring food to table but did it with smiles on their faces.Food was hot and very tasty.
Dinners were also very well cooked and their were no complaints from anyone.
Price of the weekend was very reasonable.
Would use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stopped off at this hotel prior to a gig for a drink and that was enough.

Most of the draught beers were not available and the one that was on didn't taste at all good. The worst part was the overwhelming smell as you entered the place. Cannot put my finger on what it was, but it was bad!! At a push I would liken it to stewed cabbage!

Will not be returning.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Herfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What an eventful 24 hours!!!! Arrived to no festive cheer at reception once a receptionist arrived. Lift out of order, TV was set to a generic adult channel setting so once you moved from BBC 1 to another channel, it went straight back to adult themes. Hotel welcome letter was food splattered with a schematic on the reverse of room renovation. Bathroom towel has a large hole in it , threadbare and disgusting for a £99.00 room . Given a £10.00 reduction the next morning.
On arrival , confirmation of our lunch for 7 guests could not be confirmed due to not finding the correct booking document .
Lunch ..... Waiting 50 minutes for our main course order, carvery was old with stale vegetables and a very grumpy chef serving. Waitress apologised for forgetting to order our drinks from the bar so another 20 minute delay. Restaurant manager seemed to have had other complaints and approached us to ask for our comments, he then offered us 25% off the bill.
We will never visit this hotel for lunch , dinner or accommodation again .

Room Tip: No tip , see view room was facing the sea but he window was a postage stamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Booked by a colleague and wondered what it would be like. Great hotel. Excellent service. Room clean modern great bath and shower. Food and bar excellent.
Travel constantly. One of best places I have stayed in in past year.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank travelalot001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had my daughters wedding reception here 9th November. Many of the guests & family stayed overnight.
Must say that were very impressed with the way the staff catered for our needs,
The reception was very well organised and the food we had for the wedding breakfast & the evening reception was first class. The rooms were clean & well furnished & the breakfast next morning was faultless.
All in all a perfect weekend, Excellent value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Room: very clean with coffee / tea facility – room service excellent – However the room or should I say the room above was very noisy I feel this room was for the live in staff as I thought there was a furniture removal going on at 5.30 each morning and a dance time at 1am ish. There was a very loud water gurgling sound above the room also; this was loud enough to keep me awake. Very busy road with lots of traffic noise all night long
The free wi fi is good when it works for longer than 5/10 mins spells before it cuts out. The staff say they have to continually reboot the system? Not good!
The food is very good served in a very nice restaurant / lounge accompanied by excellent service from both the bar and the waitress / waiters
Parking is very good with a dedicated hotel car park opposite the hotel. The hotel outside area is also very nice looking out onto the sea.
All in I would use this hotel again but would without doubt ensure I got a room looking out onto the sea.
7 out of 10 very pleasant stay at a nice hotel

Room Tip: If you stau ensure you get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanthecampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowestoft
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
7.8 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Hotel Hatfield

Address: Esplanade, Lowestoft NR33 0QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lowestoft
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western The Hotel Hatfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Hatfield Hotel is located in the seaside town of Lowestoft, on the coast of Suffolk. Positioned just a stones throw away from the golden sands of Lowestoft Beach, the Hatfield Hotel retains a truly magical feeling for anyone who loves the sounds of the sea. Lovingly restored and refurbished, the hotel fuses both contemporary and traditional design, making it a popular destination for both locals and visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western The Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatfield Hotel Lowestoft
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield Lowestoft, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing